You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.
33 TOURS ET QUELQUES SECONDES - Mise en scene par Lina SANEH et Rabih MROUE- Decor : Samar MAAKAROUN - Lieu : Gymnase du Lycee Saint Joseph - Dans le cadre : Festival d Avignon - Ville : Avignon - Le 07 07 2012 - Photo : Christophe RAYNAUD DE LAGE/WikiSpectacle

33 TOURS ET QUELQUES SECONDES

RABIH MROUÉ + LINA SANEH

During the effervescence of the Arab Spring a young militant commits suicide, but the deceased is not left to rest in peace. His empty room echoes with a whirlwind of messages from those left behind, buzzing on his telephone or his Facebook profile. A borderline experience without anyone onstage.

Details

THUNDERING ABSENCE
Can someone really disappear? In Lebanon during the effervescence of the Arab Spring, the young human rights militant Diyaa Yamout abruptly committed suicide, but the deceased was not left to rest in peace. He was constantly resuscitated and brought back to life as his empty room echoed with a thousand buzzing sounds, the ringing and chirping of the computer, telephone, television and answering machine. Posted on a large screen, his Facebook page was soon swamped to the point of vertigo, a whirlwind of messages from those left behind, leading to a clash of opinions on hotly debated issues such as the private and the social, the personal and the political, the difficulty of living and the freedom to die.

After making a strong impression at the FTA in 2005 with Biokhraphia and Looking for a Missing Employee, the iconoclastic Lebanese artists Lina Saneh and Rabih Mroué are back with a striking hybrid work that combines theatre with installation and performance art. Their new piece dispenses with the actor, yet radiates with a vibrant and troubling impression of presence. A borderline, radical experience.

Credits

PRODUCED BY RABIH MROUÉ + LINA SANEH
WRITTEN AND DIRECTED BY RABIH MROUÉ + LINA SANEH
GRAPHICS, ANIMATION AND SET DESIGN SAMAR MAAKAROUN
ASSISTANTS TO TECHNICAL CONCEPTION THOMAS KÖPPEL + SARMAD LOUIS
TRANSLATED BY ZIAD NAWFAL
DIRECTOR OF PHOTOGRAPHY SARMAD LOUIS

COPRODUCTION KUNSTENFESTIVALDESARTS (BRUSSELS) + FESTIVAL D’AVIGNON + FESTIVAL DELLE COLLINE TORINESI (TURIN) + SCÈNE NATIONALE DE PETIT-QUEVILLY – MONT-SAINT-AIGNAN (ROUEN) + LA BÂTIE (GENEVA) + KAMPNAGEL (HAMBURG) + STEIRISCHER HERBST (GRAZ) + STAGE-HELSINKI THEATRE FESTIVAL + MALTA FESTIVAL (POZNAN) + THÉÂTRE DE L’AGORA, SCÈNE NATIONALE D’EVRY ET DE L’ESSONNE + ASSOCIATION LIBANAISE POUR LES ARTS PLASTIQUES ASHKAL ALWAN (BEIRUT)

THIS EVENT IS PART OF PRINTEMPS NUMÉRIQUE 2014 DE MONTRÉAL.

WRITTEN BY CATHERINE CYR
TRANSLATED BY NEIL KROETSCH

PREMIERED AT KUNSTENFESTIVALDESARTS, BRUSSELS, MAY 22, 2012

 

RABIH MROUÉ + LINA SANEH (BEIRUT)

Rewriting Reality
Lina Saneh and Rabih Mroué were both born in Beirut, in 1966 and 1967 respectively, and embarked on a fruitful artistic collaboration in Lebanon after finishing theatre school. Adding or alternating duties as writers, actors and directors, the two artists work closely together on singular performance pieces that blur the boundaries between disciplines, poetically merging theatre, installations, performance art and video. They present works that are a direct reflection of the social and political realities of their country as they delve into the contradictions underlying Lebanese society. In the unexpected intertwining of documentary and fiction, they turn reality into narrative as they seek to reveal often hidden or unsuspected nuggets of truth.

Read more

You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.
33 TOURS ET QUELQUES SECONDES - Mise en scene par Lina SANEH et Rabih MROUE- Decor : Samar MAAKAROUN - Lieu : Gymnase du Lycee Saint Joseph - Dans le cadre : Festival d Avignon - Ville : Avignon - Le 07 07 2012 - Photo : Christophe RAYNAUD DE LAGE/WikiSpectacle

33 tours et quelques secondes

RABIH MROUÉ + LINA SANEH

Dans l’effervescence du Printemps arabe, un jeune militant se suicide, mais on ne le laisse pas mourir tranquille. De Facebook à son téléphone, sa chambre est envahie des messages tourbillonnants de ceux qui restent. Aucun acteur en scène, du théâtre réinventé.

Détails

Peut-on vraiment disparaître? Au Liban, dans l’effervescence du Printemps arabe, le jeune militant des droits de l’homme Diyaa Yamout se suicide, abruptement. Or, on ne le laisse pas mourir tranquille. Il est constamment ressuscité alors que sa chambre vide résonne de mille bourdonnements, où s’activent, sonnent et stridulent ordinateur, téléphone, télévision et répondeur. Affichée sur un grand écran, sa page Facebook est bientôt envahie, jusqu’au vertige, des messages tourbillonnants de ceux qui restent. S’y entrechoquent des prises de position et des questions brûlantes sur l’intime et le social, le personnel et le politique, la difficulté de vivre et la liberté de mourir.

Après un passage remarqué au FTA, en 2005, avec Biokhraphia et Looking for a Missing Employee, les iconoclastes créateurs libanais Lina Saneh et Rabih Mroué sont de retour avec une saisissante œuvre hybride, entre théâtre, installation et performance. Une pièce qui abolit l’acteur, mais bruit et rayonne de troublants effets de présence. Une expérience limite, radicale.

Crédits

UN SPECTACLE DE RABIH MROUÉ + LINA SANEH
TEXTE ET MISE EN SCÈNE RABIH MROUÉ + LINA SANEH
GRAPHISME, ANIMATION ET SCÉNOGRAPHIE SAMAR MAAKAROUN
ASSISTANCE À LA CRÉATION TECHNIQUE THOMAS KÖPPEL + SARMAD LOUIS
TRADUCTION ZIAD NAWFAL
DIRECTION PHOTOGRAPHIQUE SARMAD LOUIS

COPRODUCTION KUNSTENFESTIVALDESARTS (BRUXELLES) + FESTIVAL D’AVIGNON + FESTIVAL DELLE COLLINE TORINESI (TURIN) + SCÈNE NATIONALE DE PETIT-QUEVILLY – MONT-SAINT-AIGNAN (ROUEN) + LA BÂTIE (GENÈVE) + KAMPNAGEL (HAMBOURG) + STEIRISCHER HERBST (GRAZ) + STAGE-HELSINKI THEATRE FESTIVAL + MALTA FESTIVAL (POZNAN) + THÉÂTRE DE L’AGORA, SCÈNE NATIONALE D’EVRY ET DE L’ESSONNE + ASSOCIATION LIBANAISE POUR LES ARTS PLASTIQUES ASHKAL ALWAN (BEYROUTH)

CET ÉVÉNEMENT S’INSCRIT DANS LE PRINTEMPS NUMÉRIQUE 2014 DE MONTRÉAL.

RÉDACTION CATHERINE CYR
TRADUCTION NEIL KROETSCH

CRÉATION AU KUNSTENFESTIVALDESARTS, BRUXELLES, LE 22 MAI 2012

 

RABIH MROUÉ + LINA SANEH (BEIRUT)

Écrire autrement le réel
Nés tous deux à Beyrouth, respectivement en 1966 et 1967, Lina Saneh et Rabih Mroué ont amorcé une fructueuse collaboration artistique, au Liban, au terme de leurs études en art dramatique. Cumulant ou alternant les fonctions d’auteurs, d’acteurs et de metteurs en scène, les deux artistes créent dans la complicité de singulières œuvres performatives qui brouillent les frontières disciplinaires et font se rencontrer poétiquement les champs du théâtre, de l’installation, de la performance et de la vidéo. En prise directe avec les réalités sociales et politiques de leur pays, les créateurs cherchent à rendre compte des contradictions qui agitent la société libanaise. Dans le croisement inattendu du documentaire et de la fiction, ils font récit du réel et visent à mettre au jour des pans de vérité souvent occultés ou insoupçonnés.

En savoir plus