You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.
© Ana Rita Rodriguez

Bells 13

ROBIN POITRAS

A flock of urban personas traversing the Quartier des spectacles, bells ringing at their every step. A meditative procession, an enchanting passage through the urban space.

Details

A sound poem emerges from the asphalt, immediately captivating the ear. The eye dwells on a ceremonious migration of urban hybrid personas, a manifestation inhabiting the heart of the city. Walking in meditative procession, the strange flock pauses to mark their enchanting passage through the urban space with bell songs.

Beguiled by the song of migratory birds, fascinated by their seasonal movements and their herd instinct, Robin Poitras has imagined a new way of looking at the familiar downtown core, cleansing our gaze, giving fresh meaning to city spaces. Bells 13 resonates with bells both familiar and distant. Their wide range of colours and origins, tones and notes, are suspended in mid-flight, striking a chord with the listener. Starting off from the Grande Bibliothèque, 13 performers will ring the alarm, disrupting our routines and chiming their way in step with our strolls through the city. For a resounding moment, the Quartier des spectacles will stir to the peal of bells.

Credits

CREATED BY ROBIN POITRAS
PERFORMED BY GUEST ARTISTSGINELLE CHAGNON + TONY CHONG + PAIGE CULLEY + SASHA IVANOCHKO + BENJAMIN KAMINO + DENIS LAVOIE + ASTRID LLOYD + DAVIDA MONK + ROBIN POITRAS + CAROL PRIEUR + ROBER RACINE + RON STEWART + BRIAN WEBB
PHOTO ANA RITA RODRIGUE

CO-PRESENTED BY QUARTIER DES SPECTACLES THANKS TOBIBLIOTHÈQUE ET ARCHIVES NATIONALES DU QUÉBEC

WRITTEN BY DIANE JEAN
TRANSLATED BY NEIL KROETSCH

 

ROBIN POITRAS (REGINA)
ROUGE GORGE

The Bellwether

Robin Poitras lives and works in Regina, Saskatchewan. Iconoclastic and visionary, she reveals meaning through complex interplays between sound, image, words and movement. Her research has led her to create choreographies and installations in harmony with nature and myth.

Read more

You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.
© Ana Rita Rodriguez

Bells 13

ROBIN POITRAS

Partant de la Grande Bibliothèque, 13 interprètes sonnent le tocsin, bousculent nos routines, s’insinuent dans nos flâneries. L’espace d’un instant, le Quartier des spectacles carillonne.

Détails

Un poème sonore surgit du bitume. L’oreille est aussitôt happée. L’œil s’attarde sur une cérémonielle migration de personnages hétéroclites au cœur de la cité. Cette étrange nuée se pose un moment, poursuit sa marche dans une procession méditative, une envoûtante traversée de l’espace urbain avec des clochettes.

Chavirée par le chant des oiseaux migrateurs, fascinée par leurs mouvements saisonniers et leur instinct grégaire, Robin Poitras imagine une nouvelle manière de contempler un centre-ville qu’on croyait connaître, de laver notre regard, de donner un sens frais aux lieux communs. Bells 13 fait résonner des cloches à la fois lointaines et familières, de couleurs et de provenances variées, autant de notes qui suspendent leur vol pour se nicher durablement en nous. Partant de la Grande Bibliothèque, 13 interprètes sonnent le tocsin, bousculent nos routines, s’insinuent dans nos flâneries. L’espace d’un instant, le Quartier des spectacles carillonne.

Crédits

CRÉATION ROBIN POITRAS
INTERPRÉTATION PAR LES ARTISTES INVITÉS GINELLE CHAGNON + TONY CHONG + PAIGE CULLEY + SASHA IVANOCHKO + BENJAMIN KAMINO + DENIS LAVOIE + ASTRID LLOYD + DAVIDA MONK + ROBIN POITRAS + CAROL PRIEUR + ROBER RACINE + RON STEWART + BRIAN WEBB
PHOTO ANA RITA RODRIGUEZ

COPRÉSENTATION QUARTIER DES SPECTACLESREMERCIEMENTS ÀBIBLIOTHÈQUE ET ARCHIVES NATIONALES DU QUÉBEC

RÉDACTION DIANE JEAN

 

ROBIN POITRAS (REGINA)
ROUGE GORGE

Fée clochettes

Robin Poitras vit et travaille à Regina, en Saskatchewan. Iconoclaste et visionnaire, elle favorise l’interaction entre les sons, les images, les mots et les mouvements… son terrain de jeu n’a pas de limites. Ses recherches la poussent à créer des chorégraphies et des installations en osmose avec la nature et les mythes.

En savoir plus