You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

Birds with Skymirrors

LEMI PONIFASIO

The New Zealand choreographer Lemi Ponifasio once again provokes a new cataclysm in our imaginations with this ceremony, imbued with obscure beauty, of reconciliation with the Earth. Exceptional.

Details

The morsels glinting in the beaks of birds were in fact toxic waste fished from the ocean. Struck by this vision of horror on a beach in the South Seas, the choreographer Lemi Ponifasio has staged a ceremony of reconciliation with mother Earth where time is suspensed and space dissolved. Birds with Skymirrors transports the audience into a parallel world where the gods whisper and shout into the ears of humans. Enigmatic incantations and age-old chants. Carved into the darkness, images of an irresistible rite of passage follow one on the other – the precise, delicate movements of gliding monks, the splendour of bodies bearing tattoos of mystery, fleeting evocations of a planet ravaged by blind modernity.

Back at the FTA after the magnetic Tempest: Without a Body (2011), the Samoan New Zealander once again provokes a cataclysm in our imaginations with this piece of obscure beauty, an invocation in the form of highly stylized tableaux that appeal to our sense of life. Exceptional.

Credits

PRODUCED BY MAU
CREATED, DESIGNED, CHOREOGRAPHED AND DIRECTED BY LEMI PONIFASIO
PERFORMED BY KASINA CAMPBELL + TIUI ELISARA + KELEMETE FU’A + IOIANE PAPALI + TANGAROA TAARA + TEATAKI TAMANGO + OFATI TANGAROA + GERARD TATIRETA + ARIKITAU TENTAU + ROSIE TEREAUAWHEA BELVIE + MAEREKE TETEKA + TUIRINA WEHI
LIGHTING DESIGN HELEN TODD
PHOTO MAU

COPRODUCTION THÉÂTRE DE LA VILLE (PARIS) + THEATER DER WELT 2010 RUHR + SPIELZEIT’ EUROPA BERLINER FESTSPIELE + WIENER FESTWOCHEN + KVS (BRUSSELLS) + HOLLAND FESTIVAL + MERCAT DE LAS FLORS (BARCELONA) + DESINGEL (ANTWERP) + NEW ZEALAND INTERNATIONAL ARTS FESTIVAL (WELLINGTON)

WRITTEN BY FABIENNE CABADO
TRANSLATED BY NEIL KROETSCH

PREMIERED AT THEATER DER WELT RUHR, ESSEN, ON JULY 16, 2010

 

LEMI PONIFASIO (AUCKLAND)
MAU

Art as Ceremony

The words “art” and “artist” do not exist in the language of Samoa, where Lemi Ponifasio was born. Anyone who feels the need to create assumes his fate, becoming a purveyor of culture and a leader in the community. Thus at the age of 20, the choreographer began dancing solo pieces in the streets of Auckland where he was studying philosophy and political science. In 1995 he founded the company MAU, from the name of a former movement for Samoan independence that also means “a declaration to the truth of a matter, or revolution, as an effort to transform”. It consists of fifteen artists from various islands in the South Pacific. In pieces where ceremony, dance, theatre and the visual arts are intermingled, Ponifasio organizes and stages the natural activation of their imagined worlds, seeking to bring forth beauty and truth. For him art is not a form of expression; it serves to integrate everything that the body and mind have as history. It is not entertainment, but ceremony that connects us to the cosmos.

Read more

You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

Birds with Skymirrors

LEMI PONIFASIO

Le chorégraphe néozélandais Lemi Ponifasio provoque un nouveau cataclysme dans nos imaginaires avec cette cérémonie de réconciliation avec la Terre, d’une beauté obscure. Exceptionnel.

Détails

Ces algues scintillantes dans les becs des oiseaux n’étaient en vérité que des détritus toxiques pêchés dans l’océan. Ébranlé par cette vision d’horreur sur une plage d’Océanie, le chorégraphe Lemi Ponifasio met en scène une cérémonie de réconciliation avec la Terre. Suspension du temps, dissolution de l’espace. Birds with Skymirrors nous transporte dans un monde parallèle où les dieux viennent chuchoter ou hurler aux oreilles des humains. Incantations énigmatiques et chants immémoriaux. Sculptées dans la noirceur, les images d’un irrésistible langage initiatique se succèdent. Danses précises et délicates de moines virevoltants. Splendeur de corps tatoués de mystère. Évocations fugaces d’une planète ravagée par la modernité aveugle.

De retour au FTA après le magnétique Tempest: Without a Body (2011), le Néozélandais d’origine samoane provoque un nouveau cataclysme dans nos imaginaires avec cette œuvre d’une beauté obscure. Une invocation en forme de tableaux ultra stylisés, qui en appelle à notre sens de la vie. Exceptionnel.

Crédits

UN SPECTACLE DE MAU
CONCEPT, SCÉNOGRAPHIE, CHORÉGRAPHIE ET MISE EN SCÈNE LEMI PONIFASIO
INTERPRÉTATION KASINA CAMPBELL + TIUI ELISARA + KELEMETE FU’A + IOIANE PAPALI + TANGAROA TAARA + TEATAKI TAMANGO + OFATI TANGAROA + GERARD TATIRETA + ARIKITAU TENTAU + ROSIE TEREAUAWHEA BELVIE + MAEREKE TETEKA + TUIRINA WEHI
LUMIÈRES HELEN TODD
PHOTO MAU

COPRODUCTION THÉÂTRE DE LA VILLE (PARIS) + THEATER DER WELT 2010 RUHR + SPIELZEIT’ EUROPA BERLINER FESTSPIELE + WIENER FESTWOCHEN + KVS (BRUXELLES) + HOLLAND FESTIVAL + MERCAT DE LAS FLORS (BARCELONE) + DESINGEL (ANVERS) + NEW ZEALAND INTERNATIONAL ARTS FESTIVAL (WELLINGTON)

RÉDACTION FABIENNE CABADO
TRADUCTION NEIL KROETSCH

CRÉATION AU THEATER DER WELT RUHR, ESSEN, LE 16 JUILLET 2010

 

LEMI PONIFASIO (AUCKLAND)
MAU

L’art comme cérémonie

Les mots « art » et « artiste » n’existent pas dans le langage des îles Samoa où Lemi Ponifasio est né. Quiconque ressent le besoin de créer assume son destin, devenant pourvoyeur de culture et leader dans sa communauté. C’est ainsi qu’à l’âge de 20 ans, le chorégraphe a commencé à danser en solo dans les rues d’Auckland où il étudiait la philosophie et les sciences politiques. En 1995, il y fonde la compagnie MAU, en référence à un ancien mouvement indépendantiste samoan et à l’idée de révolution vue comme un effort de transformation pour la réalisation des individus et le retour de la beauté. Dans les œuvres où il métisse danse, théâtre et arts visuels, Ponifasio organise et met en espace l’expression naturelle des mondes imaginaires d’artistes de différentes îles du Pacifique, cherchant la vérité de l’être. Car, pour lui, l’art n’est pas une forme d’expression ; il sert à intégrer tout ce que le corps et l’esprit portent d’histoire. Il n’est pas divertissement ; il est cérémonie permettant de se lier au cosmos.

En savoir plus