You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

Bonanza

COLLECTIF BERLIN

A journey to the frontiers of theatre, documentary and installation art. A microcosm of life in society, a scathing and ferociously human portrait.

Details

The Real West
Bonanza is the smallest town in Colorado, with seven people and five houses. Despite its beautiful natural setting, it is no paradise. A prosperous place in times gone by, the former mining town is now home to a handful of people, some imbued with dubious spirituality, all accusing their neighbours of horrible crimes. Relations slowly deteriorated, profoundly poisoned by squabbles, pettiness and nasty rumours.

A scale model of the town with its five houses, adjacent but isolated units, hangs above five screens. Images of daily life are projected onscreen simultaneously, replete with candid confessions and malicious gossip, forming a dreadfully authentic portrait of these “characters” who seem all too real but also like they have just stepped out of a movie by the Coen brothers.

The Belgian group Berlin has imagined this journey to the frontiers of theatre, documentary and installation art. Bonanza is compelling as a microcosm of life in society, a scathing and ferociously human picture.

Urban Communities
Passionate about city residents – their motivations and concerns – the trio has drawn compelling portraits of cities such as Jerusalem (2004), Bonanza (2006), Iqaluit (2005) andMoscow (2009). Presented in both theatres and museums, their work has been shown in Amsterdam, Berlin, Paris, Oslo, Copenhagen, Barcelona, Lisbon, South Korea, Prague and New York. They recently embarked on a new cycle entitled Horror Vacui (fear of emptiness), consisting of chats with people unable or unwilling to enter into dialogue. They are brought together virtually around a table, with chairs equipped with monitors, in what appears to be a real conversation.

Credits

PRODUCED BY BERLIN

CREATED BY BERLIN (BART BAELE + YVES DEGRISE + CAROLINE ROCHLITZ)PHOTOGRAPHY BART BAELE + NICO LEUNEN EDITED BY BART BAELE SOUNDTRACK & MIXINGPETER VAN LAERHOVENRESEARCH BERLIN + NICO LEUNEN GRAPHICS GERJO VAN DAM SCALE MODEL KOEN DE CEULENEER

COPRODUCTION STUK (LOUVAIN) + KVS (BRUXELLES) + VOORUIT (GAND) WITH THE SUPPORT OFFLANDERS AUDIOVISUAL FUND + VILLE DE ANVERS + FLANDERS IMAGE

WITH THE SUPPORT OF FLEMISH MINISTERY OF CULTURE

PRESENTED IN ASSOCIATION WITH MONUMENT-NATIONAL

PREMIERED AT KUNSTENCENTRUM STUK, LOUVAIN (BELGIUM), DECEMBER 2006

WRITTEN BY DIANE JEANTRANSLATED BY NEIL KROETSCH

 

COLLECTIF BERLIN (ANVERS)

BERLIN / Coming Soon to a Screen Near You
Take a look at the people in a small town, linger to describe a microcosm of human beings united geographically.

Read more

You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

Bonanza

COLLECTIF BERLIN

Un voyage aux frontières du théâtre, du documentaire et de l’installation. Un microcosme de la vie en société, une peinture décapante et férocement humaine.

Détails

L’Ouest, le vrai
Bonanza, la ville la moins peuplée du Colorado : sept habitants pour cinq maisons. Tout autour, la nature luxuriante. On est pourtant bien loin du paradis. Jadis florissante, l’ancienne cité minière n’abrite plus qu’une poignée d’humains, imbibés de spiritualité douteuse, accusant leurs voisins des pires crimes. Les relations pourrissent lentement, profondément gangrénées par les jalousies, les petites mesquineries et les rumeurs malsaines.

Sur la scène, une maquette de la ville surplombe cinq écrans pour les cinq maisonnées. Îlots isolés, pourtant contigus. Projections simultanées d’instantanés du quotidien, aveux candides et ragots ahurissants forment un portrait rudement authentique de ces « personnages » pourtant bien réels, mais semblant tout droit sortis d’une fiction des frères Coen.

Le groupe belge Berlin a imaginé ce voyage aux frontières du théâtre, du documentaire et de l’installation. Bonanza s’impose comme un microcosme de la vie en société, une peinture décapante et férocement humaine.

Communautés urbaines
Passionnés par les humains qui vivent là, par ce qui les motive et les préoccupe, ils dressent les portraits en creux de villes telles que Jerusalem (2004), Bonanza (2006), Iqaluit (2005) ouMoscou (2009). Les spectacles sont présentés dans les théâtres comme dans les musées, à Amsterdam, Berlin, Paris, Oslo, Copenhague, Barcelone, Lisbonne, en Corée du sud, Prague, New York. S’ils poursuivent leur travail sur les villes, ils ont entrepris un nouveau cycle appelé Horror Vacui, qui propose des conversations virtuelles autour d’une table et de chaises dotées d’écrans montrant des gens s’opposant dans la réalité mais discutant l’instant d’un spectacle.

Crédits

UN SPECTACLE DE BERLIN

CONCEPTION BERLIN (BART BAELE + YVES DEGRISE + CAROLINE ROCHLITZ)PHOTOGRAPHIE BART BAELE + NICO LEUNEN MONTAGE BART BAELE BANDE SONORE ET MIXAGE PETER VAN LAERHOVENRECHERCHE BERLIN + NICO LEUNEN CONCEPTION GRAPHIQUE GERJO VAN DAMMINIATURES KOEN DE CEULENEER

COPRODUCTION STUK (LOUVAIN) + KVS (BRUXELLES) + VOORUIT (GAND) AVEC LE SOUTIEN DEFLANDERS AUDIOVISUAL FUND + VILLE DE ANVERS + FLANDERS IMAGE

AVEC LE SOUTIEN DU MINISTÈRE DE LA CULTURE FLAMANDE  

PRÉSENTATION EN COLLABORATION AVECMONUMENT-NATIONAL

CRÉATION AU KUNSTENCENTRUM STUK, LOUVAIN (BELGIQUE) EN DÉCEMBRE 2006

RÉDACTRICE DIANE JEAN

 

COLLECTIF BERLIN (ANVERS)

BERLIN / Prochainement sur votre écran
Poser le regard sur un groupe d'individus dans une ville, s'attarder à décrire un microcosme d'êtres humains réunis géographiquement, les écouter parler, les filmer.

En savoir plus