You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

Built to Last

MEG STUART | DAMAGED GOODS

A reinvention of history and dance, a masterly confrontation of 5 simple humans in contact with the masterpieces of 12 great composers. A feat of pure choreography by the prodigious Meg Stuart.

Details

HEROIC BODIES
A mobile that evokes the solar system, a dinosaur in kit form, primitive-futurist tribes in a museum display case, music with the rousing force of a tidal wave. Meg Stuart has built a time travel machine and confronts her performers with classics by Beethoven, Xenakis, Dvorak, Rachmaninoff and other seminal composers, placing her simple humans in the face of monuments that incarnate history and transform it into a future full of promise. In the rolling fire of a perpetually renewed dance, they meet the challenge with brio. Whether symphonic, minimalist or expressionist, they gape at icons of the past, affirming their absolute modernity.

Working for the first time with existing classical music, the prodigious Meg Stuart creates an experience poles apart from Maybe Forever (FTA, 2008). In Built to Last, she puts Western heritage through the wringer to extract the essence of human grandeur. A feat of pure choreography.

Credits

PRODUCED BY DAMAGED GOODS + MÜNCHNER KAMMERSPIELE
CHOREOGRAPHED BY MEG STUART
PERFORMED BY DRAGANA BULUT + DAVIS FREEMAN + ANJA MÜLLER + MARIA F. SCARONI + KRISTOF VAN BOVEN
DRAMATURG BART VAN DEN EYNDE + JEROEN VERSTEELE
MUSIC DRAMATURG ALAIN FRANCO
SOUND DESIGN KASSIAN TROYER
SET DESIGN DORIS DZIERSK
COSTUME DESIGN NADINE GRELLINGER
LIGHTING DESIGN FRANK LAUBENHEIMER + JÜRGEN TULZER
VIDEO PHILIPP HOCHLEICHTER

PRESENTED IN ASSOCIATION WITH USINE C WITH THE SUPPORT OF GOETHE-INSTITUT MONTRÉAL + MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES ÉTRANGÈRES D’ALLEMAGNE

WRITTEN BY FABIENNE CABADO
TRANSLATED BY NEIL KROETSCH

PREMIERED AT MÜNCHNER KAMMERSPIELE, MUNICH, APRIL 28, 2012

 

MEG STUART | DAMAGED GOODS (Bruxelles + Berlin)

Imperfection, Failure and Beauty

The American choreographer and dancer Meg Stuart splits her time between Brussels and Berlin. After a few years in New York, she moved to Belgium where she created her first works starting in 1989. Her staging of Disfigure Study was a mix of dance and theatre, and featured fragmented, twisted bodies, inspiring the name Damaged Goods, the company she founded in 1994. Intense and dramatic in her initial pieces, her dance focused on states of being where the body disintegrates, struggles against itself, falls, thrashes, flails and crawls. Weakness and flaws lie at the heart of her work – a source of emotion and empathy, and also of beauty. Underlying her characters’ vulnerability are desire and determination, which motivate their actions. With time and the effect of diverse influences, the artist often referred to as “the choreographer of disaster” has become more serene in some of her later dance pieces.

Read more

You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

Built to Last

MEG STUART | DAMAGED GOODS

La réinvention de l’Histoire et de la danse dans la confrontation magistrale de cinq simples humains avec les chefs-d’œuvre de 12 grands compositeurs. Un pur exploit chorégraphique signé par la prodigieuse Meg Stuart.

Détails

CORPS HÉROÏQUES
Un mobile aux allures de système solaire, un dinosaure en pièces détachées, des peuplades primitivo-futuristes dans une vitrine de musée et une musique aussi puissante qu’une lame de fond. Meg Stuart construit une machine à voyager dans le temps et confronte ses interprètes avec les chefs-d’œuvre de Beethoven, Xenakis, Dvořák, Rachmaninov et autres grands compositeurs. De simples humains face à des monuments pour incarner l’Histoire et la transformer en promesses d’avenir. Dans le feu roulant d’une danse perpétuellement renouvelée, ils relèvent le défi avec brio. Ils font de l’œil aux icônes du passé — symphoniques, minimalistes, expressionnistes —, affirmant du même coup leur absolue contemporanéité.

En s’attaquant pour la première fois à des musiques existantes, la prodigieuse Meg Stuart fonde une expérience aux antipodes de Maybe Forever (FTA, 2008). Dans Built to Last, elle passe notre héritage au tordeur et en extrait le suc de la grandeur humaine. Un pur exploit chorégraphique.

Crédits

UN SPECTACLE DE DAMAGED GOODS + MÜNCHNER KAMMERSPIELE
CHORÉGRAPHIE MEG STUART
INTERPRÉTATION DRAGANA BULUT + DAVIS FREEMAN + ANJA MÜLLER + MARIA F. SCARONI + KRISTOF VAN BOVEN
DRAMATURGIE BART VAN DEN EYNDE + JEROEN VERSTEELE
DRAMATURGIE MUSICALE ALAIN FRANCO
SON KASSIAN TROYER
SCÉNOGRAPHIE DORIS DZIERSK
COSTUMES NADINE GRELLINGER
LUMIÈRES FRANK LAUBENHEIMER + JÜRGEN TULZER
VIDÉO PHILIPP HOCHLEICHTER

PRÉSENTATION EN COLLABORATION AVEC USINE C AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE GOETHE-INSTITUT MONTRÉAL + MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES ÉTRANGÈRES D’ALLEMAGNE

RÉDACTION FABIENNE CABADO
TRADUCTION NEIL KROETSCH

CRÉATION AU MÜNCHNER KAMMERSPIELE, MUNICH, LE 28 AVRIL 2012

 

MEG STUART | DAMAGED GOODS (Bruxelles + Berlin)

D’imperfection, d’échec et de beauté

La chorégraphe et danseuse américaine Meg Stuart partage aujourd’hui sa vie entre Bruxelles et Berlin. Après quelques années à New York, elle s’installe en Belgique où elle crée ses premières œuvres dès 1989. Dans Disfigure Study, elle met déjà en scène, entre danse et théâtre, ces êtres mal assurés qui inspireront le nom de sa compagnie Damaged Goods, fondée en 1994. Intense et dramatique à ses débuts, sa danse se concentre sur un travail d’état où le corps se disloque, lutte contre lui-même, chute, se tord et se traîne. La faille est au cœur de son œuvre, à la fois source d’émotion, d’empathie et de beauté : sous la vulnérabilité de ses personnages se lisent le désir et la volonté qui motivent leurs actions. Et au fil des ans et des influences, celle que l’on surnomme souvent « la chorégraphe du désastre » se fait plus sereine dans certaines de ses œuvres.

En savoir plus