You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

Culture, Administration & Trembling

ANTONIJA LIVINGSTONE

In this intimate yet out-of-bounds choreographic salon, “time-based sculptures” shift between the human and the animal, the real and the imaginary. A series of unexpected contemplative landscapes.

Details

CHOREOGRAPHIC TREMORS
A singular experiment in exotic companionship; a meticulous yet playful study of hand bell algorithms; an affective assemblage of Male Breast Feeding… Culture, Administration & Trembling exposes a collection of durational, artificial situations developed collaboratively between dance artists Antonija Livingstone, Jennifer Lacey, Stephen Thompson, and visual artist Dominique Pétrin. Each piece, or “time-based sculpture,” is conceived as a score that prompts a series of rare, endangered practices the public is invited to witness. A collective mode of attention, these choreographic sculptures shift between the human and the animal, the real and the imaginary, the old school and the now to create a series of unexpected contemplative landscapes.

In this intimate yet out-of-bounds choreographic salon, Livingstone proposes a critically joyful and queer study of movement, presence and territory where dance becomes a curatorial practice. Enacting a series of vital tremors, the work unfolds in a collection of sublime, precarious choreographic ecologies.

Credits

CREATED AND PERFORMED BY JENNIFER LACEY + ANTONIJA LIVINGSTONE + DOMINIQUE PÉTRIN + STEPHEN THOMPSON
CONCEIVED AND PRODUCED BY ANTONIJA LIVINGSTONE
WITH THE CONTRIBUTION OF PAUL CHAMBERS + CLAUDIA FANCELLO + DANA MICHEL + GUESTS
VISUAL WORKS DOMINIQUE PÉTRIN
LIGHTING DESIGN THIERRY CABRERA + JENNIFER LACEY + ANTONIJA LIVINGSTONE
SOUND DESIGN BRENDAN DOUGHERTY + JENNIFER LACEY + ANTONIJA LIVINGSTONE
PHOTO DOMINIQUE PÉTRIN + VALÉRIE SANGIN + STEPHEN THOMPSON

COPRODUCTION FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES + LES ESCALES IMPROBABLES + STUDIO 303 WITH THE SUPPORT OF CENTRE CHORÉGRAPHIQUE NATIONAL DE MONTPELLIER LANGUEDOC-ROUSSILLON + FABRIK POTSDAM + IMPULSTANZ VIENNA + OSPREY ARTS CENTER CREATIVE RESIDENCY AGORA DE LA DANSE

PRESENTED IN ASSOCIATION WITH AGORA DE LA DANSE

WRITTEN BY NOÉMIE BERNIER-SOLOMON
TRANSLATED BY ANNE VIAU

WORLD PREMIÈRE AT FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES, MAY 27, 2014

 

ANTONIJA LIVINGSTONE (BERLIN + MONTREAL)

Nomadic collaborations

Antonija Livingstone is an independent artist who works between Montréal and Berlin at the frontiers of dance and performance. Since her first solo piece, The Part (2004), Livingstone has broadly investigated the linguistic materiality and transformative potential of the dancing body through a series of critical, humorous, virtuosic, and queer-spirited gestures. Over the last decade, she has co-authored and co-produced an unusual collection of works, including Cat Calendar (2005) with Antonia Baehr; - a situation for dancing (in 4 episodes) (2006-8) with Heather Kravas; The 1001 (2012) with Sarah Chase; and diverse projects with Jennifer Lacey (2009, 2014). As a performer, Livingstone has worked and toured internationally with the choreographers Benoît Lachambre, Vera Mantero, Nadia Lauro, Ezster Salamon, and Meg Stuart – with whom she is currently performing Sketches – Notebook.

Read more

You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

Culture, Administration & Trembling

ANTONIJA LIVINGSTONE

Un salon chorégraphique intime et hors normes. Des sculptures temporelles oscillant entre l’humain et l’animal, le réel et l’imaginaire. Une série de paysages méditatifs inouïs.

Détails

Expérimentation singulière entre partenaires exotiques, algorithmes pour clochettes, allaitement au masculin… Culture, Administration & Trembling présente une collection de situations soigneusement construites issues d’une collaboration entre les artistes de la danse Antonija Livingstone, Jennifer Lacey, Stephen Thompson et l’artiste en arts visuels Dominique Pétrin. Chaque « sculpture temporelle » est conçue comme une partition dans un enchaînement de pratiques rares, en voie de disparition, dont le public se fait le témoin. Tissant un mode collectif de perceptions, ces sculptures oscillent entre l’humain et l’animal, le réel et l’imaginaire, l’ancienne et la nouvelle école et créent une série de paysages méditatifs inouïs.

Dans ce salon chorégraphique intime et hors normes, Livingstone propose une étude critique queer du mouvement, de la présence et du territoire, où la danse interroge et renouvelle les pratiques d’exposition. Une succession de tremblements vitaux et d’écologies artistiques tout aussi fragiles que sublimes.

Crédits

CRÉATION ET INTERPRÉTATION JENNIFER LACEY + ANTONIJA LIVINGSTONE + DOMINIQUE PÉTRIN + STEPHEN THOMPSON
UN SPECTACLE DE ANTONIJA LIVINGSTONE
AVEC LA PARTICIPATION DE PAUL CHAMBERS + CLAUDIA FANCELLO + DANA MICHEL + INVITÉS
INSTALLATION VISUELLE DOMINIQUE PÉTRIN
LUMIÈRES THIERRY CABRERA + JENNIFER LACEY + ANTONIJA LIVINGSTONE
SON BRENDAN DOUGHERTY + JENNIFER LACEY + ANTONIJA LIVINGSTONE

COPRODUCTION FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES + LES ESCALES IMPROBABLES + STUDIO 303 AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE CENTRE CHORÉGRAPHIQUE NATIONAL DE MONTPELLIER LANGUEDOC-ROUSSILLON + FABRIK POTSDAM + IMPULSTANZ VIENNA + OSPREY ARTS CENTER RÉSIDENCE DE CRÉATION AGORA DE LA DANSE

PRÉSENTATION EN COLLABORATION AVEC AGORA DE LA DANSE

RÉDACTION NOÉMIE BERNIER-SOLOMON
TRADUCTION ANNE VIAU

CRÉATION MONDIALE AU FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES, LE 27 MAI 2014

 

ANTONIJA LIVINGSTONE (BERLIN + MONTREAL)

Collaborations nomades
Antonija Livingstone est une artiste indépendante qui travaille, depuis Montréal et Berlin, à la frontière entre danse et performance. Depuis la création de sa première œuvre en solo, The Part (2004), Livingstone a exploré la matérialité du langage et le potentiel de transformation du corps à travers un ensemble de gestes critiques, agiles, queer. Au cours des 10 dernières années, elle a coécrit et coproduit une série de projets insolites, notamment Cat Calendar (2005) avec Antonia Baehr, – a situation for dancing (in 4 episodes) (FTA, 2008) avec Heather Kravas, The 1001 (2012) avec Sarah Chase, sans compter ses collaborations avec Jennifer Lacey (2009, 2014). En tant que performeuse, Livingstone a travaillé et tourné internationalement avec Benoît Lachambre, Vera Mantero, Nadia Lauro, Ezster Salamon et Meg Stuart, avec qui elle interprète actuellement Sketches – Notebook.

En savoir plus