You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

Dachshund UN

BENNETT MILLER

Welcome to the Dachshund UN assembly where the roles of the representatives of the 47 member states on the UN Human Rights Council are played by… dachshunds!

Details

They might be named Ruth, Otto or Pitou. Their brown, black or beige coats add colour to the décor. The Chinese member barks, the Pakistani grunts or yawns, the American scratches furiously while the French representative enthusiastically licks the Russian. Part free-for-all, part joyous tumult, the outcome of their vigorous debate remains up in the air. Welcome toDachshund UN, where the roles of the 47 national delegates on the UN human rights council are played by… dachshunds.

In the heart of Place des Festivals, the Australian artist and sculptor Bennett Miller will showcase a miniature replica of a former United Nations office in Geneva. The dogs frolic, romp and debate under the amused eyes of observers. As a surprising spectacle of canine chaos it is hilarious, but this impudent spectacle of human rights policy and international justice is also seriously sharp. Pay careful attention, ladies and gentlemen, for the fate of human rights lies in the tiny paws of wiener dogs!

Credits

CREATED BY BENNETT MILLER

ORIGINALLY PRODUCED FOR THE2010 NEXT WAVE FESTIVALTHROUGH ITS ‘KICKSTART’ DEVELOPMENT PROGRAM

THANKS TO ALL THE DACHSHUNDS (AND THEIR OWNERS) WITHOUT WHOM THIS PROJECT WOULD NOT BE POSSIBLE AND SPECIAL THANKS TO MC GILLES + JACK RILEY
PHOTO TOMASZ MACHNIK

CO-PRESENTED BY QUARTIER DES SPECTACLES WITH THE SUPPORT OF FIRST CHOICE
 

WRITTEN BY DIANE JEAN
TRANSLATED BY NEIL KROETSCH

PREMIERED AT MELBOURNE MUSEUM, NEXT WAVE FESTIVAL, MAY 15, 2010

 

BENNETT MILLER (PERTH)

Friend of Animals

Born in 1980 and trained in the visual arts, Bennett Miller produces sculpture, installations, videos and performance art. Early in his career, many of his pieces were featured in group exhibits in art galleries across Australia. Response to his scathing aesthetics consists not only of laughter, but also meditation about our own utopian aspirations. He made his name at age 23 with Golf War, an audacious installation that recreated the structure and events of the war in Iraq across nine miniature golf courses.

Read more

You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

Dachshund UN

BENNETT MILLER

Bienvenue à l’assemblée de Dachshund UN, où les rôles des 47 représentants des pays membres du Conseil des droits de l’homme de l’ONU sont tenus par… des teckels !

Détails

Ils s’appellent Daisy, Médor ou Pitou. Leurs manteaux bruns, noirs ou beiges colorent l’assemblée. Le Chinois aboie, le Pakistanais grogne ou baille, l’Américain se gratte furieusement pendant que le Français lèche le Russe avec entrain. Foire d’empoigne ou joyeux bordel, l’issue de la réunion qui les rassemble est impossible à prévoir. Bienvenue au bureau de Dachshund UN, où les rôles des 47 représentants des pays qui siègent au Conseil des droits de l’homme de l’ONU sont tenus par… des teckels.

En pleine place des Festivals, l’artiste-sculpteur australien Bennett Miller reproduit à l’échelle un ancien bureau des Nations Unies de Genève. Les bêtes s’y ébattent et y débattent sous l’œil rigolard des observateurs. Et si l’étonnant spectacle du chaos canin s’avère d’abord hilarant, l’impertinent spectacle de la politique des droits de l’homme et de la justice internationale est aussi savamment savoureux. Attention, mesdames et messieurs : votre sort est entre les courtes pattes des chiens saucisses !

Crédits

UN SPECTACLE DE BENNETT MILLER
CRÉÉ POUR LE 2010 NEXT WAVE FESTIVAL DANS LE CADRE DE‘KICKSTART’ DEVELOPMENT PROGRAM
MERCI À TOUS LES TECKELS (ET LEURS PROPRIÉTAIRES) SANS LESQUELS CE PROJET NE SERAIT PAS POSSIBLE ET REMERCIEMENTS SPÉCIAUX À MC GILLES + JACK RILEY
PHOTO TOMASZ MACHNIK

COPRÉSENTATION QUARTIER DES SPECTACLES AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE FIRST CHOICE
 

RÉDACTION DIANE JEAN

CRÉATION AU MELBOURNE MUSEUM, NEXT WAVE FESTIVAL, LE 15 MAI 2010

 

BENNETT MILLER (PERTH)

L’ami des animaux

Né en 1980, formé en arts visuels, Bennett Miller s’adonne à la sculpture, aux installations, à la vidéo ou à la performance. À ses débuts, plusieurs de ses œuvres ont été montrées lors d’expositions de groupes dans différentes galeries d’art d’Australie. Son esthétique décapante appelle à la fois au rire et à la réflexion sur nos propres aspirations utopiques. À seulement 23 ans, il s’est fait connaitre avec Golf War, une installation audacieuse constituée de neuf parcours de mini-golf dans lesquels il reconstituait les principales étapes de la guerre en Irak.

En savoir plus