You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

De repente fica tudo preto de gente

MARCELO EVELIN | DEMOLITION INC.

An emblematic figure of the contemporary Brazilian arts scene, Marcelo Evelin choreographs the audience as he exposes it to the unpredictable movements of five dancers. A unique and troubling sensory experience.

Details

SUDDENLY EVERYWHERE IS BLACK WITH PEOPLE
BLOOD BROTHERS SHARE THE STAGE
In the middle of the darkness, standing in a ring of cold light, the audience is on the alert. At any moment it must react to the unpredictable movements of five naked bodies smeared with a black substance. Primeval humans freshly secreted from the bowels of the earth, a swarming magma of flesh hungry for love and contact. A cannonball dispersing the crowd, seeking collision. The ground shakes under the weight of their tribal dance. Their candid gaze pierces the last bastions capable of protecting the spectator from a plunge into the unknown and his fear of the Other.

An emblematic figure of the contemporary Brazilian arts scene, Marcelo Evelin pulverizes the fourth wall and makes the body a hyphen between “I” and “us” in Suddenly Everywhere is Black with People. Teeming with life, it takes shape by sharing space. A unique and troubling sensory experience.

Credits

PRODUCED BY DEMOLITION INC.
CREATED AND PERFORMED BY DANIEL BARRA + TAMAR BLOM + SÉRGIO CADDAH + JELL CARONE + MARCELO EVELIN + ANDREZ LEAN GHIZZE + WILFRED LOOPSTRA + HITOMI NAGASU + MÁRCIO NONATO + ELIELSON PACHECO + ROSÂNGELA SULIDADE + SHO TAKIGUCHI + LOES VAN DER PLIGT + REGINA VELOSO

COPRODUCTION FESTIVAL PANORAMA (RIO DE JANEIRO) + KYOTO EXPERIMENT + KUNSTENFESTIVALDESARTS (BRUSSELS) WITH THE SUPPORT OF FUNARTE (PRÉMIO KLAUSS VIANNA 2011) + SAISON FOUNDATION (TOKYO) + THEATER INSTITUUT NEDERLAND (AMSTERDAM) + NETHERLAND FUND FOR PERFORMING ARTS

PRESENTED IN ASSOCIATION WITH MONUMENT-NATIONAL

WRITTEN BY FABIENNE CABADO
TRANSLATED BY NEIL KROETSCH

PREMIERED AT TEATRO SÉRGIO PORTO, PANORAMA FESTIVAL, NOVEMBER 3, 2012

 

MARCELO EVELIN | DEMOLITION INC. (TERESINA)

The Body as a Site of Resistance and Encounter
Born in 1962 in Teresina in northern Brazil, Marcelo Evelin studied theatre and dance in Rio de Janeiro, presented his first choreography in 1985 and then travelled to Europe to pursue his training, notably by studying with Pina Bausch.

Read more

You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

De repente fica tudo preto de gente

MARCELO EVELIN | DEMOLITION INC.

Figure emblématique de la nouvelle scène brésilienne, Marcelo Evelin chorégraphie le public en l’exposant aux mouvements imprévisibles de cinq danseurs. Une expérience sensorielle inédite et troublante.

Détails

SOUDAIN TOUT EST NOIR DE MONDE
Debout dans la pénombre d’un ring encadré de néons, le public est sur le qui-vive. À chaque instant, il lui faut réagir aux mouvements imprévisibles de cinq corps nus enduits d’une substance noire. Humains originels fraîchement expulsés du ventre de la terre. Magma grouillant de chairs avides d’amour et de contact. Boule de canon qui disperse la foule, cherche la collision. Le sol gronde sous le poids de leur danse tribale. Leur regard franc perce les derniers remparts capables de protéger le spectateur d’une plongée dans l’inconnu et de la peur de l’Autre.

Figure emblématique de la nouvelle scène brésilienne, Marcelo Evelin pulvérise le quatrième mur et fait du corps un trait d’union entre le « je » et le « nous » dans Soudain tout est noir de monde. Une œuvre pleine de vie qui s’écrit dans le partage de l’espace. Une expérience sensorielle inédite et troublante.

Crédits

UN SPECTACLE DE DEMOLITION INC.
CRÉATION ET INTERPRÉTATION DANIEL BARRA + TAMAR BLOM + SÉRGIO CADDAH + JELL CARONE + MARCELO EVELIN + ANDREZ LEAN GHIZZE + WILFRED LOOPSTRA + HITOMI NAGASU + MÁRCIO NONATO + ELIELSON PACHECO + ROSÂNGELA SULIDADE + SHO TAKIGUCHI + LOES VAN DER PLIGT + REGINA VELOSO

COPRODUCTION FESTIVAL PANORAMA (RIO DE JANEIRO) + KYOTO EXPERIMENT + KUNSTENFESTIVALDESARTS (BRUXELLES) AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE FUNARTE (PRÉMIO KLAUSS VIANNA 2011) + SAISON FOUNDATION (TOKYO) + THEATER INSTITUUT NEDERLAND (AMSTERDAM) + FONDS DES PAYS-BAS POUR LES ARTS DU SPECTACLE

PRÉSENTATION EN COLLABORATION AVEC MONUMENT-NATIONAL

RÉDACTION FABIENNE CABADO
TRADUCTION NEIL KROETSCH

CRÉATION AU TEATRO SÉRGIO PORTO, PANORAMA FESTIVAL, LE 3 NOVEMBRE 2012

 

MARCELO EVELIN | DEMOLITION INC. (TERESINA)

Le corps comme lieu de résistance et de rencontre
Né en 1962 à Teresina, dans le nord du Brésil, Marcelo Evelin étudie le théâtre et la danse à Rio de Janeiro, signe sa première chorégraphie en 1985 et s’envole pour l’Europe pour parfaire sa formation, notamment auprès de Pina Bausch.

En savoir plus