You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

IN MUSEUM

MARIE CHOUINARD

The great Marie Chouinard embodies the dreams that visitors of the Museum of Fine Arts confide in her. This intense and memorable encounter is truly a gift.

Details

Everything is white: the dance floor, the props and even her clothing. In this sacred space at the heart of the Museum of Fine Arts, Marie Chouinard embodies the aspirations that visitors secretly confide in her. She transforms movement into a shamanistic language. She connects to those who have come to whisper their wishes in her ear, lets a prayer rise out of her body, and writes it out invisibly in the hope that the message will be heard. The audience watches – intrigued, enchanted and astonished – perhaps looking to solve the mystery of these ephemeral dances. Together with the dancer, the audience will experience the immediate wonder of an absolute presence.

Returning to the stage after a 20-year absence, this great Québec choreographer abandons herself to dazzling spontaneity for these custom-made improvisations. Moving quickly between frenzy and contemplation, gravity and humour, she offers us the rare opportunity of direct contact with the artist. This intense and memorable encounter is truly a gift.

Credits

PRODUCED BY COMPAGNIE MARIE CHOUINARD
CREATED AND PERFORMED BYMARIE CHOUINARD
PHOTO SYLVIE-ANN PARÉFEATURING MARIE CHOUINARD

PRESENTED IN ASSOCIATION WITH MONTREAL MUSEUM OF FINE ARTS

WRITTEN BY FABIENNE CABADO
TRANSLATED BY ANDRÉE MCNAMARA TAIT

PREMIERED AT MUSÉE D’ART CONTEMPORAIN DE BAIE-SAINT-PAUL, QUÉBEC, AUGUST 31, 2012

 

MARIE CHOUINARD (MONTRÉAL)
COMPAGNIE MARIE CHOUINARD

Exultation of the body and soul

Born into a family of artists in Quebec City, Marie Chouinard enjoyed a solo career for 12 years before founding her company in 1990. Her first creation, Cristallisation, danced to the sound of a broiler oven, propelled her to the ranks of the most exceptional creative artists. A charismatic dancer constantly seeking authenticity, she has pushed boundaries without regard for the public’s reaction and made headlines for urinating on stage (Petite danse sans nom, 1980) and masturbating (Marie Chien Noir, 1982). Revelling in the raw and luminous poetry of instincts, she has created organic and often very explicitly sensual dances, such as L’après-midi d’un faune (1987). Presented during the Festival de théâtre des Amériques, Les trous du ciel, her first group work, was hailed as a revelation. The piece features her signature use of breath, voice and undulations of the spinal column. Major works from her repertoire such as Le sacre du printemps (1993), Les 24 préludes de Chopin (1999) and bODY_rEMIX/les_vARIATIONS_gOLDBERG (2005) are still touring, as is ORPHÉE ET EURYDICE (2008, FTA coproduction); meanwhile, major ballet companies are remounting some of her creations.

Read more

You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

In museum

MARIE CHOUINARD

La grande Marie Chouinard incarne les rêves que lui confient les visiteurs du Musée des beaux-arts. Une rencontre intense et mémorable.

Détails

Tout est blanc. Le tapis de danse, les accessoires, ses vêtements. Dans cet espace sacré en plein cœur du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal, Marie Chouinard incarne les espoirs que lui confient, presque en secret, les visiteurs. Elle fait du mouvement un langage chamanique. Elle se connecte à la personne venue déposer un vœu à son oreille, laisse une prière s’élever de son corps, l’inscrit dans l’invisible avec l’espoir que le message soit entendu. Intrigué, envoûté, ébloui, on cherchera peut-être à percer le mystère de ces danses éphémères. Complice, on goûtera dans l’instant le bonheur d’une présence absolue.

Revenue à la scène en solo après 20 ans d’absence, la grande chorégraphe québécoise nous fait le cadeau de s’abandonner à l’inspiration du moment pour ces improvisations sur mesure. Virant promptement de la fougue à la contemplation, de la solennité à la légèreté, elle nous offre l’occasion rare d’un contact direct avec elle. Une rencontre intense et mémorable.

Crédits

UN SPECTACLE DE COMPAGNIE MARIE CHOUINARD
CONCEPT ET INTERPRÉTATIONMARIE CHOUINARD
PHOTO SYLVIE-ANN PARÉ

PRÉSENTATION EN COLLABORATION AVEC MUSÉE DES BEAUX-ARTS DE MONTRÉAL

RÉDACTION FABIENNE CABADO

CRÉATION AU MUSÉE D’ART CONTEMPORAIN DE BAIE-SAINT-PAUL, QUÉBEC, LE 31 AOÛT 2012

 

MARIE CHOUINARD (MONTRÉAL)
COMPAGNIE MARIE CHOUINARD

Faire exulter corps et esprit

Issue d’une famille d’artistes de Québec, Marie Chouinard a mené une carrière solo pendant 12 ans avant de fonder sa compagnie, en 1990. Dansée au son d’une grille de four, Cristallisation, sa première œuvre, la place d’emblée au rang des créateurs d’exception. Charismatique danseuse en quête d’authenticité, elle pousse les explorations sans souci de la réception du public et défraye la chronique en urinant sur scène (Petite danse sans nom, 1980) ou en s’y masturbant (Marie Chien Noir, 1982). Exaltant la poésie crue et lumineuse des instincts, elle crée des danses organiques et d’une sensualité souvent très explicite comme L’après-midi d’un faune (1987). Présentée au Festival de théâtre des Amériques, Les trous du ciel, sa première œuvre de groupe, est accueillie comme une révélation. On y retrouve l’usage du souffle et de la voix ainsi que l’important engagement de la colonne vertébrale, caractéristiques de sa signature. Œuvres marquantes de son répertoire, Le sacre du printemps (1993), Les 24 préludes de Chopin (1999) et bODY_rEMIX/les_vARIATIONS_gOLDBERG (2005) tournent encore aujourd’hui, tout comme ORPHÉE ET EURYDICE (2008, coproduction du FTA) ; tandis que de grandes compagnies de ballet reprennent certaines de ses créations.

En savoir plus