You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

LA PORTE DU NON-RETOUR

PHILIPPE DUCROS

Headphones, an audio guide and an exhibit of some fifty photos make for an initiatory journey into the heart of the African migrations.

Details

Inside Africa
La porte du non-retour (The Door of no return) refers to monuments on the west coast of Africa erected in memory of the millions of slaves deported from Africa to America. Once they passed through the door, they knew that they would never come back.

In this exhibit of some fifty photos, the spectator puts on headphones and listens to an audio guide for a solitary journey. Whispered into his ears are thoughts and comments, sometimes enraged or crying for social justice, but always poetic. This is a voyage into the heart of the African continent, a land of slave traders, fugitives, urban exodus, war refugees and misery.

Presented by the author of L’affiche Philippe Ducros, this rite of passage features photos and narratives he has assembled, and clearly reflects his craving for justice. The listener becomes a migrant coping with the sinister margins of a harsh world and its denizens. The narrator realizes he will never quite fully return from these journeys.

Productions Hôtel-Motel
Encountering Others
The Hôtel-Motel theatre company is so named because it hopes, through its plays, to pull the spectator out of his kitchen and into the world at large, to encounter others and to tackle themes and concerns that affect us all. Since its inception in 2000, Hôtel-Motel has presented pieces in Quebec, Europe and Africa. Conceived to mark the tenth anniversary of the company, the La porte du non-retour project is the result of two very moving sojourns in Africa. It depicts the extreme journeys that lie at the heart of Philippe Ducros’ work.

Credits

PRODUCED BY PRODUCTIONS HÔTEL-MOTEL

TEXT, DIRECTION AND PHOTOGRAPHY PHILIPPE DUCROS TRANSLATION SHELLEY TEPPERMAN FRENCH VERSION WITH ÉTIENNE PILON + KLERVI THIENPONT ENGLISH VERSION WITH CATHERINE BÉRUBÉ + ALEX IVANOVICI MUSIC LUDOVIC BONNIER SET CONSULTANTMAGALIE AMYOT

COPRODUCTION FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES

WRITTEN BY DIANE JEANTRANSLATED BY NEIL KROETSCH

 

PHILIPPE DUCROS (MONTRÉAL)
PRODUCTIONS HÔTEL-MOTEL

In Contact with the World
Philippe Ducros is a writer, director, actor and, since August 2010, the artistic director of Espace Libre, a Montreal centre for creating and performing new works.

Read more

You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

La porte du non-retour

PHILIPPE DUCROS

Une salle d’exposition. Une cinquantaine de photos. Le spectateur enfile un casque d’écoute. Commence alors un parcours initiatique au cœur des migrations de l’Afrique.

Détails

L’Afrique intérieure
La porte du non-retour
fait référence à des monuments de la côte ouest africaine érigés en mémoire des millions d’esclaves déportés de l’Afrique vers l’Amérique. Une fois cette porte franchie, les esclaves savaient que jamais plus ils ne reviendraient.

Une salle d’exposition. Une cinquantaine de photos. Un audioguide. Le spectateur enfile un casque d’écoute. Voyageur solitaire, il surprend des réflexions, parfois enragées, parfois engagées, toujours poétiques, chuchotées dans son oreille. Commence alors un périple au cœur du continent africain. Celui des négriers, des réfugiés, des exodes urbains, des déplacés des guerres et de la misère.

Vécu par Philippe Ducros, ce parcours initiatique rassemble photos et récits stockés par l’auteur de L’affiche. Sa soif de justice s’y retrouve, intacte. Le spectateur devient migrant, fait face au monde et à ses marges, perçoit la vie qui bat, ailleurs. De ces voyages, le narrateur comprend que jamais il ne pourra revenir tout à fait.

Productions Hôtel-Motel
À la rencontre des autres

La compagnie de théâtre Hôtel-Motel porte ce nom parce qu’elle souhaite, par ses propositions scéniques, sortir le spectateur des cuisines du Québec, le faire voyager, le pousser à la rencontre des autres, et ainsi aborder des thèmes et des préoccupations mondiales. Depuis sa création en l’an 2000, la compagnie a eu des activités au Québec, en Europe et en Afrique. Conçu pour les 10 ans d’Hôtel-Motel, La porte du non-retour est un projet issu de deux séjours bouleversants en Afrique et dresse un bilan de ces voyages extrêmes, au cœur de la démarche de Philippe Ducros.

Crédits

UN SPECTACLE DESPRODUCTIONS HÔTEL-MOTEL

TEXTE, MISE EN SCÈNE ET PHOTOGRAPHIE PHILIPPE DUCROS TRADUCTION SHELLEY TEPPERMAN VERSION FRANÇAISE AVEC ÉTIENNE PILON + KLERVI THIENPONT VERSION ANGLAISE AVEC CATHERINE BÉRUBÉ + ALEX IVANOVICI MUSIQUELUDOVIC BONNIER CONSEILLÈRE À LA SCÉNOGRAPHIE MAGALIE AMYOT

COPRODUCTION FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES

RÉDACTRICE DIANE JEAN

 

PHILIPPE DUCROS (MONTRÉAL)
PRODUCTIONS HÔTEL-MOTEL

Le cœur sur le monde
Philippe Ducros est à la fois auteur, metteur en scène, acteur, et depuis août 2010, directeur artistique d’Espace Libre, lieu de création et de diffusion montréalais.

En savoir plus