You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

LANX + OBVIE

CINDY VAN ACKER

Four minimalist solo pieces that reflect an inspired look at time, space and the body; four graphic, organic and magnificent worlds; a quadruple masterstroke.

Details

Ode to the Body and to Life
The human body – complex, essential, inescapable – is both an object of study and a passion for Cindy Van Acker. In the four solo pieces Lanx, obvie, nixe and obtus she exposes the performer’s body to shadow and light, with the body at times visible and at other times invisible, subject to speed and slowness. In these pieces she manages to extract the very essence of time, movement and life. In Lanx, Van Acker herself fuses her body to the ground, which becomes her veritable partner in an organic, hypnotic duet. obvie combines that graphic horizontality with an ethereal fluidity. In nixe the neon lighting and the sound accompaniment by Mika Vainio create a sort of weightlessness and an unreal, haunting atmosphere, while the impression created in obtus is angular, translucent movement. Four distinct solo pieces, and all the result of visceral, magnificent research.

Creative Collaborations
The unique style of Greffe first made a big splash with the solo Corps 00 : 00, presented at several festivals starting in 2002, notably the Venice Biennale in 2005. The 2007 piece Kernelwas also an important milestone for the company, not the least because it was the first time Cindy Van Acker worked with Mika Vainio, of the Finnish group Pan Sonic. That artistic collaboration later led to Lanx, the first in a series of six solo pieces (the others being Obvie,Antre, Nodal, Nixe and Obtus) developed over a three-year period.

Credits

PRODUCED BY COMPAGNIE GREFFE

LANX / OBVIE CHOREOGRAPHYCINDY VAN ACKER PERFORMED BY CINDY VAN ACKER (LANX) + TAMARA BACCI (OBVIE) SOUND DESIGN MIKA VAINIO (LANX) + DENIS ROLLET (OBVIE) LIGHTING DESIGN LUC GENDROZ (LANX) + DENIS ROLLET (OBVIE) SET DESIGN (LANX) LINE FONTANA + CINDY VAN ACKER SET CONSTRUCTION VICTOR ROYCOSTUME DESIGN ALINE COURVOISIER NIXE / OBTUSCHOREOGRAPHY CINDY VAN ACKER PERFORMED BY MARTHE KRUMMENACHER REPLACED BY TAMARA BACCI (OBTUS) + PERRINE VALLI (NIXE) SOUND DESIGN MIKA VAINIO LIGHTING AND SET DESIGN LUC GENDROZ + VICTOR ROY + CINDY VAN ACKER COSTUME DESIGN ALINE COURVOISIER 

COPRODUCTION FESTIVAL ELECTRON (LANX) + ASSOCIATION CIRCONSTANCES + ADC GENÈVE (OBVIE) + LA BÂTIE-FESTIVAL DE GENÈVE (NIXE ET OBTUS) WITH THE SUPPORT OF VILLE DE GENÈVE + CANTON DE GENÈVE + PRO HELVETIA + LOTERIE ROMANDEPRESENTED IN ASSOCIATION WITH AGORA DE LA DANSE

LANX WAS PREMIERED AT FESTIVAL ELECTRON, GENEVA, MARCH 2008

OBVIE WAS PREMIERED AT THE ADC (ASSOCIATION POUR LA DANSE CONTEMPORAINE), GENEVA, MARCH 2008

NIXE AND OBTUS WERE PREMIERED AT LA BÂTIE, GENEVA FESTIVAL, AUGUST 2009

WRITTEN BY SOPHIE POULIOTTRANSLATED BY NEIL KROETSCH

 

CINDY VAN ACKER (GENÈVE)

Rising Star
Born and raised in Flanders and now living in Switzerland, Cindy Van Acker moved away from classical dance in the 1990s (Royal Ballet of Flanders, Ballet du Grand Théâtre in Geneva) to concentrate on contemporary dance. She choreographed Divine Comedy and the opera Persifal for the renowned Italian director Romeo Castellucci, and worked with him again on Inferno, presented in the Courtyard of Honour at the Pope’s Palace during the 2008 Avignon Festival. However, it is with her company Greffe that Cindy Van Acker explores cherished themes through choreography that is concise, graphic and eloquent.

Read more

You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

Lanx + Obvie

CINDY VAN ACKER

Quatre soli minimalistes nourris par un regard inspiré posé sur le temps, l’espace et le corps ; quatre univers graphiques, organiques et magnifiques ; un quadruple exploit.

Détails

Odes au corps et à la vie
Le corps humain, complexe, essentiel, inexorable, est à la fois objet d’étude et de passion pour Cindy Van Acker. En exposant celui des interprètes de ses soli Lanx, Obvie, Nixe etObtus à l’ombre et à la lumière, en les rendant tour à tour visibles et invisibles, en les soumettant à la rapidité, puis à la lenteur, c’est l’essence même du temps, du mouvement et de la vie que la chorégraphe parvient à extraire. Dans Lanx, Van Acker elle-même soude son corps au sol, celui-ci devenant presque le partenaire d’un duo aussi organique qu’hypnotique. Obvie couple cette horizontalité graphique à une fluidité presque aérienne. La lumière des néons et l’accompagnement sonore de Mika Vainio créent dans Nixe une quasi-apesanteur, une atmosphère irréelle et obsédante, tandis qu’ils suscitent, dans Obtus, des mouvements angulaires et diaphanes. Quatre soli distincts, fruit d’une recherche viscérale et magnifique.

Transplanter ses idées autour du monde
C’est grâce au solo Corps 00:00, présenté dans plusieurs festivals dès 2002 ainsi qu’à la Biennale de Venise en 2005, que le monde entier a pu découvrir le travail unique de la compagnie Greffe. Kernel, créée en 2007, constitue aussi un jalon important dans le parcours de la compagnie, entre autres parce qu’il s’agit de la toute première collaboration de Cindy Van Acker avec Mika Vainio, du groupe finlandais Pan Sonic. Cette complicité artistique engendre ensuite Lanx, premier solo d’un ensemble de six (Obvie, Antre, Nodal, Nixe et Obtuscomplètent la série), élaborés en trois ans.

Crédits

UN SPECTACLE DE COMPAGNIE GREFFE

LANX / OBVIE CHORÉGRAPHIECINDY VAN ACKERINTERPRÉTATION CINDY VAN ACKER (LANX) + TAMARA BACCI (OBVIE) CRÉATION SONORE MIKA VAINIO (LANX) + DENIS ROLLET (OBVIE) LUMIÈRES LUC GENDROZ (LANX) + DENIS ROLLET (OBVIE)SCÉNOGRAPHIE (LANX) LINE FONTANA + CINDY VAN ACKERRÉALISATION SCÉNOGRAPHIQUEVICTOR ROY COSTUMES ALINE COURVOISIER NIXE / OBTUSCHORÉGRAPHIE CINDY VAN ACKER INTERPRÉTATIONMARTHE KRUMMENACHER –REMPLACÉE PAR TAMARA BACCI(OBTUS) + PERRINE VALLI (NIXE)CRÉATION SONORE MIKA VAINIOLUMIÈRES ET SCÉNOGRAPHIELUC GENDROZ + VICTOR ROY + CINDY VAN ACKER COSTUMESALINE COURVOISIER

COPRODUCTION FESTIVAL ELECTRON (LANX) + ASSOCIATION CIRCONSTANCES + ADC GENÈVE (OBVIE) + LA BÂTIE-FESTIVAL DE GENÈVE (NIXE ET OBTUS) AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE VILLE DE GENÈVE + CANTON DE GENÈVE + PRO HELVETIA + LOTERIE ROMANDEPRÉSENTATION EN COLLABORATION AVEC AGORA DE LA DANSE

CRÉATION DE LANX AU FESTIVAL ELECTRON, GENÈVE, MARS 2008

CRÉATION DE OBVIE À L’ADC (ASSOCIATION POUR LA DANSE CONTEMPORAINE), GENÈVE, MARS 2008

CRÉATION DE NIXE ET OBTUS À LA BÂTIE – FESTIVAL DE GENÈVE, AOÛT 2009

RÉDACTRICE SOPHIE POULIOT

 

CINDY VAN ACKER (GENÈVE)

En pleine ascension
Flamande d’origine et Suissesse d’adoption, Cindy Van Acker bifurque au milieu des années 1990 de son parcours en danse classique (Ballet royal de Flandre, Ballet du Grand Théâtre de Genève) pour se consacrer à la danse contemporaine. Elle crée les chorégraphies de La divine comédie et, tout récemment, de l’opéra Parsifal, à la demande du renommé metteur en scène italien Romeo Castellucci, qu’elle accompagne aussi dans la création d’Inferno à la Cour d’honneur du Palais des papes au Festival d’Avignon en 2008. Mais c’est au sein de la compagnie Greffe, qu’elle a fondée à cette fin, que Cindy Van Acker explore les thèmes qui lui sont chers à l’aide du langage chorégraphique concis, graphique et éloquent qu’elle a su développer.

En savoir plus