You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

LE NOSHOW

ALEXANDRE FECTEAU | COLLECTIF NOUS SOMMES ICI + THÉÂTRE DUBUNKER

What value do you give to theatre? And what is the price paid for choosing theatre as a profession? NoShow makes it your own decision.

Details

UN SHOW-MUST-GO-ON À TOUT PRIX.
They are irreverent, inventive, impudently young. They invite the spectator to a ferociously festive event, a chance to chop into a few artistic taboos, including the taboo of money. They’ll be living in tents pitched on the Place des Arts esplanade. You mean theatre doesn’t even pay the rent? Speaking of filthy lucre, you’ll have to buy your ticket on the spot, choosing from a list of six different prices – one of which is “free of charge”. But that’s merely one decision you’ll make, the first of many, for it promises to be a frenetically interactive evening! By sending a series of text messages, you determine the composition of NoShow.

According to the old saw ”The show must go on”. Alright, but why? What value do you give to theatre? And what is the price paid for choosing theatre as a profession? You’ll be an active participant in a world both real and fictional, where two ideas – the cost of theatre and its value as art – clash with predatory humour.

Credits

PRODUCED BY COLLECTIF NOUS SOMMES ICI + THÉÂTRE DUBUNKER
WRITTEN BY FRANÇOIS BERNIER + ALEXANDRE FECTEAU + HUBERT LEMIRE + MAXIME ROBIN IN ASSOCIATION WITH THE PERFORMERS
DIRECTED BY ALEXANDRE FECTEAU
PERFORMED BY FRANCESCA BÁRCENAS + FRANÇOIS BERNIER + FRÉDÉRIQUE BRADET + HUBERT LEMIRE + FLORENCE LONGPRÉ + JULIEN STORINI + SOPHIE THIBEAULT
VIDEO MARILYN LAFLAMME
SOUND DESIGNER, STAGE AND TECHNICAL MANAGER OLIVIER GAUDET-SAVARD

PRESENTED IN ASSOCIATION WITH CINQUIÈME SALLE
WITH THE SUPPORT OF HYDRO-QUÉBEC

WRITTEN BY PAUL LEFEBVRE
TRANSLATED BY NEIL KROETSCH

WORLD PREMIÈRE AT THÉÂTRE PÉRISCOPE, QUÉBEC, MAY 21, 2013

 

ALEXANDRE FECTEAU | COLLECTIF NOUS SOMMES ICI + THÉÂTRE DUBUNKER (QUÉBEC + MONTRÉAL)

Rethinking the Relationship with the Spectator
Founded in Quebec City in 2008, the collective Nous sommes ici, under director Alexandre Fecteau, strives for singular theatre, theatre that is an event that directly engages the audience, with each spectator absorbed in a personal and immediate experience. Each of their pieces has an original form and structure that is based on the issues and themes underlying the work, a form whereby the relationship between actors and audience attributes an active role to the spectators. To date the company has produced L’étape – Un docuthéâtre multimédia on the phenomenon of car sharing, Changing Room, whose focus was the intimate world of drag queens, La date on the theme of seduction and hookups, and NoShow, first presented in Quebec City at the 2013 Carrefour international de théâtre.

Read more

You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

LE NOSHOW

ALEXANDRE FECTEAU | COLLECTIF NOUS SOMMES ICI + THÉÂTRE DUBUNKER

Quelle valeur accordez-vous au théâtre ? Et à quel prix doit-on s’y vouer ? Dans Le NoShow, c’est vous qui décidez.

Détails

UN SHOW-MUST-GO-ON À TOUT PRIX.
Ils sont irrévérencieux, inventifs, effrontément jeunes. Ils vous entraînent dans un événement férocement festif pour mettre la hache dans quelques tabous artistiques, dont celui de l’argent. Ils logent d’ailleurs dans quelques tentes plantées sur l’Esplanade de la Place des Arts. Quoi, le théâtre ne paie même pas le loyer ? Parlant d’argent, vous devrez acheter votre billet sur place, et vous aurez le choix entre six tarifs — dont ne rien payer. Mais ceci n’est que la première décision qui vous attend ; plusieurs autres défileront. À vrai dire, ce sera frénétiquement interactif ce soir-là ! À coups de textos, c’est vous qui déterminerez ce que sera le NoShow.

On dit que « The show must go on ». D’accord, mais pourquoi ? Quelle valeur accordez-vous au théâtre ? Et à quel prix doit-on s’y vouer ? Vous voilà partie prenante d’un univers à la fois réel et fictif, où le coût du théâtre et sa valeur comme art s’affrontent avec un humour carnassier.

Crédits

UN SPECTACLE DE COLLECTIF NOUS SOMMES ICI + THÉÂTRE DUBUNKER
TEXTE FRANÇOIS BERNIER + ALEXANDRE FECTEAU + HUBERT LEMIRE + MAXIME ROBIN EN COLLABORATION AVEC LES ACTEURS LES INTERPRÈTES
INTERPRÉTATION FRANCESCA BÁRCENAS + FRANÇOIS BERNIER + FRÉDÉRIQUE BRADET + HUBERT LEMIRE + FLORENCE LONGPRÉ + JULIEN STORINI + SOPHIE THIBEAULT
VIDÉO MARILYN LAFLAMME
CONCEPTION SONORE, RÉGIE GÉNÉRALE ET DIRECTION TECHNIQUE OLIVIER GAUDET-SAVARD

PRÉSENTATION EN COLLABORATION AVEC CINQUIÈME SALLE
AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE HYDRO-QUÉBEC

RÉDACTION PAUL LEFEBVRE
TRADUCTION NEIL KROETSCH

CRÉATION AU THÉÂTRE PÉRISCOPE, QUÉBEC, LE 21 MAI 2013

 

ALEXANDRE FECTEAU | COLLECTIF NOUS SOMMES ICI + THÉÂTRE DUBUNKER (QUÉBEC + MONTRÉAL)

Repenser le rapport au spectateur
Fondé à Québec en 2008, le collectif Nous sommes ici, principalement animé par le metteur en scène Alexandre Fecteau, travaille à la création d’un théâtre singulier, événementiel et relationnel qui souhaite faire vivre à chaque spectateur une expérience personnelle et immédiate. Chacune de ses créations repose sur la mise au point d’une forme originale, née des enjeux propres au spectacle, forme par laquelle la relation entre les acteurs et les spectateurs attribue un rôle actif à ces derniers. Jusqu’ici, la compagnie a produit L’étape – Un docuthéâtre multimédia, sur le phénomène du covoiturage, et Changing Room, sur l’univers intime des drag queens, La date, sur la séduction et les rencontres ainsi que le NoShow, dont la création a eu lieu au Carrefour international de théâtre à Québec en 2013.

En savoir plus