You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

LE SACRE DU PRINTEMPS

XAVIER LE ROY

The French performer Xavier Le Roy is a bogus orchestra maestro conducting the mythical music of Sacre du printemps. Fearless, effective and laced with humour.

Details

With a light touch and a raised eyebrow, the dancer conveys the finesse of a pianissimo and then, with spirited movement and fiery gaze, lets a crescendo swell until it explodes. Alone onstage with the audience acting as the orchestra, he defuses drama with humour and irreverence. From fits of passion to spells of calm, from rotating hips to swinging legs, he so fully and physically embraces and personifies the music that it becomes an object between his fingers, blood that flows in his veins. And it is impossible to say whether it is the music or the dance that calls the shots.

The French performer Xavier Le Roy offers his body to music in a vivid version of Sacre du printemps, a monumental work in the history of art whose centennial is being celebrated at the FTA. Slipping into the skin of the maestro of the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra, he dismantles the musical structure of Stravinsky’s mythical score, bringing the audience in for a good close look.

Credits

PRODUCED BY IN SITU PRODUCTIONS + LE KWATT
CONCEIVED AND PERFORMED BYXAVIER LE ROY
MUSIC IGOR STRAVINSKY
SOUND DESIGN PETER BOEHM
RECORDING BERLINER PHILHARMONIKER
CONDUCTED BY SIR SIMON RATTLE
COLLABORATORS BOJANA CVEJIC + BERNO POLZER
MANAGEMENT VINCENT CAVAROC – ILLUSION & MACADAM (MONTPELLIER)
PHOTO VINCENT CAVAROC

COPRODUCTION CENTRE CHORÉGRAPHIQUE NATIONAL DE MONTPELLIER LANGUEDOC-ROUSSILLON + TANZ IM AUGUST – INTERNATIONALES TANZFEST 2007 (BERLIN) + PACT ZOLLVEREIN CHOREOGRAPHISCHES ZENTRUM NRW (ESSEN) CREATIVE RESIDENCY LES SUBSISTANCES (LYON)

PRESENTED IN ASSOCIATION WITH AGORA DE LA DANSE
WITH THE SUPPORT OF SERVICE DE COOPÉRATION ET D’ACTION CULTURELLE DU CONSULAT GÉNÉRAL DE FRANCE À QUÉBEC + INSTITUT FRANÇAIS

WRITTEN BY FABIENNE CABADO
TRANSLATED BY NEIL KROETSCH

PREMIERED AT LES SUBSISTANCES, LYON, JUNE 27, 2007

 

XAVIER LE ROY (MONTPELLIER)

Movement Beyond Dance

Born in 1963, Xavier Le Roy suddenly gave up a fledgling career in biology at age 27 in favour of dance. He studied in Montpellier and Paris, and spent the 1990s in France and Germany on a series of wide-ranging collaborations and shows that he conceived as experiences to be shared. From 1996 to 2003 he was artist in residence at the Podewil and at TanzWerkstatt in Berlin. Plunging into the new forms of choreography of the 1990s, he was one of the first to express interest in movement beyond dance, contriving to deconstruct forms and performance. His work ranged from unlikely metamorphoses (Self Unfinished, 1998), to the tale of his professional career (Produit de circonstances, 1999), how a piece came to be (Produit d’autres circonstances, 2009), orchestra as dance (Mouvements für Lachenmann, 2005) and the dance of the maestro in Le sacre du printemps, created in 2007 when he was associate artist with the Centre national chorégraphique de Montpellier.

Read more

You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

Le sacre du printemps

XAVIER LE ROY

Le Français Xavier Le Roy chorégraphie un vrai-faux chef d’orchestre sur la partition mythique du Sacre du printemps. Audacieux, efficace et saupoudré d’humour.

Détails

La main légère et le sourcil haut, le danseur marque la finesse d’un pianissimo. Le geste fougueux et le regard en feu, il laisse un crescendo enfler jusqu’à son explosion. Seul face au public devenu orchestre, il désamorce le drame, osant l’humour, l’irrévérence. D’emportements en accalmies, de jeux de bassin en jeux de jambes, il prend si bien la musique à bras-le-corps qu’elle en devient objet entre ses doigts, sang qui coule dans ses veines. Et l’on ne sait plus trop qui, de la danse ou de la musique, mène réellement le bal.

Le Français Xavier Le Roy offre son corps à la musique dans une version exaltée du Sacre du printemps, monument de l’histoire de l’art dont le FTA soulignera le centenaire. Se glissant dans la peau du maestro de l’Orchestre philharmonique de Berlin, il déboulonne les ressorts musicaux de la mythique partition de Stravinski et nous la donne littéralement à voir.

Crédits

UN SPECTACLE DE IN SITU PRODUCTIONS + LE KWATT
CONCEPT ET INTERPRÉTATIONXAVIER LE ROY
MUSIQUE IGOR STRAVINSKI
SON PETER BOEHM
ENREGISTREMENT BERLINER PHILHARMONIKER SOUS LA DIRECTION DE SIR SIMON RATTLE
AVEC LA COLLABORATION DEBOJANA CVEJIC + BERNO POLZER
ORGANISATION VINCENT CAVAROC – ILLUSION & MACADAM (MONTPELLIER)
PHOTO VINCENT CAVAROC

COPRODUCTION CENTRE CHORÉGRAPHIQUE NATIONAL DE MONTPELLIER LANGUEDOC-ROUSSILLON + TANZ IM AUGUST – INTERNATIONALES TANZFEST 2007 (BERLIN) + PACT ZOLLVEREIN CHOREOGRAPHISCHES ZENTRUM NRW (ESSEN)
RÉSIDENCE DE CRÉATION LES SUBSISTANCES (LYON)

PRÉSENTATION EN COLLABORATION AVEC AGORA DE LA DANSE AVEC LE SOUTIEN DU SERVICE DE COOPÉRATION ET D’ACTION CULTURELLE DU CONSULAT GÉNÉRAL DE FRANCE À QUÉBEC + INSTITUT FRANÇAIS

RÉDACTION FABIENNE CABADO

CRÉATION À LES SUBSISTANCES, LYON, LE 27 JUIN 2007

 

XAVIER LE ROY (MONTPELLIER)

Le mouvement au-delà de la danse

Né en 1963, Xavier Le Roy bascule de manière imprévue de la biologie à la danse à l’âge de 27 ans. Formé entre Montpellier et Paris, il navigue dès les années 1990 entre la France et l’Allemagne pour des collaborations tous azimuts et des spectacles qu’il conçoit comme des expériences à partager. Entre 1996 et 2003, il est artiste en résidence au Podewil et au TanzWerkstatt de Berlin. Inscrit dans le courant des nouvelles formes chorégraphiques des années 1990, il est l’un des premiers à s’intéresser au mouvement au-delà de la danse, s’ingéniant à la déconstruction des formes et du spectacle : métamorphoses improbables (Self Unfinished, 1998), récit de son parcours professionnel (Produit de circonstances, 1999), de la réalisation de l’œuvre (Produit d’autres circonstances, 2009), orchestre chorégraphique (Mouvements für Lachenmann, 2005) ou danse de maestro dans Le sacre du printemps, créé en 2007 alors qu’il est artiste associé du Centre national chorégraphique de Montpellier.

En savoir plus