You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

L’ENCLOS DE L’ÉLÉPHANT

SYLVAIN BÉLANGER

Are you the only one who sees one man bullied by another? And who’s looking through that tiny camera trained on your face?

Details

Eyeing the Intruder
A man enjoying a comfortable evening at home agrees to let a stranger into his house during a downpour. But the more the intruder reveals the less we know what he really wants, and what appears to be clear abruptly becomes murky. What can an elephant do against a mosquito? That’s what you’re watching, seated in a miniature theatre designed just for you. But are other people also watching these two men? You see a face on a small surveillance screen built into your seat, which you notice also contains a miniature camera. Are you, the watcher, also being watched?

That is the unsettling fictional and theatrical device developed by playwright Étienne Lepage (Rouge gueule) and director Sylvain Bélanger, placing cheek by jowl the insecurity of the present with the current obsession for surveillance. Welcome to a microcosm where, when it comes to facing the hidden terrors lurking in everyday life, you’re on your own.

THÉÂTRE DU GRAND JOUR / Politically Committed Theatre
For the past dozen years, Théâtre du Grand Jour has been exploring the mutations of individual responsibility in the present context of the disintegration of citizen identity, in singular events such as Le sommet sur l’engagement, Mai 02 – liberté à la carte and Les Grands Responsables, as well as stagings of seething scripts like Venise-en-Québec (co-produced with Théâtre d’Aujourd’hui), Olivier Choinière’s Autodafé and Terrorisme by the brothers Presnyakov.

Credits

PRODUCED BY THÉÂTRE DU GRAND JOUR

WRITTEN BY ÉTIENNE LEPAGEDIRECTION SYLVAIN BÉLANGERPERFORMED BY PAUL AHMARANI + DENIS GRAVEREAUX SET AND COSTUME DESIGN ROMAIN FABRE SOUND DESIGN LARSEN LUPIN LIGHTING DESIGN ANDRÉ RIOUX

COPRODUCTION FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES

WRITTEN BY PAUL LEFEBVRETRANSLATED BY NEIL KROETSCH

 

SYLVAIN BÉLANGER (MONTRÉAL)

Sisyphus at the End of Utopianism
Born in Montreal in 1972, Sylvain Bélanger studied acting at the National Theatre School of Canada.

Read more

You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

L’enclos de l’éléphant

SYLVAIN BÉLANGER

Cet inconnu qui vient d’arriver chez cet homme, êtes-vous seul à l’observer ? Et cette petite caméra braquée sur vous, qui en regarde l’image ?

Détails

De l’observation des intrus
Le temps d’une averse, un homme confortablement installé chez lui consent à laisser entrer un inconnu. Mais plus ce dernier parle, moins on comprend ce qu’il veut. Ce qui semblait clair devient brusquement trouble. Que peut faire un éléphant contre un moustique ? C’est ce que vous épiez, installé dans un petit théâtre conçu pour vous seul. Mais êtes-vous vraiment seul ? Vous voyez un visage sur un écran de surveillance miniature intégré à votre place. Vous remarquez aussi qu’il y a une micro-caméra… Vous observe-t-on pendant que vous observez ?

Voilà l’inquiétant dispositif fictionnel et théâtral imaginé par le dramaturge Étienne Lepage (Rouge gueule) et le metteur en scène Sylvain Bélanger ; s’y entrechoquent l’insécurité des temps présents et la dérisoire obsession de la surveillance. Bienvenue dans un microcosme : celui où vous êtes seul face aux terreurs sourdes qui sous-tendent votre quotidien.

Le théâtre du Grand Jour / La théâtralité du responsable
Le Théâtre du Grand Jour explore depuis 12 ans les mutations de la responsabilité individuelle dans le contexte actuel de désagrégation de l’identité citoyenne, ce qui s’est autant manifesté par des événements inclassables comme Le sommet sur l’engagement, Mai 02 – liberté à la carte et Les grands responsables que par des lectures minutieuses de textes relevant d’une dramaturgie de la virulence comme Venise-en-Québec (en coproduction avec le Théâtre d’Aujourd’hui) et Autodafé d’Olivier Choinière, ou encore Terrorisme des frères Presnyakov.

Crédits

UN SPECTACLE DE THÉÂTRE DU GRAND JOUR

TEXTE ÉTIENNE LEPAGE MISE EN SCÈNE SYLVAIN BÉLANGERINTERPRÉTATION PAUL AHMARANI + DENIS GRAVEREAUXSCÉNOGRAPHIE ET COSTUMESROMAIN FABRE CONCEPTION SONORE LARSEN LUPINLUMIÈRES ANDRÉ RIOUX

COPRODUCTION FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES

RÉDACTEUR PAUL LEFEBVRE

 

SYLVAIN BÉLANGER (MONTRÉAL)

Sylvain Bélanger / Sisyphe dans la fin des utopies
Né à Montréal en 1972, Sylvain Bélanger a étudié en interprétation à l’École nationale de théâtre du Canada.

En savoir plus