You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

L’HOMME ATLANTIQUE (et La maladie de la mort)

CHRISTIAN LAPOINTE

How does one drag Duras out of her writing? Christian Lapointe puts her – and us – in the spotlight on a film set in order to hear once again what she was like in the beginning.

Details

How to rescue Marguerite Duras from herself? How to sandblast the heavy varnish employed to freeze dry her work and give voice to the radical indecency of her words? In the dizzying density of Duras, something appeals directly to the uncompromising theatre of Christian Lapointe. Both constantly probe the depths between real life and the imagination, between men and women, between what is said and what can be said.

Christian Lapointe pursues his atypical approach in a work where reality destabilizes the theatrical, leading us onto a film set where a disturbing Durassic movie is being improvised. Combining his art with the caustic voice of the celebrated French writer, he places the audience at the centre of a fascinating tale where the howling seas intensify heartrending sexual distress magnified by an impossible love.

CAST CHANGE: ANNE-MARIE CADIEUX IN L’HOMME ATLANTIQUE
The role that was initially to be played by Monia Chokri will be performed by Anne-Marie Cadieux.

Credits

PRODUCED BY THÉÂTRE PÉRIL
WRITTEN BY MARGUERITE DURAS
DIRECTED BY CHRISTIAN LAPOINTE
PERFORMED BY JEAN ALIBERT + ANNE-MARIE CADIEUX + MARIE-THÉRÈSE FORTIN
SET DESIGN JEAN-FRANÇOIS LABBÉ
VIDEO LIONEL ARNOULD
LIGHTING DESIGN MARTIN SIROIS
MUSIC AND SOUND AMBIENCEMATHIEU CAMPAGNA
ASSISTANT DIRECTORALEXANDRA SUTTO
COSTUME DESIGN MYLÈNE CHABROL
DRAMATURGY SOPHIE DEVIRIEUX
VIDEO PROGRAMMING PIERRE-OLIVIER FRÉCHET-MARTIN
TECHNICAL MANAGER MATHIEU THÉBAUDEAU
PRODUCTION MANAGERCATHERINE DESJARDINS-JOLIN

PHOTO AND PROMOTIONAL VIDEOSYLVIO ARRIOLA

PRESENTED IN ASSOCIATION WITH CINQUIÈME SALLE

COPRODUCTION FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES + RECTO-VERSO (QUEBEC) + NATIONAL ART CENTER’S FRENCH THEATER (OTTAWA)
RÉSIDENCE DE CRÉATION / CREATIVE RESIDENCY PLACE DES ARTS

WRITTEN BY PAUL LEFEBVRE
TRANSLATED BY NEIL KROETSCH

PREMIERED IN QUEBEC CITY, MAY 31, 2013

 

CHRISTIAN LAPOINTE (QUÉBEC)
THÉÂTRE PÉRIL

Between Doing and Portraying

Since founding Théâtre Péril in Quebec City in 2000, the writer and director Christian Lapointe has pursued a singular career, creating theatrical objects of demanding density where poetry, death and reality combine to question the existential emptiness of contemporary life. Inspired by the symbolism of William Butler Yeats – his first play was a trilogy consisting of Chien de Culann, Le Seuil du palais du roi (2003) and the triptych Calvaire / Résurrection / Purgatoire under the title Limbes (2009) – and by the textual density and relation to reality found in the work of Samuel Beckett, Lapointe gradually focused his research on the pressures of reality that any form of representation in the theatre demands.

Read more

You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

L’homme Atlantique (et La maladie de la mort)

CHRISTIAN LAPOINTE

Comment extirper Duras de son écriture ? Christian Lapointe braque sur elle — et sur nous — les projecteurs d’un plateau de cinéma pour la faire entendre comme au premier jour.

Détails

Comment arracher Marguerite Duras à elle-même ? Comment décaper son œuvre du vernis minéral avec lequel elle l’a figée et (re)faire entendre la radicale indécence de sa parole ? Or, dans la densité vertigineuse de Duras, quelque chose appelle directement la pratique scénique sans concession de Christian Lapointe : tous deux ne cessent de sonder les gouffres entre le vécu et l’imaginé, entre les hommes et les femmes, entre ce qui est raconté et ce qu’il serait possible de raconter.

Christian Lapointe poursuit sa démarche atypique, manipulant le réel pour déstabiliser le théâtral, et nous entraîne sur un plateau de cinéma où s’improvise un troublant film durassien. Joignant son art à la voix tranchante de l’auteure française, il place le public au centre d’un fascinant récit, où le rugissement de la mer ne cesse d’exacerber une déchirante détresse sexuelle, magnifiée par un impossible amour.

CHANGEMENT DE DISTRIBUTION: ANNE-MARIE CADIEUX DANS L’HOMME ATLANTIQUE
La partition qui devait être initialement défendue par Monia Chokri sera jouée par Anne-Marie Cadieux.

Crédits

UN SPECTACLE DE THÉÂTRE PÉRIL
TEXTES MARGUERITE DURAS
MISE EN SCÈNE CHRISTIAN LAPOINTE
INTERPRÉTATION JEAN ALIBERT + ANNE-MARIE CADIEUX +MARIE-THÉRÈSE FORTIN
SCÉNOGRAPHIE JEAN-FRANÇOIS LABBÉ
VIDÉO LIONEL ARNOULD
LUMIÈRES MARTIN SIROIS
MUSIQUE ET ENVIRONNEMENT SONORE MATHIEU CAMPAGNA
ASSISTANCE À LA MISE EN SCÈNE ALEXANDRA SUTTO
COSTUMES MYLÈNE CHABROL
DRAMATURGIE SOPHIE DEVIRIEUX
PROGRAMMATION DE LOGICIEL VIDÉO PIERRE-OLIVIER FRÉCHET-MARTIN
DIRECTION TECHNIQUE MATHIEU THÉBAUDEAU
DIRECTION DE PRODUCTIONCATHERINE DESJARDINS-JOLIN

PHOTO ET VIDÉO PROMOTIONNELLE SYLVIO ARRIOLA

PRÉSENTATION EN COLLABORATION AVEC CINQUIÈME SALLE

COPRODUCTION FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES + RECTO-VERSO (QUÉBEC) + THÉÂTRE FRANÇAIS DU CENTRE NATIONAL DES ARTS (OTTAWA)
RÉSIDENCE DE CRÉATION PLACE DES ARTS

RÉDACTION PAUL LEFEBVRE
TRADUCTION NEIL KROETSCH

CRÉATION MONDIALE À MONTRÉAL LE 31 MAI 2013
AU CARREFOUR INTERNATIONAL DE THÉÂTRE À QUÉBEC LES 7 ET 8 JUIN

 

CHRISTIAN LAPOINTE (QUÉBEC)
THÉÂTRE PÉRIL

Entre faire et représenter

Depuis la fondation du Théâtre Péril, à Québec, en 2000, l’auteur et metteur en scène Christian Lapointe trace un parcours singulier, créant des objets théâtraux d’une exigeante densité, où la poésie, la mort et le réel se conjuguent pour interroger les manques existentiels du mode de vie contemporain. Inspiré tout autant par le symbolisme de William Butler Yeats — dont il a monté la trilogie du Chien de Culann, son premier spectacle, ainsi que Le seuil du palais du roi (2003) et le triptyque Calvaire, Résurrection et Purgatoire sous le titre Limbes (2009) — que par la densité textuelle et le rapport à la réalité des corps de Samuel Beckett, Lapointe a progressivement orienté sa recherche vers une mise sous tension de la part de réel qu’exige au théâtre tout acte de représentation.

En savoir plus