MILLE ANONYMES

DANIEL DANIS

The “1000 Unknown” are implacable combatants of the everyday. Their words take flight on the poetic gusts of Daniel Danis’ writing. A bold allegory of resistance.

Details

Living Souls
The “1000 Unknown” are unwavering combatants of everyday life, accepting isolation and symbiosis with nature rather than being displaced, their homes razed. The mine is shut down, there are no more jobs, no electricity – so be it, they refuse to be evicted. Their community will not become a ghost town. They will persist. They’re staying, intractable.

The language is brusque, laconic and symbolic, driven aloft like the north wind by the innovative, poetic blasts of the playwright. The bodies, framed by the set design and by close-ups projected on video screens, radiate in the shadows of a dream-like world of echo and evocation.

A powerful voice in contemporary Quebec theatre, Daniel Danis has written and directed this masterly portrait of a threatened society whose eccentric existence is coloured by danger and beauty.

Vision of the Future
The Daniel Danis arts/sciences company was established in 2006, a result of the playwright’s desire to include directing in the creative process initiated by the writing, and to explore the myriad staging possibilities offered by technology. The company’s plays, including La trilogie des flous, Kiwi and Yukie, are veritable artistic laboratories where the barriers dividing cinema, theatre and the visual arts are abolished in order to achieve a beauty of word and image that is both dreamlike and innovative. The company has been in artistic residence at La Caserne in Quebec City since 2009.

Credits

PRODUCED BY COMPAGNIE DANIEL DANIS, ARTS/SCIENCES

WRITTEN AND CREATED BYDANIEL DANIS PERFORMED BYSYLVIO ARRIOLA + FRÉDÉRICK BOUFFARD + JEAN-PIERRE CLOUTIER + MARIANNE MARCEAU + ALEXANDRINE WARRENARTISTIC CONTRIBUTORS LIONEL ARNOULD + NADIA BELLEFEUILLE + STÉPHANE CARON + JEAN-PIERRE CLOUTIER + JEAN-FRANÇOIS LABBÉ + VINCENT LECLERC (ESKI) + VÉRONIQUE MASSÉ + MATHIEU THÉBAUDEAU

COPRODUCTION FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES + LES PRODUCTIONS RECTO-VERSO + EX MACHINA LA CASERNE DALHOUSIE + CARREFOUR INTERNATIONAL DE THÉÂTRE DE QUÉBEC

PRESENTED IN ASSOCATION WITH ESPACE GO

WRITTEN BY SOPHIE POULIOTTRANSLATED BY NEIL KROETSCH

 

DANIEL DANIS (QUÉBEC)

Esteemed Poet
In 1993 Daniel Danis’ first play Celle-là received three prestigious awards and marked the beginning of a prolific and acclaimed career. This playwright, now living in Québec city, has since written a number of other plays, including Cendres de cailloux, Le Langue-à-langue des chiens de roche, Terre océane and last year’s Yukie, not to mention his plays for young audiences such as Kiwi and Bled.

Read more

Mille anonymes

DANIEL DANIS

Les Mille Anonymes sont d’irréductibles combattants du quotidien dont les mots sont portés par le souffle poétique de Daniel Danis. Une audacieuse allégorie de la résistance.

Détails

Les survivants
Les Mille Anonymes sont d’irréductibles combattants du quotidien. Ils osent l’isolement et la symbiose avec la nature plutôt que d’avaliser leur déracinement et d’abdiquer face à l’extinction de leur communauté. Que la mine soit condamnée, qu’il n’y ait plus d’emplois, plus d’électricité, rien ne parvient à les évincer. Leur ville ne sera pas une cité fantôme. Ils persistent. Ils demeurent. Implacables.

Les mots des Mille Anonymes, épars, laconiques, symboliques, sont portés par le souffle poétique et novateur de leur auteur comme par celui du vent du Nord. Leurs corps, découpés par des cadrages scéniques ainsi que par des gros plans projetés sur écrans vidéo, irradient dans la pénombre de cet univers tout en écho, en évocation et en onirisme.

Daniel Danis, l’une des voix les plus singulières du théâtre québécois contemporain, met en scène de façon audacieuse une société menacée dont l’existence originelle est autant exposée à des périls qu’empreinte de beauté.

Scènes du futur
La compagnie Daniel Danis, arts/sciences est née en 2006 du désir de l’auteur Daniel Danis d’inclure la mise en scène dans un processus de création entamé par l’écriture, et cela, en explorant toutes les possibilités scéniques offertes par la technologie. Les spectacles de Daniel Danis, arts/sciences, parmi lesquels La trilogie des flous, Kiwi et Yukie, sont de véritables laboratoires artistiques où les frontières entre cinéma, théâtre et arts visuels sont abolies afin d’atteindre à une beauté des mots et des images à la fois onirique et innovatrice. La compagnie est depuis 2009 en résidence à La Caserne, à Québec.

Crédits

UN SPECTACLE DE COMPAGNIEDANIEL DANIS, ARTS/SCIENCES

TEXTE ET CRÉATION DANIEL DANIS INTERPRÉTATION SYLVIO ARRIOLA + FRÉDÉRICK BOUFFARD + JEAN-PIERRE CLOUTIER + MARIANNE MARCEAU + ALEXANDRINE WARRENPARTICIPATION À LA CRÉATIONLIONEL ARNOULD + NADIA BELLEFEUILLE + STÉPHANE CARON + JEAN-PIERRE CLOUTIER + JEAN-FRANÇOIS LABBÉ + VINCENT LECLERC (ESKI) + VÉRONIQUE MASSÉ + MATHIEU THÉBAUDEAU

COPRODUCTION FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES + LES PRODUCTIONS RECTO-VERSO + EX MACHINA LA CASERNE DALHOUSIE + CARREFOUR INTERNATIONAL DE THÉÂTRE DE QUÉBEC

PRÉSENTATION EN COLLABORATION AVEC ESPACE GO

RÉDACTRICE SOPHIE POULIOT

 

DANIEL DANIS (QUÉBEC)

Le maître des mots
En 1993, la toute première pièce de Daniel Danis, Celle-là, qui remporte trois prestigieux prix, marque le début d’une carrière prolifique et d’une œuvre louangée. L’auteur, aujourd’hui installé à Québec, signe ensuite plusieurs autres textes dont e (un roman dit) (FTA, 2005), Cendres de cailloux, Le langue-à-langue des chiens de roche, Terre océane et, l’an dernier, Yukie, sans compter des créations jeune public, telles que Kiwi et Bled.

En savoir plus