You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

MISFIT BLUES

PAUL-ANDRÉ FORTIER | FORTIER DANSE-CRÉATION

Sublime misfits, Paul-André Fortier and Robin Poitras get wild and silly, appearing in a new light in this bittersweet caricature of the grand human comedy.

Details

LOVE, CLOWNING AND OTHER SILLY ANTICS
Although they’ve been around awhile, they view intimate relations as an equation with several unknowns, except that today there are no limitations to expressing their enthusiasms and their failings. They love each other, good or bad. They sound each other out, challenge each other, know how to manipulate one another. Thick as thieves, they also get bored, enjoy a good laugh, tread delicately between candour and cruelty. Under the ambiguous gaze of coyotes created by the Amerindian artist Edward Poitras, they present tender, perverse, hilarious characters – angelic tramps straight out of a Beckett play or burlesque cinema. Sublime misfits.

After a successful and brilliant career over the past 40 years, the choreographer Paul-André Fortier pursues in Misfit Blues an adventure that began at the FTA in 2008 with Cabane. In this duo with the incandescent Robin Poitras (Bells, FTA 2013), he appears here in a new light in this bittersweet caricature of the grand human comedy.

Credits

PRODUCED BY FORTIER DANSE-CRÉATION
CHOREOGRAPHED BY PAUL-ANDRÉ FORTIER
PERFORMED BY PAUL-ANDRÉ FORTIER + ROBIN POITRAS
ASSISTANT TO CHOREOGRAPHER AND REHEARSAL MISTRESS GINELLE CHAGNON
MUSIC ALEXANDER MACSWEEN
LIGHTING DESIGN JOHN MUNRO
COSTUME DESIGN DENIS LAVOIE
SET DESIGN AND PROPS EDWARD POITRAS

COPRODUCTION FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES + FONDS DE CRÉATION DU RÉSEAU CANDANSE (TORONTO) + CANADA’S NATIONAL ARTS CENTRE (OTTAWA) + BRIAN WEBB DANCE COMPANY (EDMONTON) + CANADA DANCE FESTIVAL (OTTAWA)

PRESENTED IN ASSOCIATION WITH AGORA DE LA DANSE

WRITTEN BY FABIENNE CABADO
T
RANSLATED BY NEIL KROETSCH

THIS WORK IS DEDICATED TO DENIS LAVOIE

WORLD PREMIÈRE AT FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES, MAY 31, 2014

 

PAUL-ANDRÉ FORTIER | FORTIER DANSE-CRÉATION (MONTRÉAL)

Taking Risks
The choreographer, dancer and teacher Paul-André Fortier has created some fifty choreographies to date. The recipient of several awards, including the 2012 Governor General’s Award, this pioneer of Quebec contemporary dance is renowned for the rigour and elegance of his style, his interest in personal and social tensions and his taste for constraints and risk, which were particularly apparent in Solo 30X30 (2006) and in the more performative style of his recent works.

Read more

You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

Misfit Blues

PAUL-ANDRÉ FORTIER | FORTIER DANSE-CRÉATION

Sublimes désaxés, Paul-André Fortier et Robin Poitras lâchent leur fou et se montrent sous un jour nouveau dans cette caricature douce-amère de la grande comédie humaine.

Détails

AMOURS, CLOWNERIES ET AUTRES FOLIES DOUCES
Ils ont beau avoir roulé leur bosse, les relations intimes restent pour eux une équation à plusieurs inconnues. Sauf qu’aujourd’hui, plus rien ne les limite dans l’expression de leurs élans et de leurs travers. Ils s’aiment, bien ou mal. Ils se sondent, se défient, se manipulent. Ils s’ennuient, s’entendent comme larrons en foire, naviguent avec délice entre candeur et cruauté. Sous le regard dubitatif de coyotes créés par le plasticien autochtone Edward Poitras, ils déballent une galerie de personnages tendres, pervers, hilarants. Clochards célestes à la croisée du théâtre de Beckett et du cinéma burlesque. Sublimes désaxés.

Porté par les succès d’une brillante carrière de presque 40 ans, le chorégraphe Paul-André Fortier poursuit avec Misfit Blues l’aventure entamée au FTA en 2008 avec Cabane. En duo avec l’incandescente Robin Poitras (Bells, FTA 2013), il se montre sous un jour nouveau dans cette caricature douce-amère de la grande comédie humaine.

Crédits

UN SPECTACLE DE FORTIER DANSE-CRÉATION
CHORÉGRAPHIE PAUL-ANDRÉ FORTIER
INTERPRÉTATION PAUL-ANDRÉ FORTIER + ROBIN POITRAS
ASSISTANCE À LA CHORÉGRAPHIE ET AUX RÉPÉTITIONS GINELLE CHAGNON
MUSIQUE ALEXANDER MACSWEEN
LUMIÈRES JOHN MUNRO
COSTUMES DENIS LAVOIE
DÉCOR ET ACCESSOIRES EDWARD POITRAS

COPRODUCTION FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES + FONDS DE CRÉATION DU RÉSEAU CANDANSE (TORONTO) + CENTRE NATIONAL DES ARTS DU CANADA (OTTAWA) + BRIAN WEBB DANCE COMPANY (EDMONTON) + FESTIVAL DANSE CANADA (OTTAWA)

PRÉSENTATION EN COLLABORATION AVEC AGORA DE LA DANSE

RÉDACTION FABIENNE CABADO
TRADUCTION NEIL KROETSCH

CETTE OEUVRE EST DÉDIÉE À DENIS LAVOIE
CRÉATION MONDIALE AU FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES, LE 31 MAI 2014

 

PAUL-ANDRÉ FORTIER | FORTIER DANSE-CRÉATION (MONTRÉAL)

Risquer sa peau
Chorégraphe, interprète et pédagogue, Paul-André Fortier a créé à ce jour une cinquantaine d’œuvres. Bardé de prix et de distinctions, dont le prestigieux Prix du Gouverneur général de la réalisation artistique 2012, ce pionnier de la danse contemporaine québécoise se caractérise par la rigueur et l’élégance de son style, un intérêt pour les tensions personnelles ou sociétales et son goût des contraintes et du risque, qui s’est particulièrement exprimé dans Solo 30X30 (2006) et dans l’approche plus performative de ses œuvres récentes.

En savoir plus