You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

NELLA TEMPESTA

ENRICO CASAGRANDE + DANIELA NICOLÒ

After the electrifying Alexis. Una tragedia greca and Too Late! (antigone) presented in 2012, Motus is back in Montreal with theatre designed to trigger new political actions.

Details

During spring 2012, at the height of the city’s civic unrest, the Italian company Motus electrified FTA audiences with Too late! (antigone) contest #2 and Alexis. Una tragedia greca – theatre with explosive political energy. Fascinated by the vitality of a city where protesters marched nightly to change the social order, Motus is returning to Montreal to create and invent a form of theatre that will lead to new political actions. Such is the challenge of this creation based on Shakespeare’s The Tempest and civic movements around the world

“Where is the master?,” cry the panicked passengers. What if this storm was the one that we are currently experiencing, as our unsettled financial economy hurtles us towards the shore? Shipwrecked on an island, surrounded by the debris of globalization and recycled material newly invented by dissident engineers, we find ourselves– actors and audience – invited to join together and build the architectural prototype of an open utopia.

Credits

PRODUCED BY MOTUS
CONCEIVED AND DIRECTED BYENRICO CASAGRANDE + DANIELA NICOLÒ
PERFORMED BY SILVIA CALDERONI + ILENIA CALEO + GLEN ÇAÇI + FORTUNATO LECCESE + PAOLA STELLA MINNI
DRAMATURGY DANIELA NICOLÒ
ASSISTANT DIRECTOR NERINA COCCHI
SOUND AND VIDEO ANDREA GALLO + ALESSIO SPIRLI (AQUA MICANS GROUP)
PHOTO ANDREA GALLO 

PRESENTED IN ASSOCIATION WITH CINQUIÈME SALLE

COPRODUCTION FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES + PARC DE LA VILLETTE (PARIS) + KUNSTENCENTRUM VOORUIT (GAND) + LA COMÉDIE DE REIMS – SCÈNE D’EUROPE + THÉÂTRE NATIONAL DE BRETAGNE (RENNES) + LA FILATURE – SCÈNE NATIONALE (MULHOUSE) + CENTRALE FIES – DRODESERA FESTIVAL (DRO) + FESTIVAL DELLE COLLINE TORINESI (TURIN) + ASSOCIAZIONE CULTURALE DELLO SCOMPIGLIO (VORNO) + L’ARBORETO – TEATRO DIMORA (MONDAINO)
IN ASSOCIATION WITH TEATRO VALLE OCCUPATO (ROME) + ANGELO MAI OCCUPATO (ROME) + MACAO (MILAN) + S.A.L.E. DOCKS (VENISE)
WITH THE SUPPORT OF ERT – EMILIA ROMAGNA TEATRO FONDAZIONE + AMAT + LA MAMA NEW YORK + PROVINCIA DE RIMINI + REGIONE EMILIA-ROMAGNA + MIBAC
CREATIVE RESIDENCY PLACE DES ARTS

WRITTEN BY PAUL LEFEBVRE
TRANSLATED BY ANDRÉE MCNAMARA TAIT

 

ENRICO CASAGRANDE + DANIELA NICOLÒ (RIMINI)
MOTUS

Theatre as a training camp for utopia

The presentation of Too late! (antigone) contest #2 and Alexis. Una tragedia greca during the 2012 FTA while, every night, protesters were transforming the streets of Montreal into roads towards utopia, showed to what extent the Italian company Motus was not only keenly aware of the turmoil of the times, but also an active participant in this movement to resist dehumanization. Founded in 1991, in Rimini, by Enrico Casagrande and Daniela Nicolò, Motus quickly established itself thanks to its unique – active – view of today’s world, its ability to band together artists and stakeholders from various backgrounds, and the protean nature of its artistic endeavours. These, which revolve around theatre, manifest themselves through videos, symposia, architectural essays, installations, performances, workshops, and social actions.

Read more

You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

Nella Tempesta

ENRICO CASAGRANDE + DANIELA NICOLÒ

Après les électrisants Alexis. Una tragedia greca et Too Late! (antigone) présentés en 2012, Motus est de retour à Montréal pour y créer un théâtre déclencheur d’actions politiques nouvelles.

Détails

Au printemps 2012, au plus fort des contestations civiles, la compagnie italienne Motus a électrisé le public du FTA avec Too Late! (antigone) contest #2  et Alexis. Una tragedia greca, du théâtre politique à l’énergie explosive. Fascinée par la vitalité de cette ville où chaque nuit l’on marchait dans les rues pour changer la vie, Motus vient créer à Montréal un théâtre déclencheur d’actions politiques nouvelles. C’est là le pari de cette nouvelle création imaginée à partir de La tempête de Shakespeare et des mouvements sociaux de partout.

« Où est le maître ? », hurlent les passagers en panique. Et si cette tempête était celle que nous traversions en ce moment, alors qu’une économie financière déréglée est en train de tous nous faire sombrer ? Échoués sur une île, entourés de débris de la mondialisation et de matériaux recyclés tout juste inventés par des ingénieurs dissidents, nous voilà invités, acteurs et spectateurs, à construire ensemble concrètement le prototype architectural d’une utopie ouverte.

Crédits

UN SPECTACLE DE MOTUS
CONCEPTION ET MISE EN SCÈNEENRICO CASAGRANDE + DANIELA NICOLÒ
INTERPRÉTATION SILVIA CALDERONI + ILENIA CALEO + GLEN ÇAÇI + FORTUNATO LECCESE + PAOLA STELLA MINNI
DRAMATURGIE DANIELA NICOLÒ

ASSISTANCE À LA MISE EN SCÈNE NERINA COCCHI
SON ET VIDEO ANDREA GALLO + ALESSIO SPIRLI (AQUA MICANS GROUP)
PHOTO ANDREA GALLO

PRÉSENTATION EN COLLABORATION AVECCINQUIÈME SALLE

COPRODUCTION FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES + PARC DE LA VILLETTE (PARIS) + KUNSTENCENTRUM VOORUIT (GAND) + LA COMÉDIE DE REIMS – SCÈNE D’EUROPE + THÉÂTRE NATIONAL DE BRETAGNE (RENNES) + LA FILATURE – SCÈNE NATIONALE (MULHOUSE) + CENTRALE FIES – DRODESERA FESTIVAL (DRO) + FESTIVAL DELLE COLLINE TORINESI (TURIN) + ASSOCIAZIONE CULTURALE DELLO SCOMPIGLIO (VORNO) + L’ARBORETO – TEATRO DIMORA (MONDAINO)
EN COLLABORATION AVECTEATRO VALLE OCCUPATO (ROME) + ANGELO MAI OCCUPATO (ROME) + MACAO (MILAN) + S.A.L.E. DOCKS (VENISE)
AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE ERT – EMILIA ROMAGNA TEATRO FONDAZIONE + AMAT + LA MAMA NEW YORK + PROVINCIA DE RIMINI + REGIONE EMILIA-ROMAGNA + MIBAC
RÉSIDENCE DE CRÉATION PLACE DES ARTS

RÉDACTION PAUL LEFEBVRE

CRÉATION MONDIALE AU FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES, LE 24 MAI 2013

 

ENRICO CASAGRANDE + DANIELA NICOLÒ (RIMINI)
MOTUS

Le théâtre comme camp d’entraînement à l’utopie

La présentation au FTA en 2012 de Too Late! (antigone) contest #2 et d’Alexis. Una tragedia greca, alors que chaque nuit les manifestants transformaient les rues de Montréal en chemins vers les utopies, a révélé à quel point la compagnie italienne Motus était non seulement à l’écoute des effervescences du temps présent, mais était aussi un agent actif de cette résistance à la déshumanisation. Fondée en 1991 par Enrico Casagrande et Daniela Nicolò à Rimini, Motus s’est rapidement fait connaître par son regard singulier — agissant — sur le monde d’aujourd’hui, par sa capacité à rassembler en « bandes » artistes et intervenants d’horizons divers, et par la nature protéiforme de ses manifestations artistiques, lesquelles, autour du théâtre, se déploient en vidéos, symposiums, essais architecturaux, installations, performances, ateliers et actions sociales.

En savoir plus