You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

NEUTRAL HERO

RICHARD MAXWELL

Fascinating musical theatre proclaiming that destiny still exists and that man, like the ancient gods, belongs to eternity.

Details

Immortal Heroes
In a small town in the middle of the United States, life is constricted by the ancient founding myths of humanity, ever repeated. On an empty stage as vast as the big sky of the Midwest, apparently ordinary people play out episodes of their daily lives. They do not speak, but they sing with the disarming sincerity of the guileless. Then something mysterious slowly unfolds, for under the surface of daily life lies the violence of American history and the still festering wounds of the great heroes of antiquity – Gilgamesh, Ulysses, Aeneas – whose terrible struggles we unconsciously repeat. Ten years after the success of House, Richard Maxwell and the New York City Players are back at the FTA with their fascinating theatre without artifice to let us know that destiny still exists, that man belongs to time as the gods to eternity.

NEW YORK CITY PLAYERS – Before Fiction, Reality
The New York City Players – a company that includes both untrained and professional actors – has staged since 1999 some twenty works by Richard Maxwell, including House(presented at the FTA in 2001), Drummer Wanted (2002), Good Samaritans (2004), The End of Reality (2006), Ode to Man Who Kneels (2007), and People Without History (2009). While favouring the narrative form, the company bases its work on the concrete reality of the actor onstage – an unpredictable and ever-changing reality – in an approach that puts into perspective yet also magnifies the fictitious universe played out onstage.

Credits

PRODUCED BY NEW YORK CITY PLAYERS

WRITTEN, DIRECTED AND COMPOSED BY RICHARD MAXWELL WITH LAKPA BHUTIA + JANET COLEMAN + KEITH CONNOLLY + ALEX DELINOIS + BOB FELDMAN + JEAN ANN GARRISH + ROSIE GOLDENSOHN + PAIGE MARTIN + JAMES MOORE + PHILIP MOORE + ANDIE SPRINGER + ANDREW WEISELLSET AND LIGHT DESIGN SASCHA VAN RIEL COSTUME DESIGNKAYE VOYCE DRAMATURGY TOM KING

PRODUCTIONKUNSTENFESTIVALDESARTS (BRUXELLES) COPRODUCTIONFESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES + WIENER FESTWOCHEN + FESTIVAL D’AUTOMNE (PARIS) + LES SPECTACLES VIVANTS – CENTRE POMPIDOU (PARIS) + KAMPNAGEL (HAMBOURG) + HEBBEL AM UFER/HAU (BERLIN) + THÉÂTRE DE L’AGORA + SCÈNE NATIONALE D’EVRY ET DE L’ESSONNE + DE INTERNATIONALE KEUZE VAN DE ROTTERDAMSE SCHOUWBURG + LA BÂTIE – FESTIVAL DE GENÈVE + THÉÂTRE GARONNE (TOULOUSE) SUPPORTED BY THE GREENWALL FOUNDATION

PREMIERED AT KUNSTENFESTIVALDESARTS, BRUXELLES, MAY 2011

WRITTEN BY PAUL LEFEBVRETRANSLATED BY NEIL KROETSCH

 

RICHARD MAXWELL (NEW YORK)

The Discreet Renegade
The playwright and director Richard Maxwell, one of the most remarkable artists in the contemporary theatre, undermines from within the conventions of American theatrical realism in order to create a theatre of the real.

Read more

You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

Neutral Hero

RICHARD MAXWELL

Un fascinant théâtre musical où on nous chante que le destin existe toujours et que l’homme appartient au temps, comme les dieux à l’éternité.

Détails

De l’immortalité des héros
Dans une petite bourgade au milieu des États-Unis, les vieux mythes fondateurs de l’humanité cadenassent la vie, la condamnent à se répéter. Sur une grande scène vide comme le ciel du Midwest, des gens en apparence terriblement ordinaires jouent, sans aucun recours au pittoresque, des épisodes de leur vie quotidienne. Ils ne parlent pas, ils chantent avec cette simplicité désarmante de ceux qui ne connaissent pas l’artifice. Puis quelque chose de mystérieux se déploie lentement : sous leurs anecdotes se profilent les grandes violences de l’histoire américaine, mais surtout, les blessures jamais guéries des grands héros antiques – Gilgamesh, Ulysse, Énée – dont on ne cesse de répéter inconsciemment les cruels combats.

Dix ans après le triomphe de House, Richard Maxwell et la troupe des New York City Players reviennent enfin au FTA avec leur fascinant théâtre du réel à mille lieues du réalisme pour nous raconter que le destin existe toujours et que l’homme appartient au temps, comme les dieux à l’éternité.

NEW YORK CITY PLAYERS – Avant la fiction, le réel
Les New York City Players, qui rassemblent tout autant des comédiens de métier que des acteurs sans formation, ont créé depuis 1999 une vingtaine de spectacles de Richard Maxwell, dont House (présenté au FTA en 2001), Drummer Wanted (2002), Good Samaritans (2004),The End of Reality (2006), Ode to Man Who Kneels (2007) et People Without History (2009). Tout en privilégiant la forme narrative, ils fondent leur travail sur la réalité concrète de l’acteur en scène – cette réalité imprévisible, toujours en mouvance – qui à la fois relativise et magnifie les univers fictifs mis en représentation.

Crédits

UN SPECTACLE DE NEW YORK CITY PLAYERS

TEXTE, MISE EN SCÈNE, COMPOSITION RICHARD MAXWELL AVEC LAKPA BHUTIA + JANET COLEMAN + KEITH CONNOLLY + ALEX DELINOIS + BOB FELDMAN + JEAN ANN GARRISH + ROSIE GOLDENSOHN + PAIGE MARTIN + JAMES MOORE + PHILIP MOORE + ANDIE SPRINGER + ANDREW WEISELLSCÉNOGRAPHIE ET LUMIÈRESSASCHA VAN RIEL COSTUMESKAYE VOYCE DRAMATURGIE TOM KING

PRODUCTIONKUNSTENFESTIVALDESARTS (BRUXELLES) COPRODUCTIONFESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES + WIENER FESTWOCHEN + FESTIVAL D’AUTOMNE (PARIS) + LES SPECTACLES VIVANTS – CENTRE POMPIDOU (PARIS) + KAMPNAGEL (HAMBOURG) + HEBBEL AM UFER/HAU (BERLIN) + THÉÂTRE DE L’AGORA + SCÈNE NATIONALE D’EVRY ET DE L’ESSONNE + DE INTERNATIONALE KEUZE VAN DE ROTTERDAMSE SCHOUWBURG + LA BÂTIE – FESTIVAL DE GENÈVE + THÉÂTRE GARONNE (TOULOUSE) AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE THE GREENWALL FOUNDATION

CRÉATION AU KUNSTENFESTIVALDESARTS DE BRUXELLES EN MAI 2010

RÉDACTEUR PAUL LEFEBVRE

 

RICHARD MAXWELL (NEW YORK)

Le séditieux discret
Le metteur en scène et auteur dramatique Richard Maxwell, l’un des artistes de théâtre les plus singuliers d’aujourd’hui, subvertit de l’intérieur les conventions du réalisme théâtral américain pour créer un théâtre du réel.

En savoir plus