You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

PHÈDRE

JÉRÉMIE NIEL | PÉTRUS

Forbidden passion. A dark enclosed milieu rife with dark compulsions is soon beset by a punitive people. How to escape the gaze of the Other? A modern-day Phaedra, with Marie Brassard in the leading role.

Details

PASSION UNDER SURVEILLANCE
A woman tormented by irrepressible urges. A father and a son both subject to the ravages of passion. A dark enclosed milieu beset by a punitive people. Consumed by forbidden desire, Phèdre falls prey to public condemnation. In a society where everyone spies on everyone else, how to escape the judgement of the crowd? Can our inner turmoil and transgressions be concealed from the gaze of the Other? Nourished by the imaginations of Euripides, Seneca, Racine and Sarah Kane, this powerful reworking of the myth of Phaedra is anchored in the current era, in its zones of uncertainty, its decadence.

After dazzling festivalgoers in 2010 with the pungent poetry of Cendres, the brilliant writer and director Jérémie Niel, a rigorous explorer of the inexpressible, is back with a hypnotic piece. In a setting rife with dark compulsions and by means of words piercing through the silence, the intimate and the social come clashing together.

Credits

PRODUCED BY PÉTRUS
CONCEIVED AND DIRECTED BY JÉRÉMIE NIEL
PERFORMED BY MARIE BRASSARD + BENOÎT LACHAMBRE + EMMANUEL SCHWARTZ + MANI SOLEYMANLOU
MUSIC AND SOUND DESIGN TOMAS FUREY
LIGHTING DESIGN ERWANN BERNARD
SET DESIGN JASMINE CATUDAL
DRAMATURG JESSIE MILL
COSTUME DESIGN RENATA MORALES

COPRODUCTION FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES + THÉÂTRE FRANÇAIS OF THE CANADA’S NATIONAL ARTS CENTRE (OTTAWA)
CREATIVE RESIDENCY CINQUIÈME SALLE

PRESENTED IN ASSOCIATION WITH CINQUIÈME SALLE

WRITTEN BY CATHERINE CYR
TRANSLATED BY NEIL KROETSCH

PREMIERED AT FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES, MAY 26, 2014

 

JÉRÉMIE NIEL | PÉTRUS (MONTRÉAL)

Theatre of the Inexpressible
For the past few years Jérémie Niel has occupied a unique place in the Quebec theatrical landscape. The brilliant writer and director, who studied at the Conservatoire d’art dramatique de Montréal (2002-2003), founded his own production company Pétrus in 2005. He has pursued, within its flexible structure and in a number of striking plays, a rigorous approach of formal exploration that invokes the spectator’s aesthetics and sensorial awareness. Sculpting shadowy light and presenting, in a distended temporality, stunning soundscapes interspersed with silence, he turns each piece into a hypnotic universe suffused with a subdued strangeness. A poet of a quirky, off-beat reality, he endeavours, in probing the underside of words, to reveal the zones of ambiguity and uncertainty that lurk in the human psyche.

Read more

You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

Phèdre

JÉRÉMIE NIEL | PÉTRUS

Une passion interdite, d’irrépressibles pulsions. Un huis clos où, bientôt, s’immisce un peuple punitif. Comment échapper au regard de l’Autre ? Phèdre, aujourd’hui – avec Marie Brassard dans le rôle-titre.

Détails

Une femme, tourmentée par d’irrépressibles pulsions. Un père et un fils, que n’épargnent pas les ravages de la passion. Un sombre huis clos où s’immisce un peuple punitif. Consumée par un désir interdit, Phèdre est la proie du jugement collectif. Dans une société où l’on s’épie en permanence, comment échapper à la condamnation populaire ? Nos tumultes intérieurs et nos dérapages peuvent-ils se soustraire au regard de l’Autre ? Irriguée par les imaginaires d’Euripide, Sénèque, Racine et Sarah Kane, cette puissante réécriture du mythe de Phèdre s’arrime à l’époque actuelle, à ses zones d’incertitude et à ses dérives.

Après avoir ébloui les festivaliers en 2010 avec la poésie âpre de Cendres, le brillant auteur et metteur en scène Jérémie Niel, rigoureux explorateur de l’indicible, est de retour avec une œuvre hypnotique. Un paysage scénique aux noires pulsations où, à travers les mots qui transpercent le silence, se rencontrent avec fracas l’intime et le social.

Crédits

UN SPECTACLE DE PÉTRUS
CONCEPTION ET MISE EN SCÈNE JÉRÉMIE NIEL
INTERPRÉTATION MARIE BRASSARD + BENOÎT LACHAMBRE + EMMANUEL SCHWARTZ + MANI SOLEYMANLOU
MUSIQUE ET CONCEPTION SONORE TOMAS FUREY
LUMIÈRES ERWANN BERNARD
SCÉNOGRAPHIE JASMINE CATUDAL
DRAMATURGIE JESSIE MILL
COSTUMES RENATA MORALES

COPRODUCTION FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES + THÉÂTRE FRANÇAIS DU CENTRE NATIONAL DES ARTS DU CANADA (OTTAWA)
RÉSIDENCE DE CRÉATION CINQUIÈME SALLE

PRÉSENTATION EN COLLABORATION AVEC CINQUIÈME SALLE

RÉDACTION CATHERINE CYR
TRADUCTION NEIL KROETSCH

CRÉATION MONDIALE AU FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES, LE 26 MAI 2014

 

JÉRÉMIE NIEL | PÉTRUS (MONTRÉAL)

Un théâtre de l’indicible
Depuis quelques années, Jérémie Niel occupe une place à part dans le paysage théâtral québécois. Le brillant auteur et metteur en scène, qui a suivi une formation au Conservatoire d’art dramatique de Montréal (2002-2003), a fondé en 2005 sa propre compagnie de production artistique : Pétrus. Au sein de cette structure souple et au fil de la création d’œuvres scéniques saisissantes, il poursuit une rigoureuse démarche d’exploration formelle où est convoquée la sensorialité du spectateur. Sculptant la pénombre, déployant, dans une temporalité dilatée, de saisissants paysages sonores transpercés de silence, il fait de chaque pièce un univers hypnotique, nimbé d’une douce étrangeté. Poète de la réalité décalée, décentrée, il s’attache à révéler, en sondant l’envers des mots, les zones d’ambiguïté et d’incertitude de la psyché humaine.

En savoir plus