You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

POLYGLOTTE

OLIVIER CHOINIÈRE + ALEXIA BÜRGER | L'ACTIVITÉ

By means of a language class and a citizenship test, immigrants will be your guide as you make your way in a country where the foreigner is… you.

Details

O CANADA
A sharp eye, acerbic humour. Olivier Choinière, who delighted the FTA in 2012 with Chante avec moi, examines, as only he can, the embarrassing discrepancy between reality and the fantasized image we project of our country. Twisting the codes of both theatre and the photo story, this essential figure of Quebec theatre is joined onstage by Quebec actors and immigrant non-actors who, armed with recordings of conversations from the 1960s, confront the audience with the contradictions and paradoxes of a Canadian Quebec in 2015.

You are no longer a spectator. You are an immigrant about to pass a citizenship test. You will discover your country, its climate, its politics, its architecture, its codes of courtesy and its bafflegab. In Polyglotte, people termed foreigners or outsiders – even though they are part of us – seize the tools in the arsenal that we use to mold them into good Canadians and turn them against our comfort and our good intentions. Brilliantly malicious.

Credits

CREDITS
PRODUCED BY L’ACTIVITÉ
WRITTEN, EDITED AND CO-DIRECTED BY OLIVIER CHOINIÈRE
CO-DIRECTED BY ALEXIA BÜRGER
PERFORMED BY GERMAN BARRAGAN + TATIANA BURTIN + MIRLANDE FLEURIOT + MONDIANA FRANÇOIS + SAMIRA GHORBANI + MAHMOUD SHAWKY HAMED ALI + NGA (AMY) PHAN + AMGAD HABIB RAOUF GERGES SOLIMAN + PAMELA ROBERTSON + MIREILLE TAWFIK + FARLENE THELISDORT
STAGE, COSTUME AND PROPS DESIGN ELEN EWING
LIGHTING DESIGN AND VIDEO GONZALO SOLDI
SOUND DESIGN ÉRIC FORGET
ASSISTANT DIRECTOR CAMILLE GASCON

COPRODUCTION FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES

WRITTEN BY PAUL LEFEBVRE
TRANSLATED BY NEIL KROETSCH

PREMIERED AT FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES, MONTREAL, ON MAY 31, 2015

 

OLIVIER CHOINIÈRE + ALEXIA BÜRGER | L'ACTIVITÉ (Montreal)

THEATRE AS A MACHINE TO BE DECIPHERED
Interested in the invisible codes that are a consequence of suppressing the past or of mass culture, and their attendant social and political conditioning, the writer and director Olivier Choinière seeks to upend these familiar forms so as to reveal to spectators the filters that prevent us from accessing the present and our true selves.

Read more

You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

Polyglotte

OLIVIER CHOINIÈRE + ALEXIA BÜRGER | L'ACTIVITÉ

Bienvenue dans votre pays où l’étranger, c’est vous. Cours de langue et test de citoyenneté à l’appui.

Détails

Ô CANADA
Regard acéré, humour acerbe. Olivier Choinière, qui a réjoui le FTA en 2012 avec Chante avec moi, examine, comme lui seul sait le faire, le décalage gênant entre l’image fantasmée que nous projetons de notre pays et la réalité. Détournant les codes du théâtre et du photo-roman, cet agitateur essentiel du théâtre québécois s’adjoint comme complices des acteurs québécois et des non-acteurs immigrants qui, armés de disques de conversations des années 1960, vous confrontent aux contradictions et aux paradoxes du Québec canadien de 2015.

Vous n’êtes plus un spectateur ; vous êtes un immigrant venu passer un examen de citoyenneté. Vous (re)découvrez votre pays, son climat, sa politique, son architecture, ses codes de politesse et… sa langue de bois. Car, dans Polyglotte, ceux qu’on qualifie d’étrangers — alors qu’ils sont des nôtres —, s’emparent de tout l’arsenal que nous utilisons pour les formater en bons Canadiens et le retournent contre notre confort et nos bons sentiments. Brillamment malicieux.

Crédits

CRÉDITS
UN SPECTACLE DE L’ACTIVITÉ
TEXTE, MONTAGE ET COMISE EN SCÈNE OLIVIER CHOINIÈRE
COMISE EN SCÈNE ALEXIA BÜRGER
INTERPRÉTATION GERMAN BARRAGAN + TATIANA BURTIN + MIRLANDE FLEURIOT + MONDIANA FRANÇOIS + SAMIRA GHORBANI + MAHMOUD SHAWKY HAMED ALI + NGA (AMY) PHAN + AMGAD HABIB RAOUF GERGES SOLIMAN + PAMELA ROBERTSON + MIREILLE TAWFIK + FARLENE THELISDORT
DÉCOR, COSTUMES ET ACCESSOIRES ELEN EWING
LUMIÈRES ET VIDÉO GONZALO SOLDI
CONCEPTION SONORE ÉRIC FORGET
ASSISTANCE À LA MISE EN SCÈNE CAMILLE GASCON

COPRODUCTION FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES

RÉDACTION PAUL LEFEBVRE
TRADUCTION NEIL KROETSCH

CRÉATION AU FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES, MONTRÉAL, LE 31 MAI 2015

 

OLIVIER CHOINIÈRE + ALEXIA BÜRGER | L'ACTIVITÉ (Montréal)

LE THÉÂTRE COMME MACHINE À DÉCODER
Préoccupé par les codes invisibles nés d’un refoulement du passé ou de la culture de masse, lesquels conditionnent le social, le politique et l’intime, l’auteur et metteur en scène Olivier Choinière s’applique dans ses œuvres à détourner des formes familières afin de révéler au spectateur les filtres qui l’empêchent d’avoir accès à lui-même et à la réalité dans laquelle il évolue.

En savoir plus