You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

POROROCA

LIA RODRIGUES

An unceasing swell of eleven dancers splashes the stage with raw beauty fed by rage, hope and animality. A wonderful metaphor for the clash of differences.

Details

Water Bomb
Pororoca means tidal bore, the powerful ebb and flow of the dramatic encounter that occurs when the roaring waters of the Amazon charge into the ocean currents of the Atlantic. For Lia Rodrigues it is a metaphor for the collision of differences. She creates an unceasing swell onstage, a spirited, multicoloured wave of 11 dancers, a fluid mass of compact energy that swells, rolls, crashes and re-forms in a new embrace of the body, rising and breaking before returning to a brief lull, hovering on the tipping point that will transform chaos into harmony. The movement is vigorous, the breathing raucous as the characters strive for position amidst bodies scraping together. To be, to be together – an eternal challenge.

After spattering the Festival stage with ketchup blood in incarnat (2007), the Brazilian choreographer will be dousing it with raw beauty fed by rage, hope and animality and all in total silence, an exceptionally eloquent silence.

Lia Rodrigues Companhia de Danças, Art and Society
Founded in a favela in 1990, the company has a twofold mission – to stimulate reflection and discussion through dance pieces, and to fight against poverty and marginalization by means of social action and outreach projects, one of which led recently to the training and hiring of three new dancers. Inspired by contemporary reality, her pieces serve both as a release and as a call for change. Combining performance art and dance, Ce dont nous sommes faitsemphasized the universal need for peace and tenderness. Incarnat dealt with the feelings aroused by the suffering of others, and Pororoca invites us to accept those who are different.

Credits

PRODUCED BY LIA RODRIGUES COMPANHIA DE DANÇAS

CREATION LIA RODRIGUESCREATED AND PERFORMED BYJAMIL CARDOSO + FRANCISCO CAVALCANTI + THAIS GALLIAC + ANA PAULA KAMOZAKI + LIDIA LARANGEIRA + AMÁLIA LIMA + GABRIELE NASCIMENTO + CALIXTO NETO + LEONARDO NUNES + PAULA DE PAULA + BRUNA THIMOTHEO ARTISTIC CONTRIBUTORS ALLYSON AMARAL + CAROLINA CAMPOS + VOLMIR CORDEIRO + PRISCILL A MAIA + CLARISS A REGODRAMATURGY SILVIA SOTERCOSTUME DESIGN JOÃO SALDANHA + MARCELO BRAGALIGHTING DESIGN NICOLAS BOUDIER

COPRODUCTION CENTRE NATIONAL DE DANSE CONTEMPORAINE (ANGERS) + THÉÂTRE LE QUAI WITH THÉÂTRE JEAN VILAR (VITRY-SUR-SEINE) + THÉÂTRE DE LA VILLE – FESTIVAL D’AUTOMNE (PARIS) + KUNSTENFESTIVALD ESARTS (BRUXELLES)

WITH THE PARTNERSHIP OFREDES DE DESENVOLVIMENTO DA MARÉ WITH THE SUPPORT OFESPAÇO SESC (RIO DE JANEIRO) + FONDATION PRINCE CLAUS POUR LA CULTURE ET LE DÉVELOPPEMENT + PETROBRÁS

PREMIERED AT THEATRE LE QUAI, PARIS, NOVEMBER 2009

WRITTEN BY FABIENNE CABADOTRANSLATED BY NEIL KROETSCH

 

LIA RODRIGUES (RIO DE JANEIRO)

Lia Rodrigues, Artist and Activist
Without the festival that Lia Rodrigues founded and has been directing for the past 13 years, Brazilian contemporary dance would not be what it is today, and the sprawling favela in the heart of Rio would not be the same had she not created a dance company and a performance centre there.

Read more

You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

Pororoca

LIA RODRIGUES

Onze danseurs agitent la scène d’une houle incessante et l’éclaboussent d’une beauté crue nourrie de rage, d’espoir et d’animalité. Une magnifique métaphore de la rencontre des différences.

Détails

Les eaux de Babel
Pororoca
. Le mot désigne le puissant corps à corps entre les flots rugissants de l’Amazone et les courants de l’océan Atlantique où il se jette. Pour Lia Rodrigues, il devient métaphore de la rencontre des différences. Elle agite la scène d’une houle incessante, dresse ses 11 danseurs en une fougueuse vague multicolore, masse fluide d’énergie compacte qui se gonfle, roule, se brise et se reforme dans une nouvelle étreinte des corps. Un nouveau choc avant la prochaine accalmie. Une nouvelle tentative de trouver le point de bascule qui va transformer le chaos en harmonie. Les gestes sont nerveux ; les souffles, rauques. Trouver sa place dans le frottement des chairs. Être. Être ensemble. Un défi de toujours.

Après avoir maculé le Festival du sang-ketchup d’Incarnat (2007), la chorégraphe brésilienne vient l’éclabousser d’une beauté crue nourrie de rage, d’espoir et d’animalité. Une fois encore, dans le silence le plus total. Un silence d’une rare éloquence.

Lia Rodrigues Companhia de Danças, art et société
Fondée en 1990 dans une favela, cette compagnie a la double mission de susciter la réflexion par ses créations, et de lutter contre la pauvreté et l’exclusion par de multiples projets d’action sociale, l’un d’eux ayant débouché sur l’intégration de trois nouveaux danseurs. Toujours inspirées de réalités contemporaines, les œuvres qu’elle produit sont à la fois des exutoires et des appels au changement. À la croisée de la performance et de la danse, Ce dont nous sommes faits soulignait l’universel besoin de paix et de tendresse, Incarnat traitait du sentiment face à la douleur des autres et Pororoca invite à accepter la différence.

Crédits

UN SPECTACLE DE LIA RODRIGUES COMPANHIA DE DANÇAS

CRÉATION LIA RODRIGUESCRÉATION ET INTERPRÉTATIONJAMIL CARDOSO + FRANCISCO CAVALCANTI + THAIS GALLIAC + ANA PAULA KAMOZAKI + LIDIA LARANGEIRA + AMÁLIA LIMA + GABRIELE NASCIMENTO + CALIXTO NETO + LEONARDO NUNES + PAULA DE PAULA + BRUNA THIMOTHEOPARTICIPATION À LA CRÉATIONALLYSON AMARAL + CAROLINA CAMPOS + VOLMIR CORDEIRO + PRISCILL A MAIA + CLARISS A REGO DRAMATURGIE SILVIA SOTER COSTUMES JOÃO SALDANHA + MARCELO BRAGALUMIÈRES NICOLAS BOUDIER

COPRODUCTION CENTRE NATIONAL DE DANSE CONTEMPORAINE (ANGERS) + THÉÂTRE LE QUAI AVECTHÉÂTRE JEAN VILAR (VITRY-SUR-SEINE) + THÉÂTRE DE LA VILLE – FESTIVAL D’AUTOMNE (PARIS) + KUNSTENFESTIVALD ESARTS (BRUXELLES)

AVEC LE PARTENARIAT DE REDES DE DESENVOLVIMENTO DA MARÉAVEC LE SOUTIEN DE ESPAÇO SESC (RIO DE JANEIRO) + FONDATION PRINCE CLAUS POUR LA CULTURE ET LE DÉVELOPPEMENT + PETROBRÁS

CRÉATION AU THEATRE LE QUAI, PARIS, EN NOVEMBRE 2009

RÉDACTRICE FABIENNE CABADO

 

LIA RODRIGUES (RIO DE JANEIRO)

Lia Rodrigues, l’engagement comme credo
Sans le festival que Lia Rodrigues a fondé et dirigé pendant 13 ans, la danse contemporaine brésilienne ne serait pas ce qu’elle est aujourd’hui.

En savoir plus