You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.
Matija Ferlin: SAD SAM/ALMOST 6, premiera 30.1.2009, Stara mestna Elektrarna; produkcija Emanat

SAD SAM ALMOST 6

MATIJA FERLIN | EMANAT INSTITUTE

In this disturbing plunge into the world of childhood, play serves as a means of release and of exorcising demons. A subtle piece by a dynamic emerging artist in the Balkan avant-garde.

Details

IN ALL INNOCENCE
Totally absorbed by his game, a child teaches a class to a horde of animal figurines, giving them orders, encouraging them, snubbing them. He exercises his control with authoritarian outbursts and soothing speeches, and exorcises his fears using paper costumes. Slowly trouble insinuates itself into this childhood scene. The tender blond head is supplanted by a cruel despot; the happy-go-lucky attitude gives way to anxiety, the situation now precarious. Growing up is not easy. The world of adults is maybe not so idyllic after all.

A dynamic emerging performance artist in the Balkan avant-garde, Matija Ferlin conveys with impressive fidelity the discrepancy between a child’s viewpoint and that of an adult in Sad Sam Almost 6, questioning our perception of the world. This subtle, disturbing piece stands in sharp contrast to Sad Sam Lucky, another solo work presented at the Festival.

Credits

PRODUCED BY EMANAT INSTITUTE + FERLIN D.O.O
CREATED AND PERFORMED BY MATIJA FERLIN
DRAMATURG KATJA PRAZNIK
SET DESIGN ARTIKL + SILVIO ŽIVKOVIĆ
COSTUME DESIGN ARTIKL
LIGHTING DESIGN SAŠA FISTRIĆ + URŠKA VOHAR

COPRODUCTION CHEZ BUSWICK (NEW YORK) + BUNKER – THE OLD POWER STATION ELEKTRO (LJUBLJANA)
WITH THE FINANCIAL SUPPORT OF ISTRIA REGION + MINISTRY OF CULTURE (SLOVENIA) AND THE SUPPORT OF TANZQUARTIER WIEN + KULTURKONTAKT AUSTRIA THROUGH ITS PROGRAM ARTIST-IN-RESIDENCE

PRESENTED IN ASSOCIATION WITH MONUMENT-NATIONAL

WRITTEN BY FABIENNE CABADO
TRANSLATED BY NEIL KROETSCH

PREMIERED AT STARA MESTNA ELEKTRARNA, ELEKTRO LJUBLJANA, JANUARY 30, 2009

 

MATIJA FERLIN | EMANAT INSTITUTE (PULA)

Free and Unruly Electron
A dynamic emerging artist from the Balkans, Matija Ferlin is an unclassifiable artist whose work is characterized by an interdisciplinary approach and atypical experience. Trained in media and graphic arts, theatre and dance, he lived in Amsterdam and Berlin before returning to Croatia where he was born in 1982. In addition to creating his own work, he also collaborates with other artists from diverse backgrounds, working as a performer, actor or artistic consultant. He has worked with the German artist Sasha Waltz, the Canadian Ame Henderson (he was a member of the cast of /Dance/Songs/, FTA 2009 and created with her The Most Together We’ve Ever Been), the Quebecer Luc Dunberry and the Slovene Maja Delak, the founder of the Emanat Institute for the Affirmation and Development of Dance and Contemporary Art in Ljubljana, which has presented his works.

Read more

You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.
Matija Ferlin: SAD SAM/ALMOST 6, premiera 30.1.2009, Stara mestna Elektrarna; produkcija Emanat

Sad Sam Almost 6

MATIJA FERLIN | EMANAT INSTITUTE

Une plongée troublante dans l’univers de l’enfance, où le jeu sert d’exutoire et d’exorcisme. L’œuvre subtile d’une figure à découvrir de l’avant-garde performative balkanique.

Détails

EN TOUTE INNOCENCE
Totalement absorbé par son jeu, un enfant fait la classe à une horde de figurines d’animaux. Il les commande, les encourage, les rabroue. Il exerce son contrôle à coups de crises d’autorité et de discours lénifiants, exorcise ses peurs sous des costumes de papier. Lentement, le trouble s’insinue dans cette scène enfantine. Un cruel despote supplante la tendre tête blonde, l’insouciance commence à transpirer l’angoisse et l’on ne sait plus trop sur quel pied danser. Mûrir n’est pas facile. Finalement, l’univers des grands n’est peut-être pas si idyllique…

Figure à découvrir de l’avant-garde performative balkanique, Matija Ferlin transcrit avec une impressionnante justesse le décalage entre un regard d’enfant et celui d’un adulte dans Sad Sam Almost 6, questionnant du même coup notre perception du monde. Une œuvre subtile et dérangeante, en contraste total avec Sad Sam Lucky, autre solo présenté au Festival.

Crédits

UN SPECTACLE DE EMANAT INSTITUTE + FERLIN D.O.O
CRÉATION ET INTERPRÉTATION MATIJA FERLIN
DRAMATURGIE KATJA PRAZNIK
SCÉNOGRAPHIE ARTIKL + SILVIO ŽIVKOVIĆ
COSTUMES ARTIKL
LUMIÈRES SAŠA FISTRIĆ + URŠKA VOHAR
COPRODUCTION CHEZ BUSWICK (NEW YORK) + BUNKER – THE OLD POWER STATION ELEKTRO (LJUBLJANA)
AVEC LE SOUTIEN FINANCIER DE ISTRIA REGION + MINISTÈRE DE LA CULTURE (SLOVÉNIE) ET LE SOUTIEN DE TANZQUARTIER WIEN + KULTURKONTAKT AUSTRIA DANS LE CADRE DU PROGRAMME ARTIST-IN-RESIDENCE

PRÉSENTATION EN COLLABORATION AVEC MONUMENT-NATIONAL

RÉDACTION FABIENNE CABADO
TRADUCTION NEIL KROETSCH

CRÉATION AU STARA MESTNA ELEKTRARNA, ELEKTRO LJUBLJANA, LE 30 JANVIER 2009

 

MATIJA FERLIN | EMANAT INSTITUTE (PULA)

Électron libre et indiscipliné
Figure émergente de la scène des Balkans, Matija Ferlin est un artiste inclassable parce qu’il est pétri de transdisciplinarité et d’expériences atypiques. Formé en arts graphiques et médiatiques, en théâtre et en danse, il a vécu à Amsterdam et à Berlin avant de revenir en Croatie où il est né en 1982. En parallèle à ses créations personnelles, il se nourrit de nombreuses collaborations, à titre de performeur, d’acteur ou de conseiller artistique, avec des créateurs d’horizons très variés, parmi lesquels l’Allemande Sasha Waltz, la Canadienne Ame Henderson (il était de la distribution de Dance/Songs, FTA 2009 et a créé avec elle The Most Together We’ve Ever Been), le Québécois Luc Dunberry et la Slovène Maja Delak, fondatrice d’EMANAT Institut pour l’affirmation et le développement de la danse et de l’art contemporain, établi à Ljubljana et producteur de ses œuvres.

En savoir plus