You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.
Matija Ferlin: SAD SAM LUCKY, Ljubljana, april 2012

SAD SAM LUCKY

MATIJA FERLIN | EMANAT INSTITUTE

An extraordinary, explosive encounter between a performer and a dead poet. Forthright physicality and words brimming with fire. A unique work fresh from the Balkans.

Details

ALTER EGOS
“Now I am” is the English translation of the Croatian term Sad Sam. Lucky is Srečko – Srečko Kosovel, the “Slovenian Rimbaud” who died in 1926 at age 22. A visionary poet, his confessional poetry rips through the veil of time to tune into the frequency of the performer Matija Ferlin in a meeting of soul mates, a conversation in the invisible. The poet is brought to life by means of a writing table, piles of paper and the body of the dancer-actor who energetically revives his deconstructed poetry in a fragmented dance that hovers between explosion and restraint. Remarkable, forthright physicality, words brimming with fire in a mystical solo-duo, stormy and physical.

Anchored in his culture and in the extremely contemporary nature of the unruly arts, Matija Ferlin will be presenting at the Festival two very dissimilar works of his Sad Sam series. A unique opportunity to discover one of the most promising Balkan artists, and to take the measure of the powerful impact of his extraordinary presence.

Credits

PRODUCED BY EMANAT INSTITUTE
CHOREOGRAPHED AND PERFORMED BY MATIJA FERLIN
ORIGINAL TEXTS SREČKO KOSOVEL AND OTHER TEXTS MATIJA FERLIN
DRAMATURG GORAN FERČEC
SET DESIGN MAURICIO FERLIN
MUSIC LUKA PRINČIČ

COPRODUCTION RENCONTRES CHORÉGRAPHIQUES INTERNATIONALES DE SEINE-SAINT-DENIS + CENTRE NATIONAL DE LA DANSE (PANTIN)
IN PARTNERSHIP WITH BUNKER – THE OLD POWER STATION ELEKTRO (LJUBLJANA) + FESTIVAL OF DANCE AND NON-VERBAL THEATRE (SAN VINCENTI) AND WITH THE FINANCIAL SUPPORT OF MINISTRY OF EDUCATION, SCIENCE, CULTURE AND SPORT OF REPUBLIC OF SLOVENIA + ZAGREB DANCE CENTER + MUNICIPALITY OF LJUBLJANA + MUNICIPALITY OF PULA

PRESENTED IN ASSOCIATION WITH MONUMENT-NATIONAL

WRITTEN BY FABIENNE CABADO
TRANSLATED BY NEIL KROETSCH

PREMIERED AT ZAGREBAČKI PLESNI CENTAR, ZAGREB, APRIL 19, 2012

 

MATIJA FERLIN | EMANAT INSTITUTE (PULA)

A dynamic emerging artist from the Balkans, Matija Ferlin is an unclassifiable artist whose work is characterized by an interdisciplinary approach and atypical experience. Trained in media and graphic arts, theatre and dance, he lived in Amsterdam and Berlin before returning to Croatia where he was born in 1982. In addition to creating his own work, he also collaborates with other artists from diverse backgrounds, working as a performer, actor or artistic consultant. He has worked with the German artist Sasha Waltz, the Canadian Ame Henderson (he was a member of the cast of /Dance/Songs/, FTA 2009 and created with her The Most Together We’ve Ever Been), the Quebecer Luc Dunberry and the Slovene Maja Delak, the founder of the Emanat Institute for the Affirmation and Development of Dance and Contemporary Art in Ljubljana, which has presented his works.

Read more

You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.
Matija Ferlin: SAD SAM LUCKY, Ljubljana, april 2012

Sad Sam Lucky

MATIJA FERLIN | EMANAT INSTITUTE

L’insolite et explosive rencontre du performeur Matija Ferlin et d’un Rimbaud slovène aujourd’hui disparu. Un solo-duo physique et turbulent. Une signature unique venue droit des Balkans.

Détails

« Maintenant, je suis ». Traduction de Sad Sam du croate au français. Lucky veut dire Srečko. Srečko Kosovel, « Rimbaud slovène », mort à 22 ans en 1926. Auteur d’avant-garde dont le verbe puissant déchire le voile du temps pour se brancher sur la fréquence du performeur Matija Ferlin. Rencontre de deux âmes sœurs. Conversation dans l’invisible. Le poète s’incarne dans une table d’écriture, des piles de papier et dans le corps du danseur-acteur qui rebondit vigoureusement sur sa poésie déconstruite. Danse fragmentée entre explosion et retenue. Corporéité crue, insolite, et parole de feu pour un solo-duo mystique, physique et turbulent.

Ancré dans sa culture et dans l’extrême contemporanéité des arts indisciplinés, Matija Ferlin prend l’affiche du Festival avec deux œuvres très dissemblables de la série Sad Sam. Une occasion unique de découvrir l’une des griffes les plus prometteuses des Balkans et de mesurer la puissance d’impact de son extraordinaire présence.

Crédits

UN SPECTACLE DE EMANAT INSTITUTE
CHORÉGRAPHIE ET INTERPRÉTATION MATIJA FERLIN
TEXTES ORIGINAUX SREČKO KOSOVEL ET AUTRES TEXTES MATIJA FERLIN
DRAMATURGIE GORAN FERČEC
SCÉNOGRAPHIE MAURICIO FERLIN
MUSIQUE LUKA PRINČIČ

COPRODUCTION RENCONTRES CHORÉGRAPHIQUES INTERNATIONALES DE SEINE-SAINT-DENIS + CENTRE NATIONAL DE LA DANSE (PANTIN)
EN PARTENARIAT AVEC BUNKER – THE OLD POWER STATION ELEKTRO (LJUBLJANA) + FESTIVAL OF DANCE AND NON-VERBAL THEATRE (SAN VINCENTI) ET AVEC LE SOUTIEN FINANCIER DE MINISTÈRE DE L’ÉDUCATION, DE LA SCIENCE, DE LA CULTURE ET DU SPORT DE LA RÉPUBLIQUE DE SLOVÉNIE +ZAGREB DANCE CENTER + MUNICIPALITÉ DE LJUBLJANA + MUNICIPALITÉ DE PULA

PRÉSENTATION EN COLLABORATION AVEC MONUMENT-NATIONAL

RÉDACTION FABIENNE CABADO
TRADUCTION NEIL KROETSCH

CRÉATION AU ZAGREBAČKI PLESNI CENTAR, ZAGREB, LE 19 AVRIL 2012

 

MATIJA FERLIN | EMANAT INSTITUTE (PULA)

Électron libre et indiscipliné
Figure émergente de la scène des Balkans, Matija Ferlin est un artiste inclassable parce qu’il est pétri de transdisciplinarité et d’expériences atypiques. Formé en arts graphiques et médiatiques, en théâtre et en danse, il a vécu à Amsterdam et à Berlin avant de revenir en Croatie où il est né en 1982. En parallèle à ses créations personnelles, il se nourrit de nombreuses collaborations, à titre de performeur, d’acteur ou de conseiller artistique, avec des créateurs d’horizons très variés, parmi lesquels l’Allemande Sasha Waltz, la Canadienne Ame Henderson (il était de la distribution de /Dance/Songs/, FTA 2009 et a créé avec elle The Most Together We’ve Ever Been), le Québécois Luc Dunberry et la Slovène Maja Delak, fondatrice d’Emanat Institute, institut pour l’affirmation et le développement de la danse et de l’art contemporain, établi à Ljubljana et producteur de ses œuvres.

En savoir plus