You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

SNAKESKINS

BENOÎT LACHAMBRE | PAR B.L.EUX

The magnetic Benoît Lachambre performs unsettling rites of passage in a hallucinatory landscape. A “fake solo” of spectacular intensity.

Details

DEATHS AND REBIRTHS
Long cables stretch in converging lines toward infinity, toward the mystery of origins and the future in a hallucinatory landscape where the magnetic Benoît Lachambre performs unsettling rites of passage. He is a feathered serpent, a superhero in latex, a majestic eagle, a surly panhandler or an insect trapped in a spider’s web, shedding layers and changing character with impressive agility. Sculpted by invisible forces, assailed by drizzle and sound storms orchestrated live by musician Hahn Rowe, his body is the vessel for a sensory voyage that subtly deforms the framework of reality.

In 2013 the resounding success of Snakeskins led to the prestigious Montreal Dance Prize awarded to Benoît Lachambre for his exceptional contribution to choreography. An insatiable pioneer exploring the territories of the body, he is back at the FTA for the fifth time with this “fake solo”, accompanied by the performer Daniele Albanese. Spectacularly intense.

Credits

PRODUCED BY PAR B.L.EUX
CREATED, CHOREOGRAPHED AND PERFORMED BY BENOÎT LACHAMBRE WITH THE CONTRIBUTION OF DANIELE ALBANESE
SET DESIGN BENOÎT LACHAMBRE + PHILIPPE DUPEYROUX + YVES GODIN
MUSIC COMPOSED AND PERFORMED LIVE BY HAHN ROWE
ARTISTIC ASSISTANTS DANIELE ALBANESE + HANNA HEDMAN
COSTUME DESIGN AND PROPS ALEXANDRA BERTAUT
LIGHTING DESIGN YVES GODIN
PHOTOGRAPHER CHRISTINE ROSE DIVITO

COPRODUCTION KUNSTENFESTIVALDESARTS (BRUSSELS) + PACT ZOLLVEREIN – CHOREOGRAPHISCHES ZENTRUM NRW (ESSEN) + ATELIER DE PARIS-CAROLYN CARLSON ET CDC PARIS RÉSEAU – CENTRE DE DÉVELOPPEMENT CHORÉGRAPHIQUE (ATELIER DE PARIS-CAROLYN CARLSON + L’ÉTOILE DU NORD + MICADANSES – ADDP + STUDIO LE REGARD DU CYGNE-AMD XXE) + SNDO (AMSTERDAM) + LA BÂTIE (GENEVA) + MUSÉE DE LA DANSE – CENTRE CHORÉGRAPHIQUE NATIONAL DE RENNES ET DE BRETAGNE
WITH THE SUPPORT OF THÉÂTRE DE LA BASTILLE (PARIS) + VILLE DE PARIS THROUGH ITS PROGRAM OF RESIDENCY AT CITÉ INTERNATIONALE DES ARTS AND THE SPECIAL CONTRIBUTION OF COMPAGNIE STALK (PARMA)

PRESENTED IN ASSOCIATION WITH USINE C
AND WITH THE SUPPORT OF HYDRO-QUÉBEC

WRITTEN BY FABIENNE CABADO
TRANSLATED BY NEIL KROETSCH

WORLD PREMIÈRE AT PACT ZOLLVEREIN, ESSEN, MAY 4, 2012

 

BENOÎT LACHAMBRE | PAR B.L.EUX (Montreal)

Aesthetics of Living
Renowned in Europe, where his workshops on hyper awareness of the senses have been very popular over the past fifteen years, Benoît Lachambre is an avant-garde Quebec dance artist who focuses on presence, body states and a search for authenticity of movement rather than form or style.

Read more

You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

Snakeskins

BENOÎT LACHAMBRE | PAR B.L.EUX

Le magnétique Benoît Lachambre se livre à de troublants rites de passage dans un paysage scénique hallucinatoire. Un « faux solo » d’une spectaculaire intensité.

Détails

DE PETITES MORTS EN RENAISSANCES
De longs cordages s’étirent en point de fuite vers l’infini, vers le mystère des origines et du devenir. Paysage scénique hallucinatoire, où le magnétique Benoît Lachambre se livre à de troublants rites de passage. Serpent à plumes, super héros habillé de latex, aigle majestueux, hargneux clochard ou insecte piégé dans une toile d’araignée, il s’abandonne à une série de mues avec une mobilité impressionnante. Sculpté par d’invisibles forces, traversé par les bruines et orages sonores orchestrés en direct par Hahn Rowe, son corps est le vaisseau d’un voyage sensoriel qui déforme subtilement le cadre du réel.

En 2013, le succès éclatant de Snakeskins a été couronné par le prestigieux Grand Prix de la danse de Montréal, attribué à Benoît Lachambre pour son apport exceptionnel à l’art chorégraphique. Insatiable défricheur des territoires du corps, il revient au FTA pour une cinquième fois avec ce « faux solo » où l’accompagne aussi le performeur Daniele Albanese. D’une spectaculaire intensité.

Crédits

UN SPECTACLE DE PAR B.L.EUX
CONCEPT, CHORÉGRAPHIE ET INTERPRÉTATION BENOÎT LACHAMBRE AVEC LA PARTICIPATION DE DANIELE ALBANESE
SCÉNOGRAPHIE BENOÎT LACHAMBRE + PHILIPPE DUPEYROUX + YVES GODIN
COMPOSITION ET MUSIQUE LIVE HAHN ROWE
ASSISTANCE ARTISTIQUE DANIELE ALBANESE + HANNA HEDMAN
COSTUMES ET ACCESSOIRES ALEXANDRA BERTAUT
LUMIÈRES YVES GODIN
TRAVAIL PHOTOGRAPHIQUE CHRISTINE ROSE DIVITO
COPRODUCTION KUNSTENFESTIVALDESARTS (BRUXELLES) + PACT ZOLLVEREIN – CHOREOGRAPHISCHES ZENTRUM NRW (ESSEN) + ATELIER DE PARIS-CAROLYN CARLSON ET CDC PARIS RÉSEAU – CENTRE DE DÉVELOPPEMENT CHORÉGRAPHIQUE (ATELIER DE PARIS-CAROLYN CARLSON + L’ÉTOILE DU NORD + MICADANSES – ADDP + STUDIO LE REGARD DU CYGNE-AMD XXE) + SNDO (AMSTERDAM) + LA BÂTIE (GENÈVE) + MUSÉE DE LA DANSE – CENTRE CHORÉGRAPHIQUE NATIONAL DE RENNES ET DE BRETAGNE AVEC LE SOUTIEN DU THÉÂTRE DE LA BASTILLE (PARIS) + VILLE DE PARIS DANS LE CADRE DE SON PROGRAMME DE RÉSIDENCE À CITÉ INTERNATIONALE DES ARTS ET LA PARTICIPATION SPÉCIALE DE COMPAGNIE STALK (PARMA)

PRÉSENTATION EN COLLABORATION AVEC USINE C ET AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE HYDRO-QUÉBEC

RÉDACTION FABIENNE CABADO
TRADUCTION NEIL KROETSCH

CRÉATION À PACT ZOLLVEREIN, ESSEN, LE 4 MAI 2012

 

BENOÎT LACHAMBRE | PAR B.L.EUX (Montréal)

L’esthétique du vivant
Fort réputé en Europe où ses ateliers sur l’hyper éveil des sens font fureur depuis une quinzaine d’années, le Québécois Benoît Lachambre s’inscrit à l’avant-garde de la danse qui mise sur la présence, les états de corps et la recherche de l’authenticité du geste, plutôt que sur la forme et la plastique.

En savoir plus