You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.
So Blue, FTA 2013 © André Cornellier

So Blue

LOUISE LECAVALIER

Louise Lecavalier jumps without a net into this choreography, pushing the body to a point of no return. A plunge, in fact a masterstroke.

Details

Swept up in a maelstrom, Lecavalier goes on the attack at almost unbelievable speed to the visceral rhythms of Mercan Dede, the alchemical musician who makes dervishes whirl virtually to a trance. Balancing on the tightrope of her life and yet perfectly in control, she shows what she is capable of and more in a perilous solo, revealing a burning fire within and the very depths of her atomic blue soul. In a flow of movements as fleeting as thoughts she becomes breath, energy, light. And then, under renewed tension, she pits herself against the dancer Frédéric Tavernini in a wild and frantic duo-duel. An intense, cathartic journey.

After Is You Me in 2008, followed by Children and A Few Minutes of Lock, a highlight of the 2010 FTA, Louise Lecavalier jumps without a net into this choreography, pushing the body to a point of no return. A plunge, a magnificent feat, a masterstroke. A must.

Credits

 

PRODUCED BY FOU GLORIEUX
CREATED AND CHOREOGRAPHED BY LOUISE LECAVALIER
PERFORMED BY LOUISE LECAVALIER + FRÉDÉRIC TAVERNINI
REHEARSAL DIRECTOR AND ASSISTANT CHOREOGRAPHFRANCE BRUYÈRE
LIGHTING DESIGN ALAIN LORTIE
MUSIC MERCAN DEDE
ADDITIONAL MUSIC NORMAND-PIERRE BILODEAU + DAFT PUNK + MEIKO KAJI
REMIXING NORMAND-PIERRE BILODEAU + PHILIPPE DUPEYROUX
COSTUME DESIGN YSO
PHOTO ANDRÉ CORNELLIER

COPRODUCTION FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES + TANZHAUS NRW (DÜSSELDORF) + THÉÂTRE DE LA VILLE (PARIS) + HELLERAU (DRESDEN) + NATIONAL ARTS CENTRE (OTTAWA)
CREATIVE RESIDENCY SZENE SALZBOURG

WRITTEN BY ANNE VIAU
TRANSLATED BY NEIL KROETSCH

PREMIERED AT TANZHAUS NRW, DÜSSELDORF, ON DECEMBER 7, 2012

WITH THE SUPPORT OF

Logo Hydro Québec

 

 

 

 

 

LOUISE LECAVALIER (MONTRÉAL)
FOU GLORIEUX

Dance Worker

Louise Lecavalier first danced for Édouard Lock in 1981 in Oranges and proudly wore the colours of La La La Human Steps until 1999. Those were years of a rare intensity marked by works that have since become mythical (Human Sex, New Demons, Infante, 2), complete with scintillating collaborations (David Bowie, Frank Zappa). Committed body and soul to her art, Lecavalier passionately incarnated an extreme dance, striking the imagination of an entire generation. She then pursued, in solo and duo work, her research into the possibilities of movement, strength, lack of constraint and the intelligence of the body, particularly the profoundly human quality underpinning our desire to take flight.

Read more

You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.
So Blue, FTA 2013 © André Cornellier

So Blue

LOUISE LECAVALIER

Louise Lecavalier se lance sans filet dans la chorégraphie et traque le corps jusque dans ses derniers retranchements. Un coup d’essai… un coup de maître.

Détails

Un maelström vous emporte. Lecavalier passe à l’attaque à une vitesse à peine concevable, sur les pulsations viscérales de Mercan Dede, le musicien alchimiste qui fait tourner les derviches jusqu’à la transe. En équilibre sur le fil de sa vie et pourtant parfaitement en contrôle, elle donne sa démesure dans un solo périlleux, dévoilant le feu qui brûle en elle, les abîmes de son âme bleue atomique. En un flux de mouvements vifs comme la pensée, la danseuse devient souffle, énergie, lumière. Puis, sous haute tension, elle se mesure au danseur Frédéric Tavernini dans un duo-duel syncopé, halluciné. Un voyage intense et cathartique.

Après Is You Me en 2008, suivi du doublé Children et A Few Minutes of Lock, temps fort du FTA en 2010, Louise Lecavalier se lance sans filet dans la chorégraphie et traque le corps jusque dans ses derniers retranchements. Un coup d’essai, un coup d’éclat, un coup de maître. Un must.

Crédits

UN SPECTACLE DE FOU GLORIEUX
CONCEPT ET CHORÉGRAPHIELOUISE LECAVALIER
INTERPRÉTATION LOUISE LECAVALIER + FRÉDÉRIC TAVERNINI
ASSISTANTE À LA CHORÉGRAPHIE ET RÉPÉTITRICEFRANCE BRUYÈRE
LUMIÈRES ALAIN LORTIE
MUSIQUE MERCAN DEDE
MUSIQUE ADDITIONNELLENORMAND-PIERRE BILODEAU + DAFT PUNK + MEIKO KAJI
REMIXAGE NORMAND-PIERRE BILODEAU + PHILIPPE DUPEYROUX
COSTUMES YSO
PHOTO ANDRÉ CORNELLIER

COPRODUCTION FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES + TANZHAUS NRW (DÜSSELDORF) + THÉÂTRE DE LA VILLE (PARIS) + HELLERAU (DRESDE) + CENTRE NATIONAL DES ARTS (OTTAWA)

RÉSIDENCE DE CRÉATION SZENE SALZBOURG

RÉDACTION ANNE VIAU
TRADUCTION NEIL KROETSCH

CRÉATION AU TANZHAUS NRW, DÜSSELDORF, LE 7 DÉCEMBRE 2012

AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE

Logo Hydro Québec

 

LOUISE LECAVALIER (MONTRÉAL)
FOU GLORIEUX

Travailleuse de la danse

Louise Lecavalier s’associe à Édouard Lock en 1981 pour la production d’Oranges et portera haut les couleurs de La La La Human Steps jusqu’en 1999. Ces années d’une rare intensité sont jalonnées d’œuvres devenues mythiques, Human Sex, New Demons, Infante, 2, et de rencontres-chocs : David Bowie, Frank Zappa… Investie corps et âme dans son art, Lecavalier a incarné avec passion une danse extrême, marquant l’imaginaire de toute une génération. Depuis, elle poursuit en solo ou en duo sa recherche sur les possibilités du mouvement, la puissance, l’abandon et le raffinement du corps, mais surtout sur l’essence profondément humaine qui sous-tend nos tentatives d’envol.

En savoir plus