You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.
Medial Mirage - Photographie & Kommunikation Kochstraße 132 / Werk II D ? 04277 Leipzig Telefon: 0341. 303 88 80 Mobil: 0172. 292 48 85

SOLENOID

PETER WILLIAM HOLDEN

Transported into the world of the musical via robotics, spectators are encouraged to create choreography for eight tap dancing shoes. Intriguing and stimulating.

Details

Fleet of Foot
An inviting, surprising approach to dance. In the interactive installation SoleNoid, eight tap dancing shoes placed on a machine bedecked with wires kickoff like hoofers in a Busby Berkeley musical. Through the combined magic of computers and machinery, the shoes spring to life in a symphony of rhythms and taps that make you want to tap your feet. The performance lasts only a few minutes. Invited to take a seat at the control panel, adventurous spectators can reinvent the piece, as the 16 switches at their disposal trigger short sequences of sound and movement with which to create a new composition.

Mixing the real and the virtual via robotics, the British visual artist Peter William Holden evokes the perfection and complexity of the universe, simultaneously sculpting space and time in this intriguing and stimulating blend of play and meditation.

Sound and Light, Art and Technology
Peter William Holden’s works all employ robotics, an eight-branch mandala structure, pneumatic valves triggered by a computer and an air flow system for movement. Before the tap dancing of SoleNoid, umbrellas in AutoGene were mounted in a circular pattern and joined by air hoses and electrical cables to a small computer, and danced to Singing in the Rain. The installation Arabesque is a gigantic mechanical flower made of plastic arms and legs that move and sway to The Blue Danube. In Nelumbo metal flowers respond to noises from the surrounding environment.

Credits

AN INTERACTIVE INSTALLATION BY PETER WILLIAM HOLDEN

ORIGINAL COMPOSITION MARKO WILD / PHOTOGRAPHIC DOCUMENTATION MEDIAL MIRAGE / MATTHIAS MÖLLER

CO-PRESENTED BY PLACE DES ARTS

PREMIERED IN 2009

WRITTEN BY FABIENNE CABADOTRANSLATED BY NEIL KROETSCH

 

Arbeitsporträt - Peter William Holden

PETER WILLIAM HOLDEN (LEIPZIG)
SOUND AND LIGHT SERVICES

Revenge of the Nerd
Peter William Holden’s precocious fascination with technology is due perhaps in part to the highly industrial environment of his home town in northern England.

Read more

You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.
Medial Mirage - Photographie & Kommunikation Kochstraße 132 / Werk II D ? 04277 Leipzig Telefon: 0341. 303 88 80 Mobil: 0172. 292 48 85

Solenoid

PETER WILLIAM HOLDEN

Une structure robotique nous transporte dans l’univers de la comédie musicale et nous invite à créer une chorégraphie sonore pour huit chaussures de claquettes. Ludique et insolite.

Détails

Le cercle des danseurs disparus
Surprenante invitation à entrer dans la danse. Dans l’installation interactive SoleNoid, huit chaussures de claquettes placées autour d’un dispositif technologique bardé de fils entament une chorégraphie digne de Busby Berkeley. Par la magie combinée de l’informatique et de la mécanique, talons, pointes et semelles livrent une symphonie de rythmes et de frappes qui donnent envie de taper du pied. La performance ne dure que quelques minutes. Invité à la table de contrôle, le spectateur aventureux peut la réinventer. Chacune des 16 clés mises à sa disposition déclenche de courtes séquences de mouvements et de sons avec lesquelles il peut jouer pour composer sa propre création.

Réunissant virtuel et réel dans cette structure robotique déployée à la manière d’un mandala, le plasticien Peter William Holden évoque la perfection et la complexité de l’univers. Sculptant simultanément l’espace et le temps, il offre une double occasion de jeu et de méditation. Ludique et insolite.

Sound and Light Services, art et technologie
Toutes les œuvres que Peter William Holden a créées à ce jour ont en commun une structure mandalique à huit branches, un programme informatique qui les actionne et un système robotique à air comprimé qui les anime. Avant de jouer des claquettes avec SoleNoid, il a accroché au mur trois cercles de parapluies et les a fait danser sur Singing in the Rain avecAutoGene. Dans Arabesque, il chorégraphie un ballet de bras et de jambes de plastique sur l’air du Beau Danube bleu et dresse une gigantesque fleur métallique réagissant à son environnement sonore dans Nelumbo.

Crédits

UNE INSTALLATION INTERACTIVE DE PETER WILLIAM HOLDEN

COMPOSITION ORIGINALE MARKO WILD DOCUMENTATION PHOTOGRAPHIQUE MEDIAL MIRAGE / MATTHIAS MÖLLER

COPRÉSENTATION PLACE DES ARTS

CRÉATION EN 2009

RÉDACTRICE FABIENNE CABADO

 

Arbeitsporträt - Peter William Holden

PETER WILLIAM HOLDEN (LEIPZIG)
SOUND AND LIGHT SERVICES

Peter William Holden, la revanche d’un nerd
La fascination précoce de Peter William Holden pour la technologie vient sans doute de l’environnement très industriel de sa ville natale, au nord de l’Angleterre.

En savoir plus