TABLES DE LECTURE 1, 2, 3

DENIS MARLEAU

An inaugural experience. Invited to the initial reading of three theatre scripts, spectators enjoy a rare occasion to enter into the intimacy of the luminous outbursts and hesitations that are the early building blocks of a play.

Details

SHARING OF VOICES
An inaugural experience, that unique moment when amidst searing intensity and silences, dreams, shapeshifting vertigo and visions suddenly appear. Invited by directors Denis Marleau and Stéphanie Jasmin to an initial reading of a theatre script, spectators enjoy a rare occasion to enter into the intimacy of the luminous outbursts and hesitations that are the early building blocks of a play. Gathered round a large table, equipped with pencils and copies of the script, they participate with the writers and actors in the fragile beginnings of a world. At the end of each reading experience, they are invited to add their voices to those of the artists.=

Three trenchant texts, each portraying a distinct dramatic landscape, have been retained by the rigorous creative duo: the dreamlike Lumières, lumières, lumières by Quebec author Evelyne de la Chenelière, in the mind of Virginia Woolf at the moment when she was writing To the Lighthouse; the incisive Au lac Noir (At Black Lake) by German playwright Dea Loher; the hilarious Orgueil, poursuite et décapitation by French writer Marion Aubert. Three singular experiences, three plunges into that moment on the threshold of creation when everything is possible.

Credits

PRODUCED BY UBU COMPAGNIE DE CRÉATION
DIRECTED AND CONCEIVED BY DENIS MARLEAU
ARTISTIC ASSOCIATE STÉPHANIE JASMIN

(READING 1) WRITTEN BY EVELYNE DE LA CHENELIÈRE ADAPTED FROM TO THE LIGHTHOUSE BY VIRGINIA WOOLF PERFORMED BY ANNE-MARIE CADIEUX + EVELYNE DE LA CHENELIÈRE
(READING 2) WRITTEN BY DEA LOHER PERFORMED BY LUC BOURGEOIS + HENRI CHASSÉ + VIOLETTE CHAUVEAU + EVELYNE ROMPRÉ
(READING 3) WRITTEN BY MARION AUBERT PERFORMED BY CARL BÉCHARD + ISABEAU BLANCHE + SOPHIE CADIEUX + PIERRE CHAGNON + SYLVIE LÉONARD + BRUNO MARCIL + CHRISTIANE PASQUIER

WITH THE CONTRIBUTION OF MARION AUBERT + ANGELO BARSETTI BOUCHER + EVELYNE DE LA CHENELIÈRE + JULIEN ÉCLANCHER + MARTIN ÉMOND + DENIS GOUGEON + STÉPHANIE JASMIN + DENIS MARLEAU + JÉRÔME MINIÈRE + LAURENT MUHLEISEN + GINETTE NOISEUX + MARC PARENT
COPRODUCTION ESPACE GO

WRITTEN BY CATHERINE CYR
TRANSLATED BY NEIL KROETSCH

 

 

DENIS MARLEAU (MONTRÉAL)

Rigorous Theatre of Research
A major figure in contemporary theatre, director Denis Marleau has, under the aegis of the theatre company UBU, consistently presented bold and exciting stage works that are part of a remarkable approach to theatrical exploration. From his first pieces – imbued with the radical spirit of the early 20th century artistic avant-garde – to recent works marked by a desire to give voice to powerful new texts (Le dernier feu by Dea Loher, 2013; La ville by Martin Crimp, 2014), he pursues a trajectory where inventiveness and formal rigour are intertwined. Based on the Trois derniers jours de Fernando Pessoa (FTA, 1997), and with the complicity of co-artistic director Stéphanie Jasmin, he embarked on extensive research on integrating new technologies into theatre. This new dimension took full and majestic flight in Les aveugles (2002) and, since then, the company has become renowned for its staging and theatrical exploration.

Read more

Tables de lecture 1, 2, 3

DENIS MARLEAU

Une expérience inaugurale. Invités à la première lecture de trois textes de théâtre, des spectateurs pénètrent pour une rare fois dans l’intimité des hésitations et des jaillissements lumineux qui fondent une œuvre.

Détails

LE PARTAGE DES VOIX
Une expérience inaugurale. Le moment unique où, dans la fulgurance et les silences, surgissent les rêves, les vertiges et les visions. Conviés par les metteurs en scène Denis Marleau et Stéphanie Jasmin à la première lecture d’un texte théâtral, des spectateurs pénètrent pour une rare fois dans l’intimité des hésitations et des jaillissements lumineux qui fondent une œuvre. Réunis autour d’une immense table, munis d’un crayon et d’une partition textuelle, ils participent, avec les concepteurs et les acteurs, aux fragiles commencements d’un monde. Au terme de chacune des trajectoires de lecture, ils sont invités à mêler leurs voix à celles des artistes.

Trois textes percutants, relevant de paysages dramaturgiques distincts, ont été retenus par le rigoureux duo de créateurs : l’onirique Lumières, lumières, lumières de l’auteure québécoise Evelyne de la Chenelière, dans la tête de Virginia Woolf alors qu’elle écrivait Vers le phare ; l’incisif Au lac Noir de la dramaturge allemande Dea Loher ; l’hilarant Orgueil, poursuite et décapitation de la française Marion Aubert. Trois expériences singulières, trois plongées dans ce moment de tous les possibles, au seuil de la création.

Crédits

UNE LECTURE DE UBU COMPAGNIE DE CRÉATION
MISE EN LECTURE ET CONCEPTION DENIS MARLEAU
COLLABORATION ARTISTIQUE STÉPHANIE JASMIN

(LECTURE 1) TEXTE EVELYNE DE LA CHENELIÈRE D’APRÈS VERS LE PHARE DE VIRGINIA WOOLF INTERPRÉTATION ANNE-MARIE CADIEUX + EVELYNE DE LA CHENELIÈRE
(LECTURE 2) TEXTE DEA LOHER INTERPRÉTATION LUC BOURGEOIS + HENRI CHASSÉ + VIOLETTE CHAUVEAU + EVELYNE ROMPRÉ
(LECTURE 3) TEXTE MARION AUBERT INTERPRÉTATION CARL BÉCHARD + ISABEAU BLANCHE + SOPHIE CADIEUX + PIERRE CHAGNON + SYLVIE LÉONARD + BRUNO MARCIL + CHRISTIANE PASQUIER AVEC LA PARTICIPATION DE MARION AUBERT + ANGELO BARSETTI BOUCHER + EVELYNE DE LA CHENELIÈRE + JULIEN ÉCLANCHER + MARTIN ÉMOND + DENIS GOUGEON + STÉPHANIE JASMIN + DENIS MARLEAU + JÉRÔME MINIÈRE + LAURENT MUHLEISEN + GINETTE NOISEUX + MARC PARENT

COPRODUCTION ESPACE GO

RÉDACTION CATHERINE CYR
TRADUCTION NEIL KROETSCH

CRÉATION LE 27 MAI 2014 AU FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES

 

DENIS MARLEAU (MONTRÉAL)

Un rigoureux théâtre de recherche
Figure incontournable du théâtre actuel, le metteur en scène Denis Marleau élabore avec constance, sous l’égide de la compagnie UBU, des œuvres scéniques audacieuses attachées à une singulière démarche d’exploration théâtrale. De ses premières créations, imprégnées de l’esprit radical des avant-gardes artistiques du début du XXe siècle, jusqu’à ses plus récentes, marquées par le désir de faire entendre de percutantes nouvelles écritures (Le dernier feu de Dea Loher, 2013 ; La ville de Martin Crimp, 2014), le metteur en scène poursuit une trajectoire sans faille où s’entrelacent inventivité et rigueur formelle. À partir de la création des Trois derniers jours de Fernando Pessoa (FTA, 1997), et avec la complicité de la codirectrice artistique Stéphanie Jasmin, il entame une profonde recherche autour de l’intégration des nouvelles technologies au théâtre. Cette nouvelle dimension prend son plein envol, majestueux, avec Les aveugles (2002), et, dès lors, s’arrime à l’exploration dramaturgique qui anime la compagnie.

En savoir plus