You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

THE YOU SHOW

CRYSTAL PITE

Humour, sensitivity and theatricality combine in kaleidoscopic choreography where the image of love is shattered by its own reflection. Outstanding

Details

In the Eye of the Beholder
Making use of slow motion, pauses and flashbacks, Crystal Pite has forged a kaleidoscopic piece where the image of love is shattered by its own reflection. A banal marital incident becomes a battle of the titans, as a couple’s breakup is told by voiceover narration. The atmosphere is unreal, fantastical; the nine dancers astounding. A perfect alchemy of movement, sound and lighting stimulates the spectator’s imagination. She pulls them into the very heart of the action, making the audience itself the subject of The You Show.

The Vancouver choreographer combines humour and sensitivity in a series of short, contrasting pieces. Her heightened sense of theatricality shifts from lyricism to hilarious outbursts presented comic book style. Moving from tension to release in half a second, she breaks down the movement with organic gestures that convey both the vulnerability of the characters and the incredible power of the human machine. Both serious and playful, it is an outstanding piece.

Kidd Pivot in Frankfurt
Based in Vancouver since 2001, Kidd Pivot is currently the in-house dance company at the Mousonturm centre in Frankfurt, Germany. Kidd for the outlaw, the pirate, for irreverence and recklessness; Pivot for precise, accomplished movement that changes everything. Crystal Pite’s work is often quite theatrical, supported by atmospheric lighting and by the musical contributions of composer Owen Belton. She works with outstanding performers for duets (Uncollected Works and Double Story) and ensemble pieces such as Dark Matters.

Credits

PRODUCED BY KIDD PIVOT FRANKFURT RM

CHOREOGRAPHY CRYSTAL PITEPERFORMED BY ERIC BEAUCHESNE + PETER CHU + SANDRA MARÍN GARCIA + YANNICK MATTHON + RENA NARUMI + ANNE PLAMONDON +JIŘÍ POKORNÝ + CINDY SALGADO + JERMAINE MAURICE

SPIVEY MUSIC OWEN BELTONTEXT CRYSTAL PITE LIGHTING DESIGN ROBERT SONDERGAARDCOSTUME DESIGN LINDA CHOW 

COPRODUCTION KIDD PIVOT FRANKFURT RM + KÜNSTLERHAUS MOUSONTURM + GEMEINNÜTZIGER KULTURFONDS FRANKFURT RHEIN MAIN CO-PRESENTED BY AGORA DE LA DANSE

PRESENTED WITH THE SUPPORT OF GOETHE INSTITUT

PREMIERED AT KÜNSTLERHAUS MOUSONTURM, FRANKFURT, NOVEMBER 2010

WRITTEN BY FABIENNE CABADOTRANSLATED BY NEIL KROETSCH

 

CRYSTAL PITE (VANCOUVER / FRANCFORT)

Crystal Pite – Magnetic Dancer, Prolific Choreographer
Born in British Columbia, Crystal Pite began her with Ballet BC before being hired by William Forsythe to dance with Ballet Frankfurt.

Read more

You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

The You Show

CRYSTAL PITE

Humour, sensibilité et théâtralité se conjuguent dans un kaléidoscope chorégraphique où l’image du bonheur parfait se fracasse dans ses propres reflets. Brillant.

Détails

Dans l’œil du spectateur
Ralenti, pause, flash-back. Crystal Pite fabrique un kaléidoscope chorégraphique en quatre tableaux, où l’image de l’amour idyllique et de l’entente parfaite se fracasse dans ses propres reflets. Un banal incident conjugal se transforme en un combat de titans. L’effondrement d’un couple est commenté en voix off. Les atmosphères sont irréelles. Les neuf danseurs, électrisants. La parfaite alchimie entre geste, son et lumière éveille l’imaginaire du spectateur, le fait glisser au cœur même de l’action. C’est de lui que parle The you show.

La chorégraphe vancouveroise conjugue humour et sensibilité dans ces courtes pièces aux couleurs contrastées. Son sens aigu de la théâtralité fait le grand écart entre lyrisme et débordements désopilants d’un pastiche de comics. Elle passe de la tension au relâchement en un quart de seconde, décompose le mouvement dans une gestuelle organique qui traduit aussi bien la vulnérabilité des êtres que l’incroyable puissance de la machine humaine. Magnétique. Brillant.

Kidd Pivot Frankfurt RM
Basée à Vancouver depuis 2001, Kidd Pivot est actuellement accueillie par la région Francfort/Rhin-Main, en Allemagne. « Kidd » pour la légèreté et l’irrévérence ; « Pivot » pour la promptitude à transformer une situation. Crystal Pite y construit des œuvres souvent théâtrales dont elle renforce la dramaturgie en s’appuyant sur les éclairages et le concours systématique du compositeur Owen Belton. Elle s’entoure d’interprètes et de créateurs brillants pour des duos (Uncollected Works et Double Story) ou des pièces de groupe telles que Dark Matters.

Crédits

UN SPECTACLE DE KIDD PIVOT FRANKFURT RM

CHORÉGRAPHIE CRYSTAL PITEINTERPRÉTATION ERIC BEAUCHESNE + PETER CHU + SANDRA MARÍN GARCIA + YANNICK MATTHON + RENA NARUMI + ANNE PLAMONDON +JIŘÍ POKORNÝ + CINDY SALGADO + JERMAINE MAURICE

SPIVEY MUSIQUE OWEN BELTONTEXTE CRYSTAL PITEÉCLAIRAGES ROBERT SONDERGAARD COSTUMES LINDA CHOW 

COPRODUCTION KIDD PIVOT FRANKFURT RM + KÜNSTLERHAUS MOUSONTURM + GEMEINNÜTZIGER KULTURFONDS FRANKFURT RHEIN MAINCOPRÉSENTATION AGORA DE LA DANSE

PRÉSENTATION AVEC LE SOUTIEN DU GOETHE INSTITUT

CRÉATION : KÜNSTLERHAUS MOUSONTURM, FRANCFORT, NOVEMBRE 2010

RÉDACTRICE FABIENNE CABADO

 

CRYSTAL PITE (VANCOUVER / FRANCFORT)

Crystal Pite, danseuse magnétique et chorégraphe prolifique
Née en Colombie-Britannique, Crystal Pite y commence sa carrière au Ballet BC avant d’être engagée par William Forsythe au Ballett Frankfurt.

En savoir plus