You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

TODO EL CIELO SOBRE LA TIERRA (EL SÍNDROME DE WENDY)

ANGÉLICA LIDDELL | ATRA BILIS TEATRO

In Montreal at long last, the incandescent and radical Angélica Liddell presents a seismic piece. An astounding performance that plunges into the sordid and the squalid, fluctuating between rage and heartrending despair.

Details

ALL THE SKY ABOVE THE EARTH (WENDY’S SYNDROME)
An island, swept by the wind. Into this landscape of solitude wanders Wendy, seized with a terror of abandonment. Here the gentle imaginary land of Peter Pan becomes the killing field of Utoya, where 69 young Norwegians were condemned to never grow old. A perfect fate, perhaps, for this unloved Wendy haunted by the inexorable decline of the flesh. With its orchestra, crocodiles, elderly Chinese dancers and corrosive dialogue, All the Sky above the Earth is a chilling, spellbinding tale that, from Neverland to Shanghai, plunges into the filth and violence of the world to reveal luminous shards of poetry.

A major figure in contemporary theatre, the incandescent Spanish writer and director Angélica Liddell is in Montreal at long last. With a seismic performance that fluctuates between rage and heartrending despair, this radical artist delivers an astounding piece that exposes the monstrosity of the human soul as well as its unbearable beauty.

Credits

PRODUCED BY ATRA BILIS TEATRO
WRITING, DIRECTION, SET AND COSTUME DESIGN ANGÉLICA LIDDELL
PERFORMED BY FABIÁN AUGUSTO GÓMEZ BOHÓRQUEZ + XIE GUINÜ + LOLA JIMÉNEZ + DAGNY BACKER JOHNSEN + ANGÉLICA LIDDELL + SINDO PUCHE + ZHANG QIWEN + SAITE YE
MUSIC CHO YOUNG WUK PERFORMED BY ENSEMBLE MUSICAL PHACE
CHINESE PIPA XUE YING DONG WU
LIGHTING DESIGN CARLOS MARQUERIE
SOUND DESIGN ANTONIO NAVARRO

COPRODUCTION WIENER FESTWOCHEN + FESTIVAL D’AVIGNON + ODÉON – THÉÂTRE DE L’EUROPE + FESTIVAL D’AUTOMNE (PARIS) + DESINGEL INTERNATIONALE KUNSTCAMPUS + LE PARVIS – SCÈNE NATIONALE DE TARBES PYRÉNÉES IN ASSOCIATION WITH IAQUINANDI S.L. WITH THE HELP OF TEATROS DEL CANAL (MADRID) + TANZQUARTIER (VIENNE) AND THE SUPPORT OF COMUNIDAD DE MADRID + MINISTERIO DE EDUCACIÓN, CULTURA Y DEPORTE – INAEM

PRESENTED IN ASSOCIATION WITH MONUMENT-NATIONAL

WRITTEN BY CATHERINE CYR
TRANSLATED BY NEIL KROETSCH

WORLD PREMIÈRE AT WIENER FESTWOCHEN, VIENNA, MAY 9, 2013

 

ANGÉLICA LIDDELL | ATRA BILIS TEATRO (MADRID+SEOUL+SHANGHAI)

The Beauty of Bedlam
A writer, actress, performance artist and director, the Spanish artist Angélica Liddell is a major figure in the European performing arts. With her company Atra Bilis, founded in Madrid in 1993, she creates fiercely atypical stage works that defy attempts at classification. Her pieces are spirited mixes of dance, theatre, performance art, music and video. Coming from a long lineage of Spanish artists who use the body as the epicentre of art, this impetuous artist turns the body into a discourse of pain and sorrow, as powerful as the torrent of words she unleashes onstage. Assisted by a diverse group of collaborators, she digs deep into the private and the social in works perpetually straddling the two.

Read more

You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

Todo el Cielo Sobre la Tierra (El Síndrome de Wendy)

ANGÉLICA LIDDELL | ATRA BILIS TEATRO

Une plongée au cœur de la souillure du monde, entre rage, inconsolation et quête d’amour éperdue. Une œuvre sismique de l’incandescente et radicale Angélica Liddell, enfin à Montréal.

Détails

TOUT LE CIEL AU-DESSUS DE LA TERRE (LE SYNDRÔME DE WENDY)
Une île, balayée par le vent. Dans ce paysage de solitude erre Wendy, étreinte par la terreur de l’abandon. Ici, le doux Pays imaginaire de Peter Pan devient l’île-tombeau d’Utoya où 69 jeunes Norvégiens furent condamnés à ne jamais vieillir. Un sort parfait, peut-être, pour cette Wendy désaimée, hantée par l’inexorable dépérissement de la chair. Convoquant un orchestre, des crocodiles, de vieux danseurs chinois et une prise de parole corrosive, Tout le ciel au-dessus de la terre est un conte halluciné, ensorcelant, qui, de Neverland à Shanghai, plonge dans la saleté et la violence du monde pour en extirper de lumineux éclats de poésie.

Enfin à Montréal, l’incandescente auteure et metteure en scène espagnole Angélica Liddell est une figure majeure du théâtre contemporain. Avec ce spectacle sismique, qui oscille entre la rage et l’inconsolation, cette artiste radicale livre une performance époustouflante où se dévoilent la monstruosité de l’âme humaine comme son insoutenable beauté.

Crédits

UN SPECTACLE DE ATRA BILIS TEATRO
TEXTE, MISE EN SCÈNE, SCÉNOGRAPHIE ET COSTUMES ANGÉLICA LIDDELL
INTERPRÉTATION FABIÁN AUGUSTO GÓMEZ BOHÓRQUEZ + XIE GUINÜ + LOLA JIMÉNEZ + DAGNY BACKER JOHNSEN + ANGÉLICA LIDDELL + SINDO PUCHE + ZHANG QIWEN + SAITE YE
MUSIQUE CHO YOUNG WUK INTERPRÉTÉE PAR ENSEMBLE MUSICAL PHACE
PIPA CHINOIS XUE YING DONG WU
LUMIÈRES CARLOS MARQUERIE
SON ANTONIO NAVARRO

COPRODUCTION WIENER FESTWOCHEN + FESTIVAL D’AVIGNON + ODÉON – THÉÂTRE DE L’EUROPE + FESTIVAL D’AUTOMNE (PARIS) + DESINGEL INTERNATIONALE KUNSTCAMPUS + LE PARVIS – SCÈNE NATIONALE DE TARBES PYRÉNÉES EN COLLABORATION AVEC IAQUINANDI S.L. AVEC L’AIDE DE TEATROS DEL CANAL (MADRID) + TANZQUARTIER (VIENNE) ET LE SOUTIEN DE COMUNIDAD DE MADRID + MINISTERIO DE EDUCACIÓN, CULTURA Y DEPORTE – INAEM

PRÉSENTATION EN COLLABORATION AVEC MONUMENT-NATIONAL

RÉDACTION CATHERINE CYR
TRADUCTION NEIL KROETSCH

CRÉATION AU WIENER FESTWOCHEN, VIENNE, LE 9 MAI 2013

 

ANGÉLICA LIDDELL | ATRA BILIS TEATRO (MADRID+SEOUL+SHANGHAI)

La beauté du fracas
L’auteure, actrice, metteure en scène et interprète espagnole Angélica Liddell est une figure majeure des arts vivants en Europe. Avec sa compagnie Atra Bilis, fondée à Madrid en 1993, elle élabore des œuvres scéniques farouchement atypiques, se dérobant à toute tentative de classification. À travers la dissolution des frontières se rencontrent chez elle, avec fougue, les univers de la danse, du théâtre, de la performance, de la musique et de la vidéo. Descendante de toute une lignée d’artistes espagnols qui font du corps l’épicentre de l’œuvre, cette impétueuse créatrice fait de la chair un discours douloureux, tout aussi puissant que le torrent de mots qu’elle déverse sur la scène. D’un spectacle à l’autre, entourée d’un essaim hétérogène de collaborateurs, elle s’immerge au cœur de la souillure du monde pour en extirper de lumineux éclats de poésie. Dans le croisement de l’intime et du social, oscillant entre la rage et l’affliction, ses pièces s’érigent dans un perpétuel entredeux, dévoilant la monstruosité de l’âme humaine comme son insoutenable beauté.

En savoir plus