TRIESTE

MARIE BRASSARD

A whirling odyssey, from the legendary Land of the Dead to the depths of the abyss, Trieste is imbued with mythologies old and new. An enigmatic and undulating stage poem. Captivating.

Details

In Trieste, time is not linear. Marie Brassard explores poetic fortuity and extraordinary coincidences in this virtuoso odyssey. From the shores of the Adriatic to the depths of the abyss by way of the subterranean Land of the Dead, she embarks on a fabulous voyage to the heart of the unexplained. Driven by powerful gusts of the bora wind (a malefic force said to drive some to madness), this show is an encounter between ancient legends and contemporary mythologies woven around the idea of death and its mysteries. Imbued with melancholy and guided by the imagination of writers who have lived in the city, Trieste is an astonishing stage poem. Like a bathyscaphe perched at the very bottom of the ocean depths, it probes the intangible.

Once again at the FTA, which has featured every one of her solo pieces, Marie Brassard, an indefatigable discoverer of the possibilities of the stage, presents an undulating work where an enigmatic sound and visual landscape comes to life. Captivating.

.

Credits

PRODUCED BY INFRAROUGE
WRITTEN, DIRECTED AND PERFORMED BY MARIE BRASSARD
MUSIC AND SOUND COMPOSED AND PERFORMED BY JONATHAN PARANT + ALEXANDRE ST-ONGE
SET DESIGN SIMON GUILBAULT
VIDEO AND 16MM FILM KARL LEMIEUX
LIGHTING DESIGN MIKKO HYNNINEN
PHOTO MINELLY KAMEMURA

COPRODUCTION FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES + USINE C
PRESENTED IN ASSOCIATION WITH USINE C
CREATIVE RESIDENCYEXPERIMENTAL MEDIA AND PERFORMING ARTS CENTER – EMPAC (TROY)

WRITTEN BY CATHERINE CYR
TRANSLATED BY NEIL KROETSCH

PREMIERED AT FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES, MAY 25, 2013

 

MARIE BRASSARD (MONTRÉAL)
INFRAROUGE

Making the Invisible Visible

Ever since Jimmy, créature de rêve in 2001, her first solo and a piece where she pursued a multidisciplinary approach, Marie Brassard has been probing the possibilities of theatrical vocabulary. A fluctuating amalgam of sound textures, dreamlike images, shadows, lighting and fragments of speech, that language is invented and reinvented from one piece to the next in indeterminable, captivating theatrical objects: La noirceur (FTA, 2003), Peepshow (FTA, 2006), L’invisible (FTA, 2008), Moi qui me parle à moi-même dans le futur (FTA, 2011). Wayfaring microcosms, these solos charmed audiences in Quebec and elsewhere, presented in several cities in Europe, Asia, Australia and the U.S.

Read more

Trieste

MARIE BRASSARD

Une vertigineuse odyssée, du légendaire pays des morts jusqu’au fond des abysses, à la croisée des mythologies anciennes et contemporaines. Un poème scénique énigmatique et ondoyant. Captivant.

Détails

À Trieste, le temps n’est pas linéaire. Dans une virtuose odyssée verticale, Marie Brassard explore les hasards poétiques et les coïncidences extraordinaires. Du rivage de la mer Adriatique jusqu’au fond des abysses, en passant par le souterrain pays des morts, elle dessine un voyage fabuleux au cœur de l’inexpliqué. Porté par le souffle puissant de la bora, ce vent qui, dit-on, rend fou, ce spectacle croise légendes anciennes et mythologies contemporaines, nouées autour de l’idée de la mort et de ses mystères. Imprégné de mélancolie, traversé par l’imaginaire des écrivains qui ont habité la ville, Trieste est un étonnant poème scénique qui, tel un bathyscaphe posé au plus profond de l’océan, sonde l’intangible.

De retour au FTA où chacun de ses solos a été présenté, Marie Brassard, infatigable découvreuse des possibles de la scène, livre ici une création ondoyante où prend vie un paysage visuel et sonore énigmatique. Captivant.

Crédits

UN SPECTACLE DE INFRAROUGE
TEXTE, MISE EN SCÈNE ET INTERPRÉTATION MARIE BRASSARD
MUSIQUE ORIGINALE, SON ET INTERPRÉTATION JONATHAN PARANT + ALEXANDRE ST-ONGE
SCÉNOGRAPHIE SIMON GUILBAULT
VIDÉO ET FILM 16MM KARL LEMIEUX
LUMIÈRES MIKKO HYNNINEN
PHOTO MINELLY KAMEMURA

COPRODUCTION FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES + USINE C
PRÉSENTATION EN COLLABORATION AVEC USINE C
RÉSIDENCE DE CRÉATIONEXPERIMENTAL MEDIA AND PERFORMING ARTS CENTER – EMPAC (TROY)

RÉDACTION CATHERINE CYR

CRÉATION MONDIALE AU FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES, LE 25 MAI 2013

 

MARIE BRASSARD (MONTRÉAL)
INFRAROUGE

Révéler l’invisible

Depuis la création en 2001 de Jimmy, créature de rêve, un premier spectacle solo où elle s’avançait sur le terrain de la multidisciplinarité, Marie Brassard n’a cessé de sonder les possibles du langage scénique. Amalgame fluctuant de textures sonores, d’images oniriques, d’ombres, de lumières, de paroles en éclats, ce langage s’est inventé et réinventé au fil de la création d’indéterminables et captivants objets théâtraux : La noirceur (FTA, 2003), Peepshow (FTA, 2006), L’invisible (FTA, 2008), Moi qui me parle à moi-même dans le futur (FTA, 2011). Microcosmes voyageurs, tous ces solos ont rayonné autant au Québec qu’à l’étranger, se posant dans plusieurs villes d’Europe et d’Asie, de même qu’en Australie et aux États-Unis.

En savoir plus