You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

TROIS

MANI SOLEYMANLOU | ORANGE NOYÉE

Un: Mani is alone onstage. Deux: His friend Manu faces him. Trois: 44 people from near and far question and contradict their sense of belonging. A necessary quest for identity.

Details

WE ARE THE WORLD – À LA MONTRÉAL
Un: In June 2009 while the police were violently suppressing the Iranian nation’s desire for democracy, the Montrealer Mani wondered how much of an Iranian he still was. Deux: Mani and his friend Manu, another Montrealer of Jewish and French Canadian background, are unable to see in each other the basis of their respective identities. Trois: Onstage are 44 actors from near and far who have made their way to the human and urban mosaic that is Montreal, 44 who deprive Mani of speech as they appropriate it for themselves, taking issue with his words and dismantling them into splinters and fragments in order to understand their own scattered identities.

In barely two shows Mani Soleymanlou has established a reputation as a remarkable and necessary artist, inventing an amazingly unrestricted space-time between theatre and performance art. Faced with the artist’s quest for identity each spectator is complicit, and can’t help but contemplate his own identity. The creation of the third segment of his triptych promises once again to stimulate a lively response.

Credits

PRODUCED BY ORANGE NOYÉE
WRITTEN BY MANI SOLEYMANLOU WITH THE CONTRIBUTION OF THE PERFORMERS
DIRECTED BY MANI SOLEYMANLOU
PERFORMED BY MARCELO ARROYO + SOUNIA BALHA + RACHEL BESSETTE + ADRIEN BLETTON + JEAN-ROBERT BONNEAU + JÉRÉMIE BRASSARD + MARCO COLLIN + LUCIE M. CONSTANTINEAU + ANDRÉANNE DAIGLE + ÈVE-CHEMS DE BROUWER + MOHSEN EL GHARBI + GABRIEL FAVREAU + JONATHAN FORTIN + GEOFFREY GAQUÈRE + MATTHIEU GIRARD + KARINE GONTHIER-HYNDMAN + MATHIEU GOSSELIN + JOANIE GUÉRIN + TALIA HALLMONA + CHARLES-AUBEY HOUDE + MAXIME ISABELLE + AUDREY LACHAPELLE LARIVÉE + JUSTIN LARAMÉE + DENIS LAVALOU + DOMINIQUE LECLERC + ALEXIS LEFEBVRE + SIMON-XAVIER LEFEBVRE + LEYLI MACHOUF + JEAN-MOÏSE MARTIN + MIREILLE METELLUS + MARIE-LAURENCE MOREAU + IANNICKO N’DOUA-LÉGARÉ + RODLEY PHILOGENE-PITT + BRUNO PICCOLO + GABRIELLE POULIN + CHRISTOPHE RAPIN + EMMANUEL SCHWARTZ + MAZYAR SHAHCHERAGHI + MANI SOLEYMANLOU + ELKAHNA TALBI + INES TALBI + LEÏLA THIBEAULT LOUCHEM + CYNTHIA WU-MAHEUX
ASSISTANT DIRECTOR AND SET MANAGER JEAN GAUDREAU
LUMIÈRES ERWANN BERNARD
SON LARSEN LUPIN

COPRODUCTION FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES + CENTRE DU THÉÂTRE D’AUJOURD’HUI

WRITTEN BY PAUL LEFEBVRE
TRANSLATED BY NEIL KROETSCH

WORLD PREMIÈRE AT FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES, JUNE 2, 2014

 

MANI SOLEYMANLOU | ORANGE NOYÉE (MONTRÉAL)

The Art of Floating in many a Universe
Born in Teheran, Mani Soleymanlou left his native country as a child to live successively in Paris, Toronto, Ottawa and Montreal, where he graduated from the National Theatre School of Canada’s acting program in 2008. As an actor he has performed in many important plays in Montreal in recent years, working with exacting directors such as Alice Ronfard and Claude Poissant, and participating in works like Furieux et désespérés by Olivier Kemeid and L'affiche by Philippe Ducros.

Read more

You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

Trois

MANI SOLEYMANLOU | ORANGE NOYÉE

Un : Mani est seul en scène. Deux : son ami Manu lui fait face. Trois : ils sont 44 Montréalais de partout dans le monde qui s’interrogent et se contredisent sur leurs identités et leurs appartenances.

Détails

(INCLUANT UN, DEUX, TROIS)
Un : en juin 2009, alors que la police réprime dans le sang le désir de démocratie de la nation iranienne, Mani, un Montréalais, se demande ce qui fait encore de lui un Iranien. Deux : Mani et son ami Manu, un autre Montréalais, lui d’origine juive et canadienne-française, n’arrivent pas à trouver l’un à travers l’autre ce qui fonde leur identité respective. Trois : ils sont maintenant 44 en scène, venus de partout se déposer sur l’île de Montréal, souveraine mosaïque humaine et urbaine ; 44 qui dépossèdent Mani de sa parole pour se l’approprier, la contester et la démanteler en autant d’éclats pour comprendre leur propre éparpillement identitaire.

En deux spectacles à peine, Mani Soleymanlou s’est imposé comme un artiste aussi singulier que nécessaire, inventant un espace-temps étonnamment libre entre le théâtre et la performance. Face à la quête identitaire de l’artiste, chaque spectateur, complice, ne peut faire autrement qu’entreprendre la sienne. La création de la troisième partie de son triptyque promet d’encore une fois nous allumer.

Crédits

UN SPECTACLE DE ORANGE NOYÉE
TEXTE MANI SOLEYMANLOU EN COLLABORATION AVEC LES INTERPRÈTES
MISE EN SCÈNE MANI SOLEYMANLOU
INTERPRÉTATION MARCELO ARROYO + SOUNIA BALHA + RACHEL BESSETTE + ADRIEN BLETTON + JEAN-ROBERT BONNEAU + JÉRÉMIE BRASSARD + MARCO COLLIN + LUCIE M. CONSTANTINEAU + ANDRÉANNE DAIGLE + ÈVE-CHEMS DE BROUWER + MOHSEN EL GHARBI + GABRIEL FAVREAU + JONATHAN FORTIN + GEOFFREY GAQUÈRE + MATTHIEU GIRARD + KARINE GONTHIER-HYNDMAN + MATHIEU GOSSELIN + JOANIE GUÉRIN + TALIA HALLMONA + CHARLES-AUBEY HOUDE + MAXIME ISABELLE + AUDREY LACHAPELLE LARIVÉE + JUSTIN LARAMÉE + DENIS LAVALOU + DOMINIQUE LECLERC + ALEXIS LEFEBVRE + SIMON-XAVIER LEFEBVRE + LEYLI MACHOUF + JEAN-MOÏSE MARTIN + MIREILLE METELLUS + MARIE-LAURENCE MOREAU + IANNICKO N’DOUA-LÉGARÉ + RODLEY PHILOGENE-PITT + BRUNO PICCOLO + GABRIELLE POULIN + CHRISTOPHE RAPIN + EMMANUEL SCHWARTZ + MAZYAR SHAHCHERAGHI + MANI SOLEYMANLOU + ELKAHNA TALBI + INES TALBI + LEÏLA THIBEAULT LOUCHEM + CYNTHIA WU-MAHEUX
ASSISTANCE À LA MISE EN SCÈNE ET RÉGIE JEAN GAUDREAU
LUMIÈRES ERWANN BERNARD
CONCEPTION SONORE LARSEN LUPIN

COPRODUCTION FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES + CENTRE DU THÉÂTRE D’AUJOURD’HUI

RÉDACTION PAUL LEFEBVRE
TRADUCTION NEIL KROETSCH

CRÉATION MONDIALE AU FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES, LE 2 JUIN 2014

 

MANI SOLEYMANLOU | ORANGE NOYÉE (MONTRÉAL)

De l’art de flotter dans plusieurs univers
Né à Téhéran, Mani Soleymanlou quitte son pays natal encore enfant pour vivre successivement à Paris, Toronto et Ottawa, puis à Montréal où il reçoit un diplôme en interprétation de l’École nationale de théâtre du Canada en 2008. En qualité de comédien, il a participé à plusieurs des spectacles de théâtre majeurs à Montréal au cours des dernières années, travaillant avec des metteurs en scène exigeants, parmi lesquels Alice Ronfard et Claude Poissant, et participant à des créations telles que Furieux et désespérés d’Olivier Kemeid et L'affiche de Philippe Ducros.

En savoir plus