You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.
Probenfoto Produktion Schaubuehne Premiere 10.10.09

TRUST

ANOUK VAN DIJK, FALK RICHTER

In perfect symbiosis, theatre and dance dissect the disenchantment of the West, which no longer believes in love or even money. Superb and startling.

Details

Crisis of Confidence
Theatre and dance are a seamless whole, and that symbiotic union is at the heart of this brilliant, disturbing and ripped-from-the-headlines piece. TrusT, a caustic and delightful look at the financial crisis, asks an essential, pressing question. In an era when couples form and break up at the same speed that stocks rise and fall, can we still believe in anyone or anything?

In the midst of this ideological chaos, the individual – isolated and distraught – doesn’t know where to turn. It is that numbing feeling of helplessness, that disastrous inability to shake out of the torpor and act that is portrayed by the scathing German writer Falk Richter and the eloquent Dutch choreographer Anouk van Dijk, he by means of pointed monologues and caustic dialogue, and she by entangled bodies constantly off balance but trying to support each other until inevitably one slips and falls. A striking and superb show by Berlin’s celebrated Schaubühne.

SCHAUBÜHNE AM LEHNINER PLATZ
Leading Light of Contemporary Theatre
Since its inception in 1962, the Schaubühne am Lehniner Platz has pursued a social and political mandate by mounting daring, intelligent works. The theatre, whose international reputation continues to grow, presents both iconoclastic contemporary pieces and classical plays by authors such as Chekhov, Shakespeare and Ibsen, works that cast an enlightened gaze on society and the human soul. Many innovative playwrights have been in artistic residency at the Schaubühne, writers such as Marius Von Mayenburg and Franz Xaver Kroetz. In 1999 the Schaubühne (whose current artistic director is Thomas Ostermeier) began including dance in its programming.

Credits

PRODUCED BY SCHAUBÜHNE AM LEHNINER PLATZ

DIRECTION AND CHOREOGRAPHYFALK RICHTER + ANOUK VAN DIJK TEXTS FALK RICHTER WITHPETER CSERI + ANOUK VAN DIJK + LEA DRAEGER + JACK GALLAGHER + ARASH MARANDI + JUDITH ROSMAIR + KAY BARTHOLOMÄUS SCHULZE + STEFAN STERN + NINA WOLLNY + MALTE BECKENBACH (MUSICIAN) SET DESIGN KATRIN HOFFMANNCOSTUME DESIGN DANIELA SELIG MUSIC MALTE BECKENBACH DRAMATURGYJENS HILLJE LIGHTING DESIGNCARSTEN SANDER VIDEO JULIA ELGER

WITH THE SUPPORT OFFONDATION NÉERLANDAISE DES ARTS VIVANTS + COMMUNAUTÉ D’AMSTERDAM + AMBASSADE DU ROYAUME DES PAYS-BAS

COPRODUCTION ANOUKVANDIJK DC

PRESENTED IN ASSOCIATION WITH PLACE DES ARTS + GOETHE INSTITUT + MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES ÉTRANGÈRES DE L’ALLEMAGNE

PREMIERED AT SCHAUBÜHNE AM LEHNINER PLATZ, BERLIN, OCTOBER 2009

WRITTEN BY SOPHIE POULIOTTRANSLATED BY NEIL KROETSCH

 

ANOUK VAN DIJK (BERLIN + AMSTERDAM)

Balancing on the Edge
Renowned for helping dancers think of the dancing body by means of her Countertechnique movement system, where a movement is systematically twinned with its opposite, the brilliant Dutch choreographer Anouk van Dijk was the recipient of the Lucas Hovering Award at the Dutch Dance Days festival in 2000.

Read more

FALK RICHTER (BERLIN + AMSTERDAM)

Pushing Boundaries of German Theatre
The audacious and talented Hamburg writer and director Falk Richter is constantly pushing the boundaries of theatre.

Read more

You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.
Probenfoto Produktion Schaubuehne Premiere 10.10.09

Trust

ANOUK VAN DIJK, FALK RICHTER

Le théâtre et la danse, en parfaite symbiose, dissèquent le désenchantement de l’Occident qui ne croit plus en l’amour, ni même en l’argent. Superbe et saisissant.

Détails

Crise de confiance
Le théâtre et la danse ne font plus qu’un. Et cette union symbiotique est au cœur d’une œuvre brillante, troublante et criante d’actualité. TRUST, tableau vivant aussi caustique que vigoureux sur fond de crise financière, pose une question essentielle, urgente : à l’heure où les couples se forment et se disloquent aussi vite que les valeurs boursières grimpent, puis chutent, peut-on encore croire en quelque chose, en quelqu’un ?

Au sein de ce chaos idéologique, l’individu, isolé, désarmé, ne sait que faire. C’est ce désarroi engourdissant, cette funeste incapacité à se secouer et à agir que décrivent le cinglant auteur allemand Falk Richter et l’éloquente chorégraphe néerlandaise Anouk van Dijk. Lui, par des monologues directs et des échanges corrosifs ; elle, par des enchevêtrements de corps en constant déséquilibre, mais tentant de se soutenir mutuellement jusqu’à ce que, inéluctablement, l’un ou l’autre se défile. Un superbe et saisissant spectacle de la mythique Schaubühne de Berlin.

SCHAUBÜHNE AM LEHNINER PLATZ
Phare international de création contemporaine

Dès sa fondation en 1962, la Schaubühne am Lehniner Platz s’est investie d’un mandat politique et social, qu’elle honore en cumulant des choix hardis et intelligents. La programmation de cette institution, dont la réputation internationale déjà enviable ne cesse de croître, allie les auteurs classiques qui posent un regard éclairé sur l’âme humaine et la société, tels que Tchekhov et Ibsen, aux contemporains les plus iconoclastes. Plusieurs auteurs aussi prisés que novateurs y sont d’ailleurs en résidence, notamment Marius Von Mayenburg et Franz Xaver Kroetz. En 1999, la Schaubühne (qui signifie littéralement « théâtre »), actuellement dirigée par Thomas Ostermeier, a greffé la danse à son répertoire.

Crédits

UN SPECTACLE DE SCHAUBÜHNE AM LEHNINER PLATZ

MISE EN SCÈNE ET CHORÉGRAPHIE FALK RICHTER + ANOUK VAN DIJK TEXTES FALK RICHTER AVEC PETER CSERI + ANOUK VAN DIJK + LEA DRAEGER + JACK GALLAGHER + ARASH MARANDI + JUDITH ROSMAIR + KAY BARTHOLOMÄUS SCHULZE + STEFAN STERN + NINA WOLLNY + MALTE BECKENBACH (MUSICIEN) SCÉNOGRAPHIE KATRIN HOFFMANN COSTUMES DANIELA SELIG MUSIQUE MALTE BECKENBACH DRAMATURGIEJENS HILLJE LUMIÈRES CARSTEN SANDER VIDÉO JULIA ELGER

AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE FONDATION NÉERLANDAISE DES ARTS VIVANTS + COMMUNAUTÉ D’AMSTERDAM + AMBASSADE DU ROYAUME DES PAYS-BAS

COPRODUCTION ANOUKVANDIJK DC

PRÉSENTATION EN COLLABORATION AVEC PLACE DES ARTS + GOETHE INSTITUT + MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES ÉTRANGÈRES DE L’ALLEMAGNE

CRÉATION À LA SCHAUBÜHNE AM LEHNINER PLATZ DE BERLIN EN OCTOBRE 2009

RÉDACTRICE SOPHIE POULIOT

 

ANOUK VAN DIJK (BERLIN + AMSTERDAM)

Une chorégraphe en parfait déséquilibre
Créatrice de la célèbre contre-technique, consistant à jumeler systématiquement à un mouvement son opposé, la brillante chorégraphe néerlandaise Anouk Van Dijk a été récompensée du prix Lucas Hovering au Festival Dutch Dance Days en 2000.

En savoir plus

FALK RICHTER (BERLIN + AMSTERDAM)

Repousser les frontières du théâtre allemand
L’audacieux et talentueux auteur et metteur en scène hambourgeois Falk Richter repousse sans cesse les frontières du théâtre.

En savoir plus