You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.
© Liam Maloney

What we are saying

AME HENDERSON

Inspired by the Occupy movements, the Torontonian Ame Henderson and her collaborators clear the way for a new territory in dance, reinventing ways for people to be together. An avant-garde, subversive piece.

Details

The rendezvous takes place in a neutral space, a site for all sorts of possibilities. No stage, no fourth wall. Artists and audience are one and the same. No one knows exactly what will happen; the senses are on alert. First one voice breaks the silence, followed by several others. The choral conversation of what we are saying becomes a remarkable dance of words. It’s all in the telling, for in this improbable experience of speaking as though dancing, with everyone talking at once, what is conveyed is the hope of finding unison in a shared discourse, the desire to invent a new way of being together. With you.

After earning acclaim at the FTA for her /Dance/Songs/ (2009), the Torontonian Ame Henderson and her collaborators rejuvenate choreography and the role of the spectator in this piece, which follows in the wake of relay. An experience in conversation with Occupy and other recent social movements, the performance pursues the challenging goal of accomplishing united action without a leader.

Credits

PRODUCED BY PUBLIC RECORDINGS
CONCEIVED BY AME HENDERSON
CO-CREATED AND PERFORMED BY FRANK COX-O’CONNELL + KATIE EWALD + MAIRÉAD FILGATE + SHERRI HAY + AME HENDERSON + BRENDAN JENSEN + ALEXANDER MACSWEEN + BOJANA STANCIC + STEPHEN THOMPSON
SET DESIGN SHERRI HAY + BOJANA STANCIC
SOUND DESIGN ALEXANDER MACSWEEN
PHOTO LIAM MALONEY

COPRODUCTION FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES + DANCE4 (NOTTINGHAM) + HARBOURFRONT CENTRE (TORONTO)
IN ASSOCIATION WITH THE POWER PLANT (TORONTO)
CREATIVE RESIDENCIES DANCE4 + OBORO + GALLERY TPW (TORONTO)

WRITTEN BY FABIENNE CABADO
TRANSLATED BY NEIL KROETSCH

PREMIERED AT POWER PLANT, HARBOURFRONT CENTRE, TORONTO, MAY 22, 2013

 

AME HENDERSON (TORONTO)
PUBLIC RECORDINGS

Nonconformist Experimentation
A choreographer and performer who grew up on Vancouver Island, Ame Henderson studied at Concordia University in Montreal before moving to Toronto in 2003 where she founded Public Recordings. Using research and spontaneous improvisation as her basic artistic tools, she pursues an interest in intimacy and the limits of the body in a process of co-creation, working with artists from various cultures and disciplines. Seeking a balance between conventional form and openness, and between the known and the unknown, she creates choreographic structures where performers are able to allow inherent movements to freely take shape in response to clear intentions. Her works are atypical, often presented in non-traditional spaces. They are characterized by the performers’ naturalistic style and their intense commitment to both the movement and the moment.

Read more

You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.
© Liam Maloney

What we are saying

AME HENDERSON

Inspirés par les mouvements comme Occupy, la Torontoise Ame Henderson et ses collaborateurs défrichent de nouveaux territoires chorégraphiques et réinventent une façon d’être ensemble. Avant-gardiste et subversif.

Détails

Le rendez-vous est fixé dans un espace neutre, un lieu de tous les possibles. Pas de scène, pas de quatrième mur. Artistes et spectateurs forment une seule et même assemblée ; personne ne sait exactement ce qui va se produire. Les sens sont en alerte. Une première voix brise le silence, bientôt suivie de plusieurs autres. Dans la conversation chorale de what we are saying s’improvise une singulière danse des mots. Tout est dans la manière de dire. Car l’expérience improbable de parler comme on danse, tous en même temps, traduit l’espoir de trouver l’unisson d’un vrai discours commun. Le désir d’inventer une nouvelle façon d’être ensemble. Avec vous.

Applaudis au FTA en 2009 avec /Dance/Songs/, la Torontoise Ame Henderson et ses collaborateurs renouvellent la création chorégraphique et le rôle du spectateur dans cette œuvre qui s’inscrit dans le sillage de relay. Un écho aux mouvements sociaux comme Occupyqui fait le pari (fou ?) d’une unité sans chef.

Crédits

UN SPECTACLE DE PUBLIC RECORDINGS
CONCEPT AME HENDERSON
COCRÉATION ET INTERPRÉTATION FRANK COX-O’CONNELL + KATIE EWALD + MAIRÉAD FILGATE + SHERRI HAY + AME HENDERSON + BRENDAN JENSEN + ALEXANDER MACSWEEN + BOJANA STANCIC + STEPHEN THOMPSON
SCÉNOGRAPHIE SHERRI HAY + BOJANA STANCIC
SON ALEXANDER MACSWEEN
PHOTO LIAM MALONEY

COPRODUCTION FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES + DANCE4 (NOTTINGHAM) + HARBOURFRONT CENTRE (TORONTO)
EN COLLABORATION AVEC THE POWER PLANT (TORONTO)
RÉSIDENCES DE CRÉATIONDANCE4 + OBORO + GALLERY TPW (TORONTO)

RÉDACTION FABIENNE CABADO

CRÉATION AU POWER PLANT, HARBOURFRONT CENTRE, TORONTO, LE 22 MAI 2013

 

AME HENDERSON (TORONTO)
PUBLIC RECORDINGS

Expérimentations anticonformistes

Chorégraphe-performeuse originaire de Vancouver, Ame Henderson a étudié à l’Université Concordia avant de s’installer à Toronto en 2003 et d’y fonder Public Recordings. Faisant de la recherche fondamentale et de l’improvisation spontanée son mode de création, elle s’intéresse à l’intimité et aux limites du corps dans des processus de cocréation avec des artistes issus de diverses cultures et disciplines. Jouant sur l’équilibre entre la forme et l’ouverture, entre le connu et l’inconnu, elle crée des structures chorégraphiques au sein desquelles les performeurs laissent les mouvements surgir librement en réaction à des intentions claires. Ses œuvres sont atypiques, souvent présentées dans des lieux non traditionnels. Elles sont caractérisées par le grand naturel des performeurs et leur présence extrême au geste et à l’instant.

En savoir plus