WHAT’S NEXT ?

BRIGITTE POUPART, DAVE ST-PIERRE

Dave St-Pierre and Brigitte Poupart push back the boundaries of theatrical exploration as they create art that lives, that speaks out, that provokes. So much the better.

Details

Best of Friends
What’s next? is an extension of the unshakeable friendship between a director and a choreographer, one who loves words and one who loves movement. This hybrid piece is presented in a series of tableaux, some of which are chronological or narrative in nature and recount the highlights of their friendship. Others are phantasmagorical, lyrical or unusual, the result of free­wheeling improvisations by Brigitte Poupart and Dave St-Pierre, two friends and two artists who after pushing the boundaries of theatrical exploration – nudity, intimacy and outspokenness – wonder just how far they can go, asking in effect what’s next?

Anything is possible for these two artists who have been driven by a pressing feeling of urgency. Given that the Grim Reaper failed to separate the two, they are more than ever ready to create art that lives, that speaks out, that provokes. So much the better.

TRANSTHÉÂTRE / Theatre of Ideas
The mission of the Transthéâtre company is to present works imbued with informed social and political criticism. With productions that stand out for their finesse, humanity, inventiveness and humour, it explores the contradictions and misdoings of contemporary Western society. Founded in 1991 by the writers and directors Michel Monty and Brigitte Poupart, Transthéâtre is renowned for exceptional work, including Exodos La Trilogie, Gagarin Way and the three editions of Cabaret Insupportable.

Credits

PRODUCED BY TRANSTHÉÂTRE

CREATED AND PERFORMED BYBRIGITTE POUPART + DAVE ST-PIERRE

WRITTEN BY SOPHIE POULIOTTRANSLATED BY NEIL KROETSCH

 

BRIGITTE POUPART (MONTRÉAL)

Consummate Artist
While Brigitte Poupart is a performance virtuoso who has worked in theatre, television and cinema, she is also an outstanding playwright and director.

Read more

DAVE ST-PIERRE (MONTRÉAL)

A Gifted Rebel
Dave St-Pierre plays with taboos and stigmata with masterly skill, as evidenced by La Pornographie des âmes and Un peu de tendresse bordel de merde!, acclaimed the world over.

Read more

What’s Next?

BRIGITTE POUPART, DAVE ST-PIERRE

Dave St-Pierre et Brigitte Poupart repoussent encore une fois les frontières de l’exploration scénique et créent un art qui vit, qui parle et qui secoue. Tant mieux.

Détails

Elle, lui, la scène et la vie
What’s Next ?
est le prolongement de l’amitié indéfectible d’une femme et d’un homme, d’une metteure en scène et d’un chorégraphe, d’une amoureuse des mots et d’un maître du mouvement. Une œuvre hybride en tableaux, dont certains, chronologiques et narratifs, relatent les épisodes marquants de cette relation, tandis que d’autres, fantasmagoriques, lyriques ou insolites, résultent des improvisations non censurées de Brigitte Poupart et Dave St-Pierre. Deux artistes téméraires qui après avoir déjà repoussé les frontières de l’exploration scénique – qu’il s’agisse de nudité, d’intimité ou de franc-parler – se demandent jusqu’où ils pourront encore aller. What’s Next ?

Car, tout est possible pour des créateurs de cette envergure, animés d’un incommensurable sentiment d’urgence. Puisque la grande faucheuse a échoué à séparer les deux comparses, ceux-ci sont, plus que jamais, prêts à tout… oui, oui, tout !

TRANSTHÉÂTRE / Un théâtre d’idées
La vocation de la compagnie Transthéâtre est de proposer au public des œuvres empreintes d’une critique socio-politique éclairée. Or c’est grâce à des productions pleines de finesse, d’humanité, d’inventivité et parfois même d’une habile dose d’humour qu’elle aborde son sujet de prédilection, soit les contradictions et les dérapages de l’Occident contemporain. Fondé 1991 par les auteurs et metteurs en scène Michel Monty et Brigitte Poupart, Transthéâtre compte parmi ses réalisations des spectacles phares tels que Exodos La Trilogie, Gagarin Way ainsi que les trois éditions du Cabaret Insupportable.

Crédits

UN SPECTACLE DETRANSTHÉÂTRE

CRÉATION ET INTERPRÉTATIONBRIGITTE POUPART + DAVE ST-PIERRE

RÉDACTRICE SOPHIE POULIOT

 

BRIGITTE POUPART (MONTRÉAL)

Une artiste entière
Brigitte Poupart a autant œuvré au théâtre, à la télévision et au cinéma, elle est aussi une dramaturge et metteure en scène émérite.

En savoir plus

DAVE ST-PIERRE (MONTRÉAL)

Rebelle et doué
Dave St-Pierre se joue des tabous et des stigmates. La pornographie des âmes et Un peu de tendresse bordel de merde!, acclamés dans le monde entier, en sont, à eux seuls, des preuves irréfutables.

En savoir plus