You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

WINNERS AND LOSERS

JAMES LONG + MARCUS YOUSSEF

What makes us winners? How far is too far when confronting another person’s values? In this vicious, provocative game, no blow is too low. Anything goes.

Details

The game is of cruel simplicity, with winners on one side and losers on the other. Tom Cruise, microwave ovens, Alberta – winners or losers? Opinions spew forth, from the brilliant to the comical, but the friendly game quickly and imperceptibly slips into a profound existential enquiry. What makes us winners? How far is too far when confronting another person’s values?

Everything here is autobiographical, the danger is real. Vivacious, over the top and at times dishonest, James Long and Marcus Youssef appear to hail from a similar social background. But between the two long-time friends conflicts arise, heavy with tension. Around a table that resembles a boxing ring, an extreme combat of ideas and values gets underway. Indeed, some are higher up in the middle class than others, and certain privileges die hard. In this vicious, provocative game, no blow is too low. Anything goes.

Credits

PRODUCED BY NEWORLD THEATRE + THEATRE REPLACEMENT
WRITTEN AND PERFORMED BYJAMES LONG + MARCUS YOUSSEF
DIRECTED BY CHRIS ABRAHAM
LIGHTING DESIGN JONATHAN RYDER
PHOTO SIMON HAYTER

CO-PRODUCED IN ASSOCIATION WITH CROW’S THEATRE (TORONTO)

WRITTEN BY DIANE JEAN
TRANSLATED BY NEIL KROETSCH

PREMIERED AT GATEWAY THEATRE, RICHMOND, DECEMBER 1, 2012

 

JAMES LONG + MARCUS YOUSSEF (VANCOUVER)
NEWORLD THEATRE + THEATRE REPLACEMENT

Different yet Complementary

For more than 15 years, James Long and Maiko Bae Yamamoto have been co-artistic directors of Theatre Replacement in Vancouver. The company explores various artistic disciplines, developing concepts specific to particular places and the people who live in them. Replacement was previously at the FTA in 2009 with Bioboxes, interactive installations that gave voice to the immigrant experience, and Weetube, based on videos and posted commentary culled from YouTube. In 2010 it returned with The Greatest Cities in the World, a documentary performance based on the inhabitants of towns in Tennessee with prestigious names like Paris or Rome. Their following project is a show based on the artistic collaboration between Kate Bush and David Bowie in the late 1970s.

Read more

You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

Winners and Losers

JAMES LONG + MARCUS YOUSSEF

Qu’est-ce qui fait de nous des vainqueurs ? Jusqu’où peut-on aller trop loin dans la confrontation des valeurs de l’autre ? Dans ce jeu vicieux et provocateur, tous les coups sont joyeusement permis.

Détails

Le jeu est d’une cruelle simplicité: les gagnants d’un côté, les perdants de l’autre. Tom Cruise, le four à micro-ondes, l’Alberta : gagnants ou perdants ? Les opinions sur le monde fusent, brillantes, comiques. Mais rapidement, la joute amicale glisse imperceptiblement vers une profonde enquête existentielle. Qu’est-ce qui fait de nous des vainqueurs ? Jusqu’où peut-on aller trop loin dans la confrontation des valeurs de l’autre ?

Ici, tout est autobiographique, le danger est réel. Vifs, cabotins, parfois de mauvaise foi, James Long et Marcus Youssef semblent de conditions sociales comparables. Mais entre les deux amis de longue date surgissent des conflits, sourdent de profondes tensions. Autour d’une table aux allures de ring de boxe, un combat extrême des idées et des valeurs est engagé. Certaines classes sont plus moyennes que d’autres, certains privilèges ont la vie dure. Dans ce jeu vicieux et provocateur, tous les coups sont joyeusement permis.

Crédits

UN SPECTACLE DE NEWORLD THEATRE + THEATRE REPLACEMENT
TEXTE ET INTERPRÉTATIONJAMES LONG + MARCUS YOUSSEF
MISE EN SCÈNE CHRIS ABRAHAM
LUMIÈRES JONATHAN RYDER
PHOTO SIMON HAYTER

COPRODUCTION EN COLLABORATION AVEC CROW’S THEATRE (TORONTO)

RÉDACTION DIANE JEAN

CRÉATION AU GATEWAY THEATRE, RICHMOND, LE 1 DÉCEMBRE 2012

 

JAMES LONG + MARCUS YOUSSEF (VANCOUVER)
NEWORLD THEATRE + THEATRE REPLACEMENT

Différents, complémentaires

Depuis plus de 15 ans, James Long est codirecteur artistique, avec Maiko Bae Yamamoto, du Theatre Replacement de Vancouver. La compagnie explore différentes disciplines artistiques, développe des concepts autour des lieux et des gens qui les habitent. Déjà, Replacement était présent au Festival en 2009 avec Bioboxes, installations interactives donnant la parole à des immigrants, et Weetube, élaboré à partir de vidéos répertoriés sur YouTube. En 2010 également, était présenté The Greatest Cities In The World, spectacle-étude conçu autour des habitants de villes du Tennessee aux noms prestigieux comme Paris ou Rome. Le prochain projet des codirecteurs consiste à créer un spectacle autour de la collaboration entre Kate Bush et David Bowie à la fin des années 70.

En savoir plus