You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

Yellow Towel

DANA MICHEL

The performance artist Dana Michel plays with stereotypes of black culture in order to sink her teeth into embodying a strange creature in a disconcerting ritual. A figure of the Montreal underground scene well worth discovering.

Details

As a child, Dana Michel would drape a yellow towel on her head so she would resemble the blonde girls at her school. As an adult, she revisits the imaginary world of her other self in a ritual performance without cover-ups or censorship. With a blend of gravity and buffoonery she digs into the stereotypes of black culture, turning them upside down to see what is revealed. From these deep memories a strange creature slowly emerges, and it adjusts to its surroundings in a slow and disconcerting metamorphosis that the audience follows with fascination

Initially attracted by the aesthetics of fashion, video clips, queer culture and comedy, Dana Michel soon made her mark as an emerging dance artist. With Yellow Towel, which she has been developing in Vienna, Brussels, New York and Toronto, she explores new territories of creation and most decidedly asserts herself as an artist to watch. A figure of the Montreal underground scene well worth discovering.

Credits

PRODUCED BY BAND OF BLESS
CHOREOGRAPHY, PERFORMANCE, SET AND COSTUME DESIGN BYDANA MICHEL
ARTISTIC ADVISORS IVO DIMCHEV + PETER JAMES + ANTONIJA LIVINGSTONE + MANOLIS TSIPOS
PHOTO MAXYME G. DELISLE 

COPRODUCTION FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES + STUDIO 303
CREATIVE RESIDENCIESCOMPAGNIE MARIE CHOUINARD + MAI + LE CHIEN PERDU (BRUSSELS) + USINE C + CIRCUIT-EST CENTRE CHORÉGRAPHIQUE + STUDIO 303
WITH THE SUPPORT OF CIRQUE DU SOLEIL CULTURAL ACTION PROGRAM + MAI
PRESENTED IN ASSOCIATION WITH MONUMENT-NATIONAL

WRITTEN BY FABIENNE CABADO
TRANSLATED BY NEIL KROETSCH

PREMIERED AT FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES, MAY 24, 2013

 

DANA MICHEL (MONTRÉAL)
BAND OF BLESS

Marginal and to the Max

Originally from Ottawa, Dana Michel switched from marketing to dance at age 25 after attending several raves. A former competitive athlete (track and touch football), she obtained a Fine Arts degree in contemporary dance at Concordia University and later founded a dance company named Band of Bless, in honour of the physical and emotional injuries that inspire her work. In 2005 she made her début with her award-winning solo the greater the weight. The following year The Globe and Mail named her Best Emerging Choreographer, and for three years in a row she was in the Top 10 Choreographers listing of the Montreal weekly The Mirror. She has performed her work in Europe and in North America.

Read more

You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

Yellow Towel

DANA MICHEL

La performeuse Dana Michel se joue des stéréotypes de la culture noire pour incarner une créature étrange dans un rituel déroutant. Une figure du Montréal underground à découvrir.

Détails

Enfant, Dana Michel coiffait ses cheveux d’une serviette jaune pour ressembler aux blondinettes de son école. Adulte, elle revisite le monde imaginaire de son altérité dans un rituel performatif sans fard et sans censure. Entre gravité et bouffonnerie, elle creuse des stéréotypes de la culture noire et les détourne pour voir si elle s’y trouve. Patiemment, elle laisse surgir de ses mémoires profondes une créature étrange qu’on apprivoise en même temps qu’elle. Lente et déroutante métamorphose qu’on suit avec fascination.

D’abord marquée par l’esthétique de la mode et du vidéoclip, les cultures queer et la comédie, Dana Michel est vite sortie du lot de la relève en danse. Avec Yellow Towel, qu’elle a mûri à Vienne, Bruxelles, New York et Toronto, elle explore de nouveaux territoires de création et s’affirme résolument comme une artiste à suivre. Une figure du Montréal underground à découvrir.

Crédits

UN SPECTACLE DE BAND OF BLESS
CHORÉGRAPHIE, INTERPRÉTATION, SCÉNOGRAPHIE ET COSTUMESDANA MICHEL
CONSEILLERS ARTISTIQUES IVO DIMCHEV + PETER JAMES + ANTONIJA LIVINGSTONE + MANOLIS TSIPOS
PHOTO MAXYME G. DELISLE 

COPRODUCTION FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES + STUDIO 303
RÉSIDENCES DE CRÉATIONCOMPAGNIE MARIE CHOUINARD + THE MAI + LE CHIEN PERDU (BRUXELLES) + USINE C + CIRCUIT-EST CENTRE CHORÉGRAPHIQUE + STUDIO 303
AVEC LE SOUTIEN DUPROGRAMME D’ACTION CULTURELLE DU CIRQUE DU SOLEIL + MAI
PRÉSENTATION EN COLLABORATION AVECMONUMENT-NATIONAL

RÉDACTION FABIENNE CABADO

CRÉATION MONDIALE AU FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES, LE 24 MAI 2013

 

DANA MICHEL (MONTRÉAL)
BAND OF BLESS

Jusqu’au-boutiste et marginale

Originaire d’Ottawa, Dana Michel passe du marketing à la danse à 25 ans via la fréquentation des raves. Ex-sportive professionnelle, cette diplômée en création chorégraphique de l’Université Concordia baptisera sa compagnie Band of Bless, en référence aux blessures physiques et émotives qui inspirent son travail. En 2005, the greater the weight marque son entrée sur la scène professionnelle et lui rapporte un prix. L’année suivante, The Globe and Mail la sacre « Meilleure chorégraphe émergente ». Classée trois ans de suite dans le Top 10 du Mirror, elle a déjà présenté son travail dans six pays d’Europe et d’Amérique du Nord

En savoir plus