YUME NO SHIRO

DAISUKE MIURA

A minuscule apartment in Tokyo. A TV set, mattresses on the floor. Eight young people eat, make love, sleep. Welcome to the dizzying hyperrealism of Daisuke Miura.iura !

Details

As though at the zoo
Spectators observe eight young adults crammed into a tiny apartment in Tokyo. Mattresses on the floor, junk and clutter everywhere, the ridiculous colours of post-adolescent décor. They do not talk, abide each other’s presence with supreme indifference punctuated by the odd exchange of blows to resolve an issue – someone changing the TV channel, say – and engage in sexual intercourse that is as banal as it is impersonal. Attending to only basic, immediate needs (sexual release, eating, sleeping) they express no emotion. And yet a young girl sobs quietly at night, with no indication as to why.

Welcome to the hyperrealism of the “semi-documentary theatre” of Japanese director Daisuke Miura (a rising star on the international scene), featuring a lack of emphatic action, actors who do not aim to captivate the audience and a dizzying emptiness that masks lassitude and worthlessness.

POTUDO-RU / Be & Do, but Don’t Act
Artistic heirs of the shogekijo (small-scale theatre) movement of the 1980s, Potudo-ru provoked a shock wave in Japan in 2000 with Knight Club, where the actors fought for real, frequently appeared naked and engaged in sexual activity onstage. In 2001 Make Loveexacerbated that documentary approach with its reconstitution onstage of a love hotelfeaturing actors mixed in with real couples. These controlled happenings were followed by productions with a very precise physical component, pieces such as Ai no uzu (Love’s Whirlpool, 2005, a turning point in the evolution of the company), which portrayed a sex club with no-strings-attached hook-ups, and Yume no shiro (Castle of Dreams, 2006).

Credits

PRODUCED BY POTUDO-RU

PLAYWRIGHT AND DIRECTORDAISUKE MIURA WITH RUNA ENDO + YUSUKE FURUSAWA + KOTARO INOUE + YOSHIKO MIYAJIMA + MEGUMI NITTA + KENTO OGURA + RYOTARO YONEMURA + HIDEAKI WASHIOLIGHTING DESIGN TAKASHI ITOSOUND DESIGN YOSHIHIRO NAKAMURA SET DESIGN TOSHIE TANAKA MOVIE NORIMICHI TOMITA PROPS MICHIYO OHASHI

PREMIERED IN TOKYO, MARCH 2006

WRITTEN BY PAUL LEFEBVRETRANSLATED BY NEIL KROETSCH

 

DAISUKE MIURA (TOKYO)

Minimum Fiction, Maximum Reality
With his theatre of real interactions where intimacy and existential emptiness are intertwined, Daisuke Miura has established a reputation as a radical and significant figure on the contemporary arts scene.e.

Read more

Yume no shiro

DAISUKE MIURA

Un minuscule appartement de Tokyo. Matelas par terre, télé. Huit jeunes. Ils baisent, ils mangent, ils dorment. Bienvenue dans l’hyperréalisme vertigineux de Daisuke Miura !

Détails

Comme au zoo
On observe huit jeunes adultes empilés dans un minuscule appartement de Tokyo : encombrement général, des matelas par terre partout, décoration post-adolescente, couleurs impossibles. Ils ne se parlent pas, s’endurent les uns les autres avec une souveraine indifférence, à peine ponctuée de brefs échanges de coups pour régler un conflit – comme changer le poste de la télé – ou d’échanges sexuels aussi banalisés qu’impersonnels. Ils ne remplissent que leurs besoins primaires immédiats : jouir, manger, dormir. Pas d’émotions, aucune. Si, pourtant, une jeune fille sanglote discrètement dans la nuit, mais rien n’indique pourquoi…

Bienvenue dans l’hyperréalisme du « théâtre semi-documentaire » du metteur en scène japonais Daisuke Miura, qui explose actuellement sur la scène internationale, avec ses acteurs qui ne cherchent pas à captiver les spectateurs, avec son absence d’actions soulignées, avec ce vide vertigineux parce qu’il ne cache que du vide.

POTUDO-RU / Être, faire – éviter de jouer
Héritier du mouvement des shogekijo (petits théâtres) des années quatre-vingt, Potudo-ru provoque une onde de choc au Japon en 2000 par la création de Knight Club où les comédiens vivent leurs amours devant le public. Make Love, en 2001, exacerbe cette tendance documentaire avec sa reconstitution d’un love-hôtel mêlant sur scène des comédiens et de vrais couples. À ces spectacles qui tenaient du happening contrôlé succèdent des productions à la partition physique soigneusement précise, dont Ai no uzu(Tourbillons d’amour, 2005, point tournant dans l’évolution de la compagnie), portant sur des pratiques échangistes normalisées et encadrées, et Yume no shiro (Château de rêves, 2006).

Crédits

UN SPECTACLE DE POTUDO-RU

DRAMATURGIE ET MISE EN SCÈNE DAISUKE MIURA AVECRUNA ENDO + YUSUKE FURUSAWA + KOTARO INOUE + YOSHIKO MIYAJIMA + MEGUMI NITTA + KENTO OGURA + RYOTARO YONEMURA + HIDEAKI WASHIO LUMIÈRES TAKASHI ITOSON YOSHIHIRO NAKAMURASCÉNOGRAPHIE TOSHIE TANAKAFILM NORIMICHI TOMITAACCESSOIRES MICHIYO OHASHI

CRÉATION À TOKYO EN MARS 2006

RÉDACTEUR PAUL LEFEBVRE

 

DAISUKE MIURA (TOKYO)

Minimum fiction, maximum réel
Par son théâtre d’interactions réelles où s’interpénètrent vide existentiel et intimité, Daisuke Miura s’impose comme figure aussi radicale qu’incontournable de la scène contemporaine.

En savoir plus