You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.
© Sammy Rawal

Mercurial George

Dana Michel

A quirky plunge into the unconventional universe of an inimitable performer. Bizarre, but also comical. Dana Michel is a free electron, spinning under boundless skies.

Details

Instinctive Intuition

Dana Michel is inimitable. Unique. The choreographer doesn’t dance so much as dare, taking risks and inventing her own body language based on questionings of her roots. Her strange, quirky work, her audacity and her unbridled imagination have won over audiences here and abroad, and she is now a sought-after live artist. Make no mistake – this Montreal artist has captivated the world of contemporary stage performance.

In the wake of the acclaimed Yellow Towel, Mercurial George traces and transforms the banal, provoking a certain malaise. Wading through the heaps of debris that remain after a dig through marginality and cultural heritage, Dana Michel offers a destabilizing solo. The body vacillates as it struggles for balance and a toehold. Stretching out time with minimalist and deconstructed movement, Michel becomes the archeologist of her own persona. Bizarre, but also comical, her universe is bathed in childhood naiveté and sacred mystery. Intuitive, free and dissident, Dana Michel breaks the mould and shifts points of view.

Credits

Produced by Dana Michel
Created and performed by Dana Michel
Lighting design Karine Gauthier
Artistic activators Martin Bélanger + Peter James + Mathieu Léger + Roscoe Michel + Yoan Sorin
Sound consultant David Drury

Co-produced by Festival TransAmériques + Tanz im August (Berlin) + CDC Atelier de Paris-Carolyn Carlson + ImPulsTanz Vienna International Dance Festival + Chapter (Cardiff)
Creative residencies Usine C + Dancemakers – Centre for Creation (Toronto) + ImPulsTanz Vienna International Dance Festival + Actoral – La Friche Belle de Mai (Marseille) + CDC Atelier de Paris-Carolyn Carlson + Woop (Douarnenez)

Premiered at FTA, Montreal, June 2, 2016

 

© Camille McOuat

Dana Michel (Montreal)

 

Born and raised in Ottawa, Dana Michel now lives in Montreal. She has a background in competitive sport and completed a BFA in contemporary dance at Concordia University.

Read more

You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.
© Sammy Rawal

Mercurial George

Dana Michel

Voyage délirant dans l’univers décalé d’une performeuse inimitable. Bizarre, mais aussi franchement drôle. Dana Michel est un électron libre : son ciel est sans limites.

Détails

L’intuition dans la peau

Dana Michel est inimitable. Unique. La chorégraphe ne danse presque pas : elle ose, risque et invente son propre langage corporel à partir de questionnements sur ses racines caribéennes. Son œuvre étrange et décalée ainsi que son audace et son imagination sans limite ont su rallier la scène internationale qui la sollicite de plus en plus. Il n’y a aucun doute : l’artiste montréalaise magnétise le monde de la performance contemporaine.

Dans la foulée du très remarqué Yellow Towel, Mercurial George traque et transforme le banal, provoque le malaise. Avançant à travers les tas de débris qui restent après des fouilles dans la marginalité et les héritages culturels, Dana Michel présente un solo déstabilisant. Le corps vacille, cherche ses appuis. Étirant le temps dans une gestuelle minimaliste et déconstruite, elle devient archéologue d’elle-même. Bizarre, mais aussi franchement drôle, son univers baigne d’une naïveté de l’enfance et d’un mystère sacré. Intuitive, libre et dissidente, Dana Michel casse les moules et déplace les regards.

Crédits

Un spectacle de Dana Michel
Création et interprétation Dana Michel
Lumières Karine Gauthier
Élan artistique Martin Bélanger + Peter James + Mathieu Léger + Roscoe Michel + Yoan Sorin
Conseil sonore David Drury

Coproduction Festival TransAmériques + Tanz im August (Berlin) + CDC Atelier de Paris-Carolyn Carlson + ImPulsTanz Vienna International Dance Festival + Chapter (Cardiff)
Résidences de création Usine C + Dancemakers – Centre for Creation (Toronto) + ImPulsTanz Vienna International Dance Festival + Actoral – La Friche Belle de Mai (Marseille) + CDC Atelier de Paris-Carolyn Carlson + Woop (Douarnenez)

Création au FTA, Montréal, le 2 juin 2016

 

© Camille McOuat

Dana Michel (Montréal)

 

Originaire d’Ottawa, Dana Michel est aujourd’hui installée à Montréal. Ex-sportive professionnelle, elle est diplômée du programme de danse contemporaine du BFA de l’Université Concordia.

En savoir plus