A Week of Immersion in Contemporary Performing Arts

 

Menuentakuan Productions and Festival TransAmériques are working together to offer young Indigenous talent a week of contemporary performing arts-related workshops during the 2022 edition of the Festival, to be held in Montreal next spring.

By providing 15 First Nations youth from across the province with the chance to be part of the thrilling Festival experience, this project aims to stimulate their interest in the performing arts world and careers associated with it. In fact, their stay is designed so that they can meet professionals who are active in this field: performers, creators, technical directors, administrators, and more.

Eka Shakuelem means “don’t be shy” in the Innu language. The name was chosen by the first cohort of participants in the immersion week.

 

This immersion week is possible thanks to the support of


A Cultural Experience for Youth Aged 18 to 25

This opportunity is intended for youth aged 18 to 25 who are pursuing their studies, seeking employment, or thinking about their career path and already have a strong interest in art. The world of performing arts is vast and needs the talents of highly diverse people with a wide range of skills. Of course, not only those who are interested in taking the stage (music, theatre, dance, other performing arts) but also those who are interested in digital arts (programmers, visual artists, filmmakers, etc.), who draw and write, who do beadwork, who take part in cultural events such as powwows, who prefer to be spectators, or who want to go into management or administration can all find a place in this exciting and rewarding field.


2022 Edition—Practical Info

+ The visit will take place from May 25 to 31 (arrival in Montreal on May 24; departure on June 1).

+ All the activities will be conducted in French.

+ The visit is completely free.

 

Thanks to the support of the Caisse de dépôt et placements du Québec and LOJIQ, FTA is able to provide participants with show tickets, complementary activities, accommodation, support from mediators, an OPUS card for transportation in Montreal, compensation for travel costs to and from Montreal, a daily allowance, and compensation for travel costs for a companion from their community.

download the informational pdf (in french)

apply here (in french)


Activities

The visit schedule and programming will be developed based on FTA activities and participants’ preferences. The group will have priority access to the Festival’s shows, artists, talks, and discussions and may choose from among a wide range of artistic and cultural activities. The 2022 cohort will decide on the style and format of the immersion program.

sample activities

+ Attending five shows in the FTA program: dance, theatre, and other performing arts

+ Meeting national and international artists taking part in the FTA program

+ Visiting cultural sites in Montreal: museums, galleries, theatres, arts and artist centres, creative studios, etc.

+ Meeting key figures from the Montreal and Quebec Indigenous arts scene

+ Practical performing arts workshops

+ Discussions about aesthetics and contemporary issues

+ Talks on artistic and human issues

 


Menuentakuan Productions

By means of theatre and performing arts practices, Menuentakuan Productions offers itself as a meeting place between Canada’s First Nations culture and the other cultures that make up Canada and Quebec’s rich identity. Always with the goal of creating and supporting personal, meaningful interactions between these different cultural realities, the company approaches creation in a way that highlights Indigenous peoples’ views on contemporary themes of universal interest.  

 

Festival TransAmériques

The biggest performing arts festival in North America, Festival TransAmériques is a driving force for the promotion of contemporary theatre and dance. In its quest for bold and singular creative voices, FTA explores the limits of artistic disciplines. Through the national and international shows that it presents, FTA reflects major political and social movements along with unique and essential artistic developments.


Contact

Jeanne-Renée D. Lorrain (she/her)
Mediation and Audience Outreach Coordinator
514 842 0704 + 26
[email protected]

Une semaine d’immersion au cœur des arts vivants contemporains

 

Les Productions Menuentakuan et le Festival TransAmériques s’associent pour offrir à de jeunes talents autochtones une semaine d’ateliers autour des arts vivants contemporains lors de l’édition 2022 du Festival, qui se déroulera au printemps prochain à Montréal.

En offrant la chance à une quinzaine de jeunes des Premières Nations de toute la province de venir vivre l’intensité du Festival, ce projet vise à stimuler leur intérêt pour le milieu des arts vivants, et les carrières qui s’y rattachent. En effet, le séjour est conçu pour leur permettre de rencontrer les professionnel·le·s qui œuvrent dans des arts vivants : interprètes, concepteurs et conceptrices, directeur·rice·s techniques, administrateur·rice·s, etc.

Eka Shakuelem signifie « ne sois pas timide » en langue innue. Ce nom a été choisi par les participant·e·s au projet pilote du séjour.

 

Ce séjour d’immersion est rendu possible grâce au soutien de


Un parcours culturel pour les jeunes de 18 à 25 ans

Cette opportunité s’adresse aux jeunes de 18 à 25 ans, aux études, en recherche d’emploi ou en questionnement par rapport à leur choix de carrière et qui ont déjà un goût marqué pour l’art. Le monde des arts vivants est vaste et requiert les talents de toute une diversité de gens aux compétences variées. Bien sûr, celleux qui sont intéressé·e·s par les arts de la scène (musique, théâtre, danse, performance, etc.) mais aussi qui s’intéressent aux arts numériques (programmeur·euse·s, artistes visuels, cinéastes, etc.), celleux qui dessinent, qui écrivent,  qui font du perlage, qui participent aux manifestations culturelles telles que les pow-wow, qui préfèrent être spectateur·rice·s, ou qui pensent aller en gestion ou en administration peuvent tous et toutes trouver leur place dans ce milieu excitant et stimulant.


Édition 2022 – Infos pratiques

+ Le séjour se déroulera du 25 au 31 mai (arrivée à Montréal le 24 mai et départ le 1 juin)

+ L’ensemble des activités se déroulent en français

+ Le séjour est entièrement gratuit

 

Grâce au soutien de la Caisse de dépôt et placements du Québec et de LOJIQ, le FTA est en mesure d’offrir aux participant·e·s leurs billets de spectacles, les activités complémentaires, l’hébergement, un accompagnement par des médiateur·rice·s, une carte OPUS pour leurs déplacements à Montréal, une indemnisation pour le transport aller-retour vers Montréal, des per diem et une indemnisation de transport pour un accompagnateur de leur communauté.

téléchargez le pdf informatif 

envoyez votre candidature


Activités

L’horaire et le contenu du séjour seront construits autour des activités du FTA et des envies des participant·e·s. Le groupe aura un accès privilégié aux spectacles, artistes, conférences et discussions du Festival, et pourra choisir parmi une large gamme d’activités artistiques et culturelles. Ce programme prendra la couleur et la forme que la cohorte 2022 décidera de lui donner.

Quelques exemples d’activités

+ Assister à 5 spectacles de la programmation du FTA : danse, théâtre et performance

+ Rencontrer des artistes nationaux et internationaux de la programmation du FTA

+ Visiter des lieux culturels montréalais : musée, galerie, théâtre, centre d’art et d’artistes, studios de création, etc.

+ Rencontrer des personnalités importantes de la scène artistique autochtone montréalaise et québécoise

+ Ateliers pratiques en arts vivants

+ Discussions autour des esthétiques et des enjeux contemporains

+ Conférences sur des sujets artistiques et humains

 


Les productions Menuentakuan

Les productions Menuentakuan se proposent, en se servant des codes de représentations du théâtre et de la performance, d’être un point de rencontre entre la culture des Premières Nations du Canada et les autres cultures qui viennent enrichir l’identité canadienne et québécoise. Toujours dans le but de créer et d’encadrer une rencontre intime et signifiante entre ces deux réalités culturelles, la compagnie aborde ses créations de façon à mettre en valeur le regard des peuples autochtones sur des thèmes universels contemporains.

 

Le Festival TransAmériques

Plus important festival de création en Amérique du Nord, le Festival TransAmériques est le fer-de-lance de la danse et du théâtre contemporains. En quête des voix audacieuses et singulières de la création, le FTA sonde les disciplines jusqu’à leurs limites. À travers les spectacles nationaux et internationaux qu’il présente, le FTA témoigne des grands mouvements politiques et sociaux tout comme des élans artistiques uniques et essentiels de la création.


Renseignements

Jeanne-Renée D. Lorrain (Elle)
Coordonnatrice à la médiation et aux relations avec les publics
514 842 0704 + 26
[email protected]