You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

Au sein des plus raides vertus

CATHERINE GAUDET

Catherine Gaudet incites trouble with dance rooted in emotion. Exposing our psychic complexity, she holds up a mirror of our contradictions. Extremely effective.

Details

They stretch toward the light. They aspire to joy, to beatitude, and fight like lions to attain their heaven, tormented by an insidious fire burning within. Instincts and fears nourish the invincible force that possesses them, undermines them, propels them forward. Impossible to keep silent a body that betrays the slightest hesitation. Impossible to put up a good front in order to safeguard appearances. In Au sein des plus raides vertus, angels and devils do not get along, but are obliged to live together in constant tension. The challenge for these four men and women is to indulge in ecstasy amidst the fires of hell.

A daring choreographer of absolute integrity, Catherine Gaudet incites trouble with dance that is rooted in emotion. Extolling the theatricality of the body in order to expose our psychic complexity, in this piece she explores morality as a mirror of our contradictions. Extremely effective.

Credits

PRODUCED BY CATHERINE GAUDET + LORGANISME
CHOREOGRAPHED BY CATHERINE GAUDET CREATED IN ASSOCIATION WITH DANY DESJARDINS + FRANCIS DUCHARME + CAROLINE GRAVEL + ANNIK HAMEL + SOPHIE MICHAUD + GAÉTAN NADEAU
PERFORMED BY DANY DESJARDINS + FRANCIS DUCHARME + CAROLINE GRAVEL + ANNIK HAMEL
LIGHTING DESIGN ALEXANDRE PILON‐GUAY
MUSIC JACQUES POULIN‐DENIS
ASSISTANT DRAMATURG AND REHEARSAL MISTRESS SOPHIE MICHAUD

COPRODUCTION FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES + LE PHÉNIX – SCÈNE NATIONALE DE VALENCIENNES
CREATIVE RESIDENCIES CENTRE SEGAL + CIRCUIT-EST CENTRE CHORÉGRAPHIQUE + COMPAGNIE MARIE CHOUINARD + THÉÂTRE LA CHAPELLE + O VERTIGO

CODIFFUSION THÉÂTRE LA CHAPELLE

WRITTEN BY FABIENNE CABADO
TRANSLATED BY NEIL KROETSCH

WORLD PREMIÈRE AT FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES, MAY 27, 2014

 

CATHERINE GAUDET (Montréal)

Embodying the Psyche
A graduate of UQAM, Catherine Gaudet established from the outset a reputation as a choreographer with a strong, distinctive style. Slipping under the mask of social conventions, she tracks down the convulsive movements of the subconscious in the body, the micro movements that reveal emotions and sensations we try to hide. Obsessed by the quest for existential truth and well-being, she plunges into the meanderings of the psyche, finding beauty in flaws and contradictions. Her state of dance emerges from opposing forces that constrain and control her tormented characters. Her raw yet precise physicality is complemented by a theatricality that subtly combines absurd dramatic tensions with black humour.

Read more

You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

Au sein des plus raides vertus

CATHERINE GAUDET

Catherine Gaudet sème le trouble avec sa danse ancrée dans l’émotion. Exaltant la théâtralité des corps et notre complexité psychique, elle nous tend le miroir de nos contradictions. Redoutablement efficace.

Détails

Ils sont tendus vers la lumière. Ils aspirent à la joie, à la béatitude, et se battent comme des lions pour atteindre leur ciel. Car un feu insidieux les ronge du dedans. Instincts et peurs nourrissent l’indomptable force qui les possède, les parasite, les propulse. Impossible de faire taire ce corps qui trahit la moindre hésitation. Impossible de faire bonne figure pour préserver les apparences. Au sein des plus raides vertus, anges et démons ne font pas bon ménage, mais doivent cohabiter. Le défi pour ces quatre hommes et femmes : goûter l’extase dans les feux de l’enfer.

Chorégraphe audacieuse d’une absolue intégrité, Catherine Gaudet sème le trouble avec sa danse ancrée dans l’émotion. Exaltant la théâtralité des corps pour exposer notre complexité psychique, elle s’appuie cette fois sur la moralité pour nous tendre le miroir de nos contradictions. Redoutablement efficace.

Crédits

UN SPECTACLE DE CATHERINE GAUDET + LORGANISME
CHORÉGRAPHIE CATHERINE GAUDET EN COLLABORATION AVEC DANY DESJARDINS + FRANCIS DUCHARME + CAROLINE GRAVEL + ANNIK HAMEL + SOPHIE MICHAUD + GAÉTAN NADEAU
INTERPRÉTATION DANY DESJARDINS + FRANCIS DUCHARME + CAROLINE GRAVEL + ANNIK HAMEL
LUMIÈRES ALEXANDRE PILON‐GUAY
MUSIQUE JACQUES POULIN‐DENIS
SOUTIEN À LA DRAMATURGIE ET DIRECTION DES RÉPÉTITIONS SOPHIE MICHAUD

COPRODUCTION FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES + LE PHÉNIX – SCÈNE NATIONALE DE VALENCIENNES
RÉSIDENCES DE CRÉATION CENTRE SEGAL + CIRCUIT-EST CENTRE CHORÉGRAPHIQUE + COMPAGNIE MARIE CHOUINARD + THÉÂTRE LA CHAPELLE + O VERTIGO

CODIFFUSION THÉÂTRE LA CHAPELLE

RÉDACTION FABIENNE CABADO
TRADUCTION NEIL KROETSCH

CRÉATION MONDIALE AU FESTIVAL TRANSAMÉRIQUES, LE 27 MAI 2014

 

CATHERINE GAUDET (Montréal)

Incarner la psyché
Diplômée de l’UQAM, Catherine Gaudet s’affirme d’emblée comme une chorégraphe à la signature forte et singulière. S’immisçant sous le masque des conventions sociales, elle traque dans le corps les soubresauts de l’inconscient et les micromouvements qui trahissent les émotions et sensations que l’on cherche à cacher. Obsédée par la quête d’une vérité et d’un mieux-être existentiels, elle s’enfonce dans les méandres de la psyché, et cherche la beauté dans la faille et la contradiction. Sa danse d’état surgit de forces qui s’opposent, contraignent et contrôlent des personnages aux allures d’écorchés. Sa physicalité à la fois brute et précise se mêle d’une théâtralité combinant subtilement tensions dramatiques, sens de l’absurde et humour noir.

En savoir plus