You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

Derrière le rideau, il fait peut-être nuit

ANNE THÉRIAULT, MARTIN MESSIER

Sound and dance that hit with a sharp punch in this tale of a woman who is a prisoner of the night. A little gem of precision and inventiveness.

Details

Instilling Fear
Role reversal. The emphasis in this performance is not on movement but on sound. It grabs the spectators by the senses, plunging them into the adventure of a woman who is a prisoner of the night. The sound digs in from the ear to the brain, making the blood run cold. Blending the blackness of a space pierced by makeshift lighting, it meticulously cuts a swath through the contours of our imaginations, placed on alert by the strange set. Extreme concentration and suspense. Revealed in all its rustling and shifting, the movement appears through the magnifying glass of the sound, so close that it could be us, our bodies there in the darkness. Watch your step, for Derrière le rideau, il fait peut-être nuit.

Created by the composer-performer Martin Messier and the choreographer-dancer Anne Thériault, this short piece is a little gem of precision and inventiveness that abolishes the distance between audience and performers, highlighting the link between sound and movement in a moving piece.

Credits

CREATED BY 14 LIEUX

DRAMATURGY AND PERFORMANCE BY ANNE THÉRIAULT  COMPOSITION, SOUND DESIGN AND DRAMATURGY MARTIN MESSIER ARTISTIC ADVISOR SIMON-XAVIER LEFEBVRE

PRESENTED IN ASSOCIATION WITH SOCIÉTÉ DES ARTS TECHNOLOGIQUES [SAT]

PREMIÈRED AT FESTIVAL AKOUSMA, CONSERVATOIRE DE MUSIQUE DE MONTREAL, NOVEMBER 2009

WRITTEN BY FABIENNE CABADOTRANSLATED BY NEIL KROETSCH

 

ANNE THÉRIAULT (MONTRÉAL)
14 LIEUX

Anne Thériault, The Art of Collaboration
Anne Thériault has danced for several Quebec choreographers, including Dave St-Pierre, Marie Béland, Nicolas Cantin and Lynda Gaudreau. She was the latter’s assistant for the Out of Grace exhibit.

Read more

MARTIN MESSIER (MONTRÉAL)
14 LIEUX

Martin Messier, Looking at Sound
The composer, performer and drummer Martin Messier has long been interested in electro-acoustic music. Fascinated by the division of time and by the correlation of sound and image, he directs his talents in several directions.

Read more

You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

Derrière le rideau, il fait peut-être nuit

ANNE THÉRIAULT, MARTIN MESSIER

Une étude sonore et chorégraphique qui fait résonner dans nos tripes l’aventure poignante d’une femme prisonnière de la nuit. Un petit bijou de précision et d’inventivité.

Détails

La peur au ventre
Inversion des rôles. Ce n’est pas le mouvement qui est à l’avant-plan de cette performance, c’est le son. Il nous prend par les sens pour nous faire vivre l’aventure d’une femme prisonnière de la nuit. Il creuse son chemin de l’oreille au cerveau pour nous glacer le sang. Malaxant la noirceur d’un espace troué par des lumières de fortune, il sculpte minutieusement les contours d’un décor dans nos imaginaires mis en alerte par un étrange dispositif scénique. Concentration extrême. Suspense. Révélé dans ses moindres bruissements, littéralement placé sous la loupe du son, le geste semble si proche qu’il pourrait être nôtre. Là, juste là,Derrière le rideau, il fait peut-être nuit.

Conçue par le compositeur-performeur Martin Messier et la chorégraphe-interprète Anne Thériault, cette courte pièce est un petit bijou de précision et d’inventivité qui abolit la distance entre la salle et la scène, et exalte le lien entre son et mouvement. Poignant.

Crédits

UN SPECTACLE DE 14 LIEUX

INTERPRÉTATION ET DRAMATURGIE ANNE THÉRIAULTCOMPOSITION, TRAITEMENT SONORE ET DRAMATURGIEMARTIN MESSIER OEIL EXTÉRIEUR SIMON-XAVIER LEFEBVRE

PRÉSENTATION EN COLLABORATION AVEC SOCIÉTÉ DES ARTS TECHNOLOGIQUES [SAT]

CRÉATION AU FESTIVAL AKOUSMA, CONSERVATOIRE DE MUSIQUE DE MONTREAL, NOVEMBRE 2009

RÉDACTRICE FABIENNE CABADO

 

ANNE THÉRIAULT (MONTRÉAL)
14 LIEUX

Anne Thériault, l’art de la collaboration
Anne Thériault danse pour divers chorégraphes québécois, parmi lesquels Dave St-Pierre, Marie Béland, Nicolas Cantin et Lynda Gaudreau, dont elle a été l’assistante pour le projet d’exposition Out of Grace.

En savoir plus

MARTIN MESSIER (MONTRÉAL)
14 LIEUX

Martin Messier, un regard sonore
Compositeur, performeur et batteur, Martin Messier s’est vite intéressé à la musique électroacoustique. Fasciné par le découpage du temps et par la corrélation entre image et son, il déploie ses talents dans de multiples directions.

En savoir plus