You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

PARAÍSO – COLECÇÃO PRIVADA

MARLENE MONTEIRO FREITAS | BOMBA SUICIDA

The enfant terrible of contemporary choreography, Marlene Monteiro Freitas reinvents paradise as she presents the surrealist bestiary of a new mythology. A liberated, liberating piece. Irresistible.

Details

MARLENE IN WONDERLAND
She galvanized the Festival with her diabolical presence in (M)imosa in 2012, and here she is explosive as she portrays a Machiavellian goddess. A flamboyant maestro in a torero costume, she rules with an iron hand over a quartet of crazed male creatures, submissive and full of longing and desire – a bird-magician with blue hands, a bull-harmonica player whose eyes are in his neck, a king-clown with a black tongue and a gentleman jester with a deformed face. They make up the fabulous bestiary of a new mythology celebrated on the altar of unbridled imagination. Angels who have escaped from hell, now carried away by the music of reverberating organs, African rhythms and pop rock melodies.

A revelation on the current choreography scene, Marlene Monteiro Freitas is its enfant terrible, fascinating with her carnal vitality, her audacious metamorphoses, her baroque aesthetics and her surrealist imagery. In Paradise – a private collection she assails the myth of creation and opens the doors to a paradise where it is forbidden to forbid. A liberated, liberating work.

Credits

PRODUCED BY BOMBA SUICIDA
CHOREOGRAPHY AND COSTUME DESIGN MARLENE MONTEIRO FREITAS
PERFORMED BY YAIR BARELLI + LORENZO DE ANGELIS + LUÍS GUERRA + ANDREAS MERK + MARLENE MONTEIRO FREITAS
MUSIC MARLENE MONTEIRO FREITAS WITH THE SUPPORT OF TIAGO CERQUEIRA + NOSFELL
LIGHTING AND SOUND DESIGN YANNICK FOUASSIER

COPRODUCTION LES SPECTACLES VIVANTS – CENTRE POMPIDOU (PARIS) + L’ÉCHANGEUR – CDC PICARDIE CENTRE CHORÉGRAPHIQUE NATIONAL DE TOURS + CENTRE CHORÉGRAPHIQUE NATIONAL DE RILLIEUX-LA-PAPE + BALLET NATIONAL DE MARSEILLE – CENTRE CHORÉGRAPHIQUE NATIONAL + CDC UZÈS DANSE + BOMBA SUICIDA – ASSOCIAÇÃO DE PROMOÇÃO CULTURAL (LISBON) + FESTIVAL CIRCULAR (VILA DO CONDE) + MARIA MATOS TEATRO MUNICIPAL (LISBON)
WITH THE SUPPORT OF DÉPARTS – PROGRAMME CULTURE DE L’UNION EUROPÉENNE + FUNDAÇÃO CALOUSTE GULBENKIAN (LISBON) + ALKANTARA (LISBON) + ATELIER RE.AL (LISBON) + CENTRE NATIONAL DE DANSE CONTEMPORAINE (ANGERS)

PRESENTED IN ASSOCIATION WITH AGORA DE LA DANSE

WRITTEN BY FABIENNE CABADO
TRANSLATED BY NEIL KROETSCH

PREMIERED AT VILA DO CONDE, FESTIVAL CIRCULAR, SEPTEMBER 21, 2012

 

MARLENE MONTEIRO FREITAS | BOMBA SUICIDA (LISBONNE)

Born in Mindelo, the cultural capital of Cape Verde, Marlene Monteiro Freitas co-founded a dance company there before attending P.A.R.T.S., the renowned Brussels school of Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker. She pursued further studies in Lisbon, where she is currently based

Read more

You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.

Paraíso – colecção privada

MARLENE MONTEIRO FREITAS | BOMBA SUICIDA

Enfant terrible de la chorégraphie contemporaine, Marlene Monteiro Freitas réinvente le paradis et déballe le bestiaire surréaliste d’une mythologie nouvelle. Une œuvre libérée, libératrice. Irrésistible.

Détails

PARADIS – COLLECTION PRIVÉE
Elle a galvanisé le Festival de sa présence sulfureuse dans (M)imosa en 2012. Elle se déchaîne ici dans la peau d’une déesse machiavélique. Flamboyant maestro en habit de torero, elle mène à la baguette un quatuor de créatures hallucinées, soumises et désirantes. Magicien-oiseau aux mains bleues, taureau-harmoniciste avec des yeux dans le cou, roi-clown à la langue noire ou bouffon-gentilhomme au visage déformé, ils forment le fabuleux bestiaire d’une mythologie nouvelle, célébrée sur l’autel de l’imaginaire débridé. Anges échappés des enfers, exaltés par de tonitruantes orgues, des rythmes africains et des airs de pop-rock.

Révélation de la scène chorégraphique actuelle, Marlene Monteiro Freitas en est aussi une enfant terrible, fascinante par sa vitalité libidinale, ses audacieuses métamorphoses, son esthétique baroque et son imagerie surréaliste. Dans Paradis – collection privée, elle décape le mythe de la création et nous ouvre les portes d’un paradis où il est interdit d’interdire. Une œuvre libérée, libératrice.

Crédits

UN SPECTACLE DE BOMBA SUICIDA
CHORÉGRAPHIE ET COSTUMES MARLENE MONTEIRO FREITAS
INTERPRÉTATION YAIR BARELLI + LORENZO DE ANGELIS + LUÍS GUERRA + ANDREAS MERK + MARLENE MONTEIRO FREITAS
MUSIQUE MARLENE MONTEIRO FREITAS AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE TIAGO CERQUEIRA + NOSFELL
LUMIÈRES ET SON YANNICK FOUASSIER

COPRODUCTION LES SPECTACLES VIVANTS – CENTRE POMPIDOU (PARIS) + L’ÉCHANGEUR – CDC PICARDIE CENTRE CHORÉGRAPHIQUE NATIONAL DE TOURS + CENTRE CHORÉGRAPHIQUE NATIONAL DE RILLIEUX-LA-PAPE + BALLET NATIONAL DE MARSEILLE – CENTRE CHORÉGRAPHIQUE NATIONAL + CDC UZÈS DANSE + BOMBA SUICIDA – ASSOCIAÇÃO DE PROMOÇÃO CULTURAL (LISBONNE) + FESTIVAL CIRCULAR (VILA DO CONDE) + MARIA MATOS TEATRO MUNICIPAL (LISBONNE)
AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE DÉPARTS – PROGRAMME CULTURE DE L’UNION EUROPÉENNE + FUNDAÇÃO CALOUSTE GULBENKIAN (LISBONNE) + ALKANTARA (LISBONNE) + ATELIER RE.AL (LISBONNE) + CENTRE NATIONAL DE DANSE CONTEMPORAINE (ANGERS)

PRÉSENTATION EN COLLABORATION AVEC AGORA DE LA DANSE

RÉDACTION FABIENNE CABADO
TRADUCTION NEIL KROETSCH

CRÉATION AU VILA DO CONDE, FESTIVAL CIRCULAR, LE 21 SEPTEMBRE 2012

 

MARLENE MONTEIRO FREITAS | BOMBA SUICIDA (LISBONNE)

Ni dieu ni maître
Née à Mindelo, capitale culturelle du Cap-Vert, Marlene Monteiro Freitas y a cofondé une compagnie de danse avant d’intégrer P.A.R.T.S., la célèbre institution bruxelloise d’Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, et de parfaire sa formation à Lisbonne où elle est désormais basée. Dès ses premiers projets, elle s’affranchit des écoles et des conventions.

En savoir plus