Weathering by Faye Driscoll presented with audio description

The June 5 performance of Weathering by choreographer Faye Driscoll comes with an audio description option for those who are blind and visually impaired, presented in association with Danse-Cité and with the support of the Fondation des aveugles du Québec.

 


Practical Information

June 5, 2024, at 6:30 p.m.

Show duration: 1 h

Usine C

Audio describer: Enora Rivière

Reservations

Exclusive rate of $20 for blind and visually impaired spectators.
Free for their companions.
Limited places available. 

To reserve, contact Maud Mazo-Rothenbühler at Danse-Cité at 514 525 3595.

 

 

Event Schedule

6:30/6:45 p.m. — Welcoming of spectators

7:00 p.m. — Meeting with the audio describer and presentation workshop

8:00 p.m. — Performance of Weathering by Faye Driscoll

9:15 p.m. — Meeting with the artists and audio describer

10:00 p.m. — End of the event

Required Equipment

Participants need a smartphone and earphones.

Danse-Cité can provide a smartphone to spectators who do not have one.

Download the Sennheiser MobileConnect app before your arrival.

 

 

 


About Audio Description

Often used in film and theatre, audio description is a process that involves verbally describing a work’s visual and other sensory elements for blind and visually impaired spectators to allow the transmission of the work. It includes a workshop before the performance to familiarize audience with the voices of the audio describers as well as various stage elements (sets, costumes, etc.) and a post-show discussion in order to share the sensitive experiences of each other.

By accessing the creative process in the studio or by working from video recordings, the audio describer analyses the work and identifies a set of words that may be used to enhance the verbal description. Little by little, a text as precise as possible is written, the basis of the oralisation that will take place live.

In dance, the numerous improvisations and variations in timing make it difficult to consider anything other than live description. The previously written text therefore becomes a reference from which the audio-describer will have to adapt as the performance proceeds.

During the show, the audio describer is seated in a closed control booth or quiet space with a screen showing a live feed of the performance, along with a mixing deck, microphone, and headset.

Thanks to state-of-the-art technology and a wi-fi network set up specifically for the event, blind and visually impaired spectators equipped with a smartphone and earphones can fully experience the performance.

 


 

Information                                                                      

Maud Mazo-Rothenbühler (Danse-Cité)
514 525 3595
communication@danse-cite.org

Fabien Marcil (FTA)
514 842 0704 + 13
coordo.prog@fta.ca

Weathering de Faye Driscoll en audiodescription

La représentation du 5 juin 2024 de Weathering de la chorégraphe Faye Driscoll sera offerte en audiodescription pour les personnes non voyantes et semi-voyantes, en collaboration avec Danse-Cité et avec le soutien de la Fondation des aveugles du Québec.

 


Infos pratiques

5 juin 2024 à 18 h 30

Durée du spectacle 1 h

Usine C

Audiodescriptrice Enora Rivière

Réservation

Tarif unique de 20 $ pour les personnes non-voyantes et semi-voyantes
Gratuit pour leurs accompagnateur·rice·s
Places limitées

Pour réserver, contactez Maud Mazo-Rothenbühler à Danse-Cité au 514 525 3595.

 

 

 

Déroulement de la soirée

18 h 30 / 18 h 45 — Accueil des spectateurs et spectatrices 

19 h  — Rencontre avec l’audiodescriptrice et atelier de présentation

20 h — Spectacle Weathering de Faye Driscoll

21 h 15 — Rencontre avec les artistes et l’audiodescriptrice

22 h — Fin de l’événement

Matériel requis

Les participant·e·s ont besoin d’un téléphone intelligent et d’une paire d’écouteurs.

Danse-Cité peut fournir des téléphones intelligents aux personnes qui n’en ont pas.

Téléchargez l’application Sennheiser MobileConnect avant votre venue.

 

 


À propos de l’audiodescription

Fréquent en cinéma et en théâtre, le procédé de l’audiodescription consiste à décrire oralement les éléments visuels et sensoriels d’une œuvre à l’attention d’un public non-voyant et semi-voyant pour en permettre la transmission. Il est accompagné d’un atelier en amont de la représentation qui permet de se familiariser aux voix des audiodescripteur·rice·s et aux différents éléments scéniques (décors, costumes, etc.), et d’une rencontre post-spectacle afin de partager les retours d’expériences sensibles des un·e·s et des autres.

En accédant au processus de création en studio ou en travaillant à partir de captations vidéo, l’audiodescripteur·rice analyse l’œuvre et identifie le champ lexical approprié. Petit à petit, un texte le plus précis possible est rédigé, base de l’oralisation qui aura lieu en direct.

En danse, de nombreux moments improvisés ou des altérations de durée permettent difficilement d’entrevoir une description autre qu’en direct. Le texte pré-écrit devient alors une référence à partir de laquelle l’audiodescripteur·rice devra s’adapter au fur et à mesure de la représentation.

Lors du spectacle, l’audiodescripteur·rice est placé·e en régie fermée ou dans un espace calme, équipé d’un écran qui diffuse le spectacle en direct, ainsi qu’une table de mixage, un micro et un casque audio.

Grâce à un dispositif technologique de pointe et par l’émission d’un réseau wifi spécifique à l’événement, les spectateur·rice·s non voyant·e·s et semi-voyant·e·s sont munis d’un téléphone intelligent et d’écouteurs et peuvent ainsi apprécier pleinement l’œuvre présentée.

 


 

Renseignements                                            

Maud Mazo-Rothenbühler (Danse-Cité)
514 525 3595
communication@danse-cite.org

Fabien Marcil (FTA)
514 842 0704 + 13
coordo.prog@fta.ca