You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.
Les particules élémentaires © Simon Gosselin

LES PARTICULES ÉLÉMENTAIRES

JULIEN GOSSELIN | SI VOUS POUVIEZ LÉCHER MON CŒUR, MICHEL HOUELLEBECQ

A huge theatrical shock. A young director seizes Houellebecq’s dazzling touchstone novel and presents a brilliant theatre fresco on the intimate confusions and disarray of our era.

Details

PARTICLES SEEKING PARTNERS
Last summer a sensational thunderbolt jolted French theatre. The 26-year-old director Julien Gosselin had the temerity to bring to the stage Michel Houellebecq’s seminal novel. The result? An astounding performance. In a striking presentation delivered with imposing panache, ten flamboyant actors portray the emotional, sexual and existential bleakness of Western civilization. In physics, every elementary particle is paired with an identical anti-particle. The two particles in the novel are Bruno, a dissolute professor of literature, and his half-brother Michel, a scientist who, in response to our world and to Bruno’s vain quest for pleasure, directs his genetic research toward the elimination of sexual reproduction.

This brilliant theatrical panorama journeys from May 1968 to the near future. The actors are narrators, characters, commentators and musicians, creating and abolishing theatrical conventions with amazing fluidity. They catch the spectator in the very heart of the present, shifting from lyricism to irony, from the social to the philosophical, from the private to the universal. A revelation!

Credits

PRODUCED BY SI VOUS POUVIEZ LÉCHER MON CŒUR
WRITTEN BY MICHEL HOUELLEBECQ
PUBLISHER FLAMMARION
ADAPTATION, DIRECTION AND SET DESIGNED BY JULIEN GOSSELIN
PERFORMED BY GUILLAUME BACHELÉ + JOSEPH DROUET + DENIS EYRIEY + ANTOINE FERRON + NOÉMIE GANTIER + ALEXANDRE LECROC + MARINE DE MISSOLZ + CAROLINE MOUNIER + VICTORIA QUESNEL + TIPHAINE RAFFIER
MUSIC GUILLAUME BACHELÉ
LIGHTING DESIGN NICOLAS JOUBERT
VIDEO PIERRE MARTIN
SOUND JULIEN FERYN
COSTUME DESIGN CAROLINE TAVERNIER

COPRODUCTION THÉÂTRE DU NORD – THÉÂTRE NATIONAL LILLE TOURCOING RÉGION NORD-PAS-DE-CALAIS + FESTIVAL D’AVIGNON + LE PHÉNIX – SCÈNE NATIONALE DE VALENCIENNES + LA ROSE DES VENTS – SCÈNE NATIONALE LILLE MÉTROPOLE VILLENEUVE D’ASCQ + THÉÂTRE DE VANVES + LE MAIL – SCÈNE CULTURELLE DE SOISSONS WITH THE SUPPORT OF MINISTÈRE DE LA CULTURE ET DE LA COMMUNICATION – DRAC NORD-PAS-DE-CALAIS + RÉGION NORD-PAS-DE-CALAIS + SACD BEAUMARCHAIS + CONSEIL GÉNÉRAL DU PAS-DE-CALAIS ET DE LA VILLE DE LILLE

PRESENTED WITH THE SUPPORT OF INSTITUT FRANÇAIS + CONSULAT GÉNÉRAL DE FRANCE À QUÉBEC + CONVENTION INSTITUT FRANÇAIS – RÉGION NORD-PAS DE CALAIS + CONVENTION INSTITUT FRANÇAIS – VILLE DE LILLE THROUGH THE PROGRAM OPÉRATION FRIMAS 2014

WRITTEN BY PAUL LEFEBVRE
TRANSLATED BY NEIL KROETSCH

WORLD PREMIÈRE AT FESTIVAL D’AVIGNON, JULY 8, 2013

 

JULIEN GOSSELIN | SI VOUS POUVIEZ LÉCHER MON CŒUR (PARIS-LILLE)

For contemporary art. Absolutely contemporary.
“If you could lick my heart, it would poison you.” In 2009 after graduating from the École professionnelle supérieure d’art dramatique in Lille, Julien Gosselin was inspired by that statement made by a death camp survivor to Claude Lanzmann in Shoah, using the phrase as the name for the theatre collective he founded with five of his fellow students.

Read more

MICHEL HOUELLEBECQ (PARIS)

A major figure of contemporary French literature, the poet, novelist, filmmaker and polemicist Michel Houellebecq first attracted attention with the publication in 1994 of his first novel Extension du domaine de la lutte (published in English as Whatever). It describes with incredible lucidity, in a style of diabolical simplicity, the human consequences of economic liberalism. Four years later came Les particules élémentaires, where he delved further into the same themes, in the process acquiring an international reputation. His most recent novel La carte et le territoire received the 2010 Goncourt Award.

You need Flash player 8+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.
Les particules élémentaires © Simon Gosselin

Les particules élémentaires

JULIEN GOSSELIN | SI VOUS POUVIEZ LÉCHER MON CŒUR, MICHEL HOUELLEBECQ

Un choc théâtral d’envergure : un tout jeune metteur en scène s’empare de l’éblouissant roman phare de Houellebecq et déploie une fresque théâtrale jouissive sur les désarrois intimes de notre temps.

Détails

PARTICULES CHERCHENT PARTENAIRES
L’été dernier, un coup de foudre retentissant a ébranlé le théâtre français. Un tout jeune metteur en scène de 26 ans, Julien Gosselin, a eu le culot de porter à la scène le roman phare de Michel Houellebecq. Résultat : un spectacle renversant. Par la grâce d’une parole souveraine d’un prodigieux ascendant, 10 acteurs flamboyants racontent la misère affective, sexuelle et existentielle de la civilisation occidentale. En physique, chaque particule élémentaire se double d’une antiparticule identique. À Bruno, professeur de littérature aux mœurs débridées, correspond son demi-frère Michel, un scientifique qui, en réponse à la vaine quête de plaisir de Bruno et de notre monde, oriente ses recherches en génétique vers la création d’une posthumanité.

Dans cette fresque théâtrale jouissive, qui nous porte de mai 1968 à un futur rapproché, les comédiens se font narrateurs, personnages, commentateurs et musiciens, créant des conventions théâtrales ou les abolissant avec une étonnante fluidité. Ils happent le spectateur au cœur du temps présent, passant du lyrisme à l’ironie, du social au philosophique, de l’intime à l’universel. Une révélation !

Crédits

UN SPECTACLE DE SI VOUS POUVIEZ LÉCHER MON CŒUR
TEXTE MICHEL HOUELLEBECQ PUBLIÉ AUX ÉDITIONS FLAMMARION
ADAPTATION, MISE EN SCÈNE ET SCÉNOGRAPHIE JULIEN GOSSELIN
INTERPRÉTATION GUILLAUME BACHELÉ + JOSEPH DROUET + DENIS EYRIEY + ANTOINE FERRON + NOÉMIE GANTIER + ALEXANDRE LECROC + MARINE DE MISSOLZ + CAROLINE MOUNIER + VICTORIA QUESNEL + TIPHAINE RAFFIER
MUSIQUE GUILLAUME BACHELÉ
LUMIÈRES NICOLAS JOUBERT
VIDÉO PIERRE MARTIN
SON JULIEN FERYN
COSTUMES CAROLINE TAVERNIER

COPRODUCTION THÉÂTRE DU NORD – THÉÂTRE NATIONAL LILLE TOURCOING RÉGION NORD-PAS-DE-CALAIS + FESTIVAL D’AVIGNON + LE PHÉNIX – SCÈNE NATIONALE DE VALENCIENNES + LA ROSE DES VENTS – SCÈNE NATIONALE LILLE MÉTROPOLE VILLENEUVE D’ASCQ + THÉÂTRE DE VANVES + LE MAIL – SCÈNE CULTURELLE DE SOISSONS AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE MINISTÈRE DE LA CULTURE ET DE LA COMMUNICATION – DRAC NORD-PAS-DE-CALAIS + RÉGION NORD-PAS-DE-CALAIS + SACD BEAUMARCHAIS + CONSEIL GÉNÉRAL DU PAS-DE-CALAIS ET DE LA VILLE DE LILLE

PRÉSENTATION AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE INSTITUT FRANÇAIS + CONSULAT GÉNÉRAL DE FRANCE À QUÉBEC + CONVENTION INSTITUT FRANÇAIS – RÉGION NORD-PAS DE CALAIS + CONVENTION INSTITUT FRANÇAIS – VILLE DE LILLE DANS LE CADRE DE L’OPÉRATION FRIMAS 2014

RÉDACTION PAUL LEFEBVRE
TRADUCTION NEIL KROETSCH

CRÉATION AU FESTIVAL D’AVIGNON, LE 8 JUILLET 2013

 

JULIEN GOSSELIN | SI VOUS POUVIEZ LÉCHER MON CŒUR (PARIS-LILLE)

Pour un art contemporain. Absolument contemporain.
« Si vous pouviez lécher mon cœur, il vous empoisonnerait. » En 2009, à sa sortie de l’École professionnelle supérieure d’art dramatique de Lille, Julien Gosselin s’inspire de cette affirmation qu’un survivant des camps de la mort adresse à Claude Lanzmann dans Shoah pour nommer le collectif de théâtre qu’il vient de fonder avec cinq de ses camarades de classe.

En savoir plus

MICHEL HOUELLEBECQ (PARIS)

Figure majeure de la littérature contemporaine, le poète, romancier, cinéaste et polémiste français Michel Houellebecq a d’abord attiré l’attention avec la parution en 1994 de son premier roman, Extension du domaine de la lutte, où, dans un style d’une diabolique simplicité, il décrit avec une lucidité sidérante stupéfiante les conséquences humaines du libéralisme économique. Quatre ans plus tard, Les particules élémentaires, où il approfondit les mêmes thèmes, lui acquiert une renommée internationale. Son plus récent roman, La carte et le territoire, lui a valu le prix Goncourt en 2010.